rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hey, number 500!
November 26, 2005, 4:50 P.M.

So much for not being able to stick to anything. 500 posts since 04-22-2004.



Thanksgiving was lovely and quiet at our house. Dinner came out perfectly, including the homemade gravy I was able to concoct. Spouse's stuffing was superb, and since we are very traditional on this meal, the menu was as follows:
Roast Turkey
Mashed Potatoes
Sausage and Apple Stuffing
Turkey Gravy
Baked Sweet Potatoes
LeSueur Peas
Dinner Rolls
Pumpkin and Chocolate Cream Pies

The non-traditional, but extremely fun, part of the day came from me getting pleasantly squiffy on 2 Screwdrivers and 5 Cosmopolitans. I decided to forego wine with dinner, though, as I felt I'd had sufficient alcohol for one day.



Yesterday, I would have been more than happy to chill at home and avoid the public idiocy that is the Friday after Thanksgiving, but Spouse wanted to go shopping, and he lured me out with his secret weapon: A trip to the bead store.

Well, of course I caved! I had a list as long as my arm of stuff I needed to get the next time I hit the Milwaukee-area bead stores, so I jumped at the chance, and was willing to suffer the mobs at Mayfair and Wally's in order to, get my bead stuff!

After a stop at P&E's to say hi and discuss Christmas plans (more on that later), we drove over to Midwest Bead. I spent about $86.00. Would have been more, but they moved recently, and are still a little light on stock. Got about 3/4 of the stuff on my list, though, which was cool.



Only to have Spouse cower under the prospect of the crowds, and chicken out on Mayfair. We did, however, brave the Wal-Mart. And since it was mid-afternoon when we got there, it was actually very sane. We picked up a bunch of stuff we needed for around the house, picked out some toys for the Hansen's "fill a hot tub" toy drive, I got Spouse some new sweatpants, and we stumbled on kid's bikes for $25.88! So, naturally, Spouse got two, for Robin's Toy Drive for Cancer Freedom. This is our second year for Robin's Toy Drive, and I'm proud to say we've managed to do bikes both years.

Standing in the parking lot, buffeted by the whirling snow, and trying to fit them both into the Grand Prix was less than fun, though.



Yes, Christmas. I volunteered. Not that I want to, or am looking forward to it in any way, but I have been getting a vibe from P&E lately that they are kind of burned out on hosting all the holiday gatherings. I don't blame them--I certainly would.

It just seemed that they needed us to have it this year, and needed me to make the offer. They are dear to me, and if they need it, I feel like I should provide it. I'll let Spouse run the food and drink end of things, and I will concentrate on the cleaning and decorating part. We'll make it happen.



Today has been kind of blah. The weather improved drastically, with sunshine and warmer temps, but now the snow is melting into mud puddles and slick, slushy patches.

I'm feeling kind of beat, actually. I had a bad attack of aspirated reflux about two a.m., and that fucked up a good part of my night. I ended up staying in bed till 7:30, and blowing off the dog walk. I got up slow, and Spouse and I finally ventured out around 11:00.

We went to Racine to look for DVDs and books. Didn't find anything in the way of DVDs that I wanted to spend my hard-earned on, but I bought a stand-alone, pocket hardcover copy of Pride and Prejudice, and Grgory Maguire's "Son of a Witch", the sequel to "Wicked".

Nephew has expressed an interest in P&P, but didn't want to borrow my big Complete Jane Austen, and since I frequently read that book, I thought I'd like a pocket edition anyway. At $4.95 for a hardcover, I thought it was worth having. And I've been wanting and waiting for "Son of a Witch" ever since I read "Wicked".

When we were in Circuit City, I told Spouse that I thought I must be a really bad American, because all those thousands of things didn't mean jack shit to me. I'm just not into acquiring anymore. Game systems, laptop computers, stereos, MP3 players, mobile phones, plasma TVs--it's all a tremendous bore. I tried to act interested, but I really wasn't very convincing. Spouse didn't say anything, but he was in and out quick at both BB and CC, so I think he got the point.

And I wasn't really even much better at the bookstore. Even though I found things I wanted. I would have liked the latest John Irving and the new P.D. James, as well...but Christmas is soon, and books are expensive.



I have to write my own evaluation for work. This is the kind of thing you have to do when they take away your boss and don't give you a new one. It was due Wednesday, but the workload I've got took priority. I do positively have to have it done Monday,though, so I will need to get it done at home. I'm currently avoiding it by working on this entry, but I can't put it off much longer. If I do, it will just manage to ruin my enjoyment of the weekend, so I might as well get it done and behind me.


Uh, Yeah. Right after I finish this, and go to the john, and take the dog out, and pour myself some coffee, and check on the wonderful stock I have simmering on the stove.

Concocted of leftover drumsticks, celery, carrot, onion, and some assorted herbs, and destined to form the basis of my gravy for the turkey pot pies I'm making for dinner. Mmmmmm. Smells heavenly! The monster turkey Spouse roasted seems to be the gift that keeps on giving.




Reading: �I Will Bear Witness : A Diary of the Nazi Years, 1933-1941�, by Victor Klemperer.

Listening: My conscience, which is telling me to write that eval, already!

Beading:A 24-inch necklace using copper-lined seed beads, peach-colored Swarovski pearls and bi-cones, and peach-toned oval firepolish with an AB finish.

One Year Ago, I didn't post.

At Random: click here



|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com