rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I'm a random bitch
September 12, 2005, 7:21 P.M.

Random Bitchiness--

As a centrist who is repulsed by both Moore and Bush, I entertain myself with fond thoughts of their eternity in a hell of my own devising, where they are forced to be together 100% of the time. Just the two of them. Each lying to the other, and neither one listening.

Well, it makes me feel better.



When I waded into the Saturday cleaning, I ended up with almost nothing I�d listed in here. I went into the kitchen, and saw the dirty floor that had not been scrubbed all summer, but just sat there getting dirtier and dirtier while my hands took their time healing.

I sorted the laundry, and realized I�d have 4-5 loads.

And I re-thought my list. Major laundry and floor-scrubbing were in, my room and the basement were out.


Unfortunately, I was not in the right physical shape to be down on the floor, scrubbing and wiping for over an hour, either. I thought my wrists were finally ready to support me like that. Nope. I thought regular exercise had limbered my back and hips sufficiently for me to survive (reasonably) intact. Nope.

Pain, horrible, horrible pain, ohhh, painpainpainpainpain!

I got tons done, and the house looked decent, and the laundry got caught up, but ach, mein gott, the pain! And the swelling! AND THE PAIN!!!!

And the worst part? My outdated, worn out, and just plain ugly no-wax floor STILL looks like shit. Cripes, that�s depressing.


Too, I seem to be off-track when it comes to the �me� thing. I�m not loving me very much at the moment, it seems. I�ve been reverting to the I Come Last way of thinking, and not spending time on my room, not taking proper care of myself, not eating right�
The �my room� project, I think, is a casualty of the old, old, problem. Not enough time to go around. Anything I do needs to meet the criterion �Must be to the benefit of the largest number of people.� Since my room is just that�mine, and mine alone�it never seems to make the cut.

Even Spouse�s room comes before it, because it is also the computer room. So I use it. So it gets cleaned occasionally, since that benefits both of us.


Anyway...yesterday was a quiet day round here. Spouse and I went to the grocery store in the morning, then came hoe, had some lunch, and relaxed. He took a nap, and me? I read a book. I managed to read an entire 512 page novel this weekend; most of it yesterday.
It was exceedingly enjoyable to lounge around and have a good read. Convalescence aside, it's an ever more rare occurrence for me to be able to devour a book like that.

For dinner last night, Spouse barbequed pork chips on the grill, and I made his honey-poppyseed carrots, which were a resounding hit. We had a baked potato and Hawaiian rolls on the side, and I had fresh sliced peaches for dessert. Spouse had pound cake, as he doesn�t care for peaches. After I cleaned up the kitchen, we watched a little tv, and I walked the dog later on, before heading to bead. All in all, a very nice, stress-free day.



Today, on the other hand, was a nightmare. It was a battle just getting to work, as there is now a road construction project hosing things up for fifteen miles of my thirty mile commute.

And when I got there, it was only to find that a coworker and a developer had both called in sick--and I was depending on them heavily today. Plus, we had a serious server problem on both sides of the business, and I had a deadline to meet. To top it off, I had a fix to test, but not the slightest indication of the expected result--no documentation, as per usual! I was in medium to severe pain all day, it was in the nineties outside, and I was sitting in the usual icy-cold draft inside. Can you say �fucking miserable�?

I�m having a very quiet evening tonight. God knows, I need it.



Damn me and my scruples.

My ex-chiropractor�s office continues to send me all kinds of offers, despite the fact that I told them they were fired, and haven�t been back for 5 years.

The latest is a chance to win a �sleep number bed�, by referring someone to their practice.

Now, I want a new bed, and I would not mind if it was one of those sleep number models. They seem pretty cool.
But I just cannot refer anyone to a practice that I found to be useless. Or, for that matter, any doctor I hadn�t seen in half a decade! Damn.

Thanks, Mom�


No GR. See above�the part about �Pain, horrible, horrible pain, ohhh, painpainpainpainpain!�.



Reading: "The Blood Doctor", by Barbara Vine (Ruth Rendell).

Listening: XM Radio, "Fred". The usual. A Little �Tears for Fears�, a little �Pixies�, etc.


Beading: Currently Inactive

One Year Ago, I was recounting my weekend.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com