rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















weary bones
August 28, 2005, 10:19 A.M.

Saturday was a day that took quite a physical toll on me. I got up in the morning and took Raji for a looong walk, and then came home to find that my Spouse, a/k/a �The King of Sabotage�, had gone to the bakery. And not just any old bakery, either. No, he went to the bakery that does the real, genuine, old-world, fabulous croissants. And he bought me not one, but two of the butter-laden pastries of perfection. So I had a little bit of heaven with my coffee. But only one. I saved the other for this morning.



After coffee, it was time to get serious, so I washed up the small pile of dirty dishes in the sink, tidied my kitchen and then set in to working on my project of the day�dejunking and deep cleaning the living room and dining room. I�m talking furniture moving, baseboard cleaning, wainscoting polishing, cobweb catching, vacuum cleaner in one hand, dusters in the other, and I even emptied the whatnot, polished it inside and out, and cleaned each piece of Fenton before returning it. This took approximately 3 and a half hours. Longer if you count the fact that I washed, dried, and ironed the curtain, napkins, and placemats in the dining room.

We are talking thorough here. And let me just say, it whipped my ass. I could easily have spent the rest of the day on the couch, napping and reading and relaxing, without a twinge of guilt.



But. In reality, I shaved, showered, dressed, and got ready to go grocery shopping. On the way to the store, Spouse (who hid in the bedroom for the entire time I was cleaning like a madwoman) decided that he would call Niece, and see if she was available Sunday to help with the yardwork�for a fee, of course. She was quite willing to do that, so we made arrangements for to pick her up Sunday morning. But after some additional consideration, we decided to pick her up immediately, keep her the night, and then she could help carry the groceries for us. With my hands still needing a bit of consideration, and his medical problem preventing him from doing a lot of lifting, a strapping young athlete was just what we needed. So we picked her up, and headed out to McHenry to the Meijer for a good shop.


After getting that out of the way, we then headed back home. With one very quick stop at Borders to pick up an old movie on DVD for the Spouse, another (not so quick) stop at the Twin Lakes Ben Franklin (They have a very respectable beading department).

Where�oh, joy of my heart!-- I found: the Bead Pin pendant I�ve been looking for, sterling silver post & drop earring findings, and the one thing I was beginning to think didn�t freaking exist�inexpensive box clasps! I also found some Czech firepolish ovals that give me renewed hope for pulling off the crystal and peach bracelet. So I do hope my life gives me a little time for some beading this week.



After my helper did her part, I put away all the groceries, and we just kind of hung out for a while, and then started dinner. We had Niece�s favorites�steak, baked potato, with Caesar Salad and steamed broccoli for the girls, and a nice Iceberg and tomato salad for Spouse. Then they had banana cream pie for dessert. (I wasn�t exactly a saint�I had the last two chocolate chip cookies, and then I snarfed a couple pieces of Godiva Dark 60% Cocoa before bed. But that's purely medicinal.)

Niece is not so much for helping when it comes to dishes, though, so I shouldered that burden by myself while she fiddled around on the computer, and then got a lesson on how to play poker from her Uncle. I don�t think she kicked his butt; however, she seemed to be holding her own pretty well for a beginner. She�s a very competitive kid, so she was an apt pupil.



I went to bed at a reasonable hour last night, because I had another long day ahead of me today. I got up about a quarter to six, took Raji for another super-long walk, and then came home to get cleaned up and have my coffee and a bite to eat before I had to leave for the office. I have to be here for about three hours, but since it is only a support role, and the project is going smoothly, I have time to write up my entry.

After I get home, though, it will be straight back to the physical labor as Niece and I tackle the yard. We have to mow, trim, weed, bag it, clean up, and get things looking shipshape out there, before we get a ticket from the city for abandoned property. Well, maybe it isn�t that bad, but it is certainly way beyond what I consider acceptable.

I also have laundry to do, a general PST (Pickup, sweep, tidy) around the house (Niece sort of trails chaos in her wake), dinner and dishes, and assorted other chores and such. So I expect I�ll be pretty pooped out by the time I lock up and shut the lights tonight.

This is my life. And I got the hell out of Iowa because being a country girl was too much hard work. Hmph. If I�d known then�

Who am I kidding? I STILL wouldn�t have stayed �down on the farm�.



GYM REPORT:

45 minutes

1.75 miles

190 calories
Raji and I took it outside�A lovely, long, brisk walk on a pretty Sunday morning.


Reading: Re-reading Carrie Fisher�s �Postcards From The Edge�, to brush up before finally reading �The Best Awful�

Listening: XM Radio, 70s on 7. C.W. McCall doing �Convoy�, Dr. Hook doing �Love You A Little Bit More�.

Beading: Getting ready to start, yet again, on the peach and crystal bracelet.


One Year Ago, I was tired and scared.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com