rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















A fresh start, diary-wise
November 21, 2020, 3:48 P.M.

Friday...I had a bustling morning of work, followed by a quick trip to the bank and a much-needed haircut and eyebrow waxing. Naty did her usual great job and I felt like a new woman afterwards. I came home and relaxed with some Antiques Roadshow on Pluto, then took care of the B's dinner and other needs. Scott came home and we took it easy for a while, wrote some shopping lists, and read the mail. We ordered Chinese food from Chen's Bistro,  and he went to pick it up, 
Then we all three enjoyed the heck out of it. Chen's is a favorite  around here.

After dinner, I washed up the dishes, gave Bailey's feeding station its weekly scrubbing and disinfecting,  and Scott ran the vacuum. I cleaned the pre-filters on the air cleaner and threw a load of rugs in the wash, then tackled the bathroom and gave it a good cleaning.

Then I staged a load of clothes and put it on delay for morning. After that we both read awhile and hit the sack early.

Saturday...A lovely,  sunny and mild November day in SE Wisconsin,  and we were up early, and
On.
It.
We accomplished so much today! Up at 4:45, tackling laundry and other household chores between the two of us. Coffee and some hot cinnamon rolls,  then got cleaned up and hit the Festival by 6:30. Shopped the HELL out of their ad, and ended up spending $50, and saving NINETY SIX-SIXTY EIGHT. Including a good donation to the Shalom Center, which is so easy at Festy because they have a drop off right in the store.

Home before 7:30, got it all put away, and I jumped back in on laundry, while Scott went poo-picking. Then we caught our breath. Kicked back till 9:00 and headed for Costco. Picked up prescriptions and a few household items,  got gas, and then popped into Petco for dog food and B's favorite supplement-slash-treat (Zuke's Hip Action), then Meijer for some specific items we only buy there,  and for the official Thanksgiving Shalom Center donation--Meijer has special gift cards for donating money to the Center,  so we grabbed some of those. For so many years,  we did the actual shopping for donations, but we aren't as young as we used to be, and in these weird times, this is a much better way to donate. But it would not be Thanksgiving without contributing. Thankfulness is best expressed by paying it forward.

Anyway...we were home again before 10:30. Put everything away, finished with the laundry,  and tackled cleaning out/organizing some cupboards (Scott) and the downstairs freezer (me).

After a quick bite, Scott rolled up the accumulation of loose change, and I baked six dozen chocolate chip cookies. Got to start getting serious about the Christmas baking. (Fruitcakes kicked it off last weekend.)

A good day's work!

Now we are having a rest, and...well, I'm writing this diary entry, which is another accomplishment!

Tonight's dinner is easy...Scott's having sandwiches and chips,  I am having reheated leftover Chinese food (triple delight and fried rice).

And I'll probably write a few Christmas cards this evening,  just to get that process rolling. I am doing my favorite card exchange again this year, so that makes me feel pretty happy. We are in the twentieth year of it, and I have participated most years, so it is definitely one of my cherished holiday traditions.

Tomorrow will be Sunday's usual "breakfast and Bake-Off", followed by more cookie baking (I plan on doing a double batch of peanut butter cookies), hair-dying, and Scott's planning a simple Sunday dinner of baked ham (part of freezer cleanup is eating the last of LAST year's Festival Thanksgiving ham deal!), mashed potatoes and peas with crescent rolls. 

That's it for the weekend!  I'm going to attempt to get back in the habit of posting here, and I hope it takes. I know it's good for my mental health,  so I'm going to try to stick at it.



Reading: "Have His Carcase", By Dorothy L. Sayers. For the umpteenth time, but what can I say? I love me some Harriet and Lord Peter.

Inked Up: The Conklin Duragraph (Amber) fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, (yes, it is always inked!)
Visconti Mirage (Emerald) fine, with some anonymous black cartridge I found in my drawer, because it hardly ever use black, and I thought I was due.
Parker IM Premium metallic brown, graphic lines pattern, medium nib, with R&K Solferino, and a couple of antiques--the early 1950s
Sheaffer Cadet Touchdown (burgundy, m/f nib) that Scott bought me for Birthday 2020, and the
"American" brand ladies' pen in Rose Marble (fine nib) that I picked up at last year's Colorado Pen Show...both with Mont Blanc Burgundy, because it suits them each so well.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com