rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















snow day
December 14, 2005, 6:44 A.M.

I have work stacked up on my desk, deadlines staring me in the face, and an implementation on Saturday. What to do?

Take a snow day, of course. The advisory is calling for 3 to 5 inches, it's already coming down, and I simply am not up to facing the battle of a commute in this shit.

It wasn't snowing when I got up at 4:45, and so I followed my morning routine and got ready for work, then walked the dog. Still not snowing. But when Raji and I got about a half-block from the house, Boom! The wind started to howl and the snow kicked on with a vengeance. We went from still and clear to full-on winter storm in an instant. So I'm calling in. I can't see risking life and limb on the highway for that place.



My company called big meetings for all employees today and tomorrow, though--with very little notice, and all we know is that it is about changes to the pay practices. I will be sorry to miss finding out what the big, super-secret meeting is all about, but it'll just have to wait till tomorrow. I'm pretty sure it isn't about how they are upgrading and improving compensation and benefits, though.


I hope spouse isn't delayed by this morning's snow--he has another interview this morning at 8:30. So far, they've liked his application, his resum�, his test results, and his phone interview--I've got my fingers crossed for him this morning, and am hoping they make an offer. It would be nice to have him working in town again, and back on a stable schedule.

I think the company he's working for now had good intentions, but no idea of how to carry them out. And it's beginning to cause some real problems--from all indications, they are seriously starting to founder. Spouse needs to get the heck out. Nearly everything that his current position promised in February, it has failed to deliver. Spouse's schedule is complete chaos, and while the compensation has been good, the pressure and stress is disproportionate to the type of work. He really doesn't need that shit.

So, as I say--my fingers are crossed. OS is an established, steady company in the community; the kind you never hear about because they aren't constantly having problems. Their schedule is plotted nearly a year out, and while a new job means ANOTHER year where he has no vacation coming, this type of schedule (4 on, 3 off) would enable us to get away for short breaks occasionally in 2006.



Well, I gave myself a day off--so now what. Post a diary entry, drink my coffee, have some toast...since my Babe will need to be hitting the hay after his interview, I'll have to be quiet all day. Maybe I'll vacuum now, while I have the chance. Then I can finally get around to putting up my Christmas decorations in the dining room. And maybe I'll wash bedding and rugs while I have the chance. I was only able to get the big bed done Sunday, but now I can do mine.

Anyway, I'll keep busy. I'm planning baked chicken breast, homemade stuffing, and mixed vegetables for dinner, and maybe I'll manage to curl up for a nap or a good read. I'm loving Son of a Witch, and would love to get into it more deeply. I actually read while I was on the treadmill yesterday--that's how much I'm into it!




Reading: "Son of a Witch : A Novel", by Gregory Maguire.

Listening: OCR of �Rent".

Beading: Not currently beading

One Year Ago, I didn't post.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com