rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















tote that barge...
August 22, 2005,

Oooh, am I tired and sore today.
I worked my kiester off around the house yesterday. And way over-did it with the hands, in the process. I am still feeling whipped today, but that is partly attributable to sleeping in the torture bed, and partly to a bit of Darvocet hangover from the dose I took before I hit the sack last night.

I started my Sunday at 5:30, by taking Raji for a mega-normous walk. The I came home, brewed up a pot of freshly ground Sumatran Mandheling and got Spouse up and rolling. He joined me for coffee, and then I kissed him out the door and immediately went and stripped the bed, so I could start a load. After I got the sheets and mattress pad going in the washer, I decided to sit down and take some me time, which included reading my online equivalent of the newspaper, and writing a diary entry.

Then, it was time to set to work in earnest. I started by getting my clothing donations bagged up and put into the car so they could be dropped off (dropped them this morning!), and then set to work on the refrigerator. Oh, am I embarrassed. No one�s fridge should ever be in such a condition that it takes two hours to clean! I ruthlessly chucked a shitload of stuff, then set to work scrubbing and wiping and scrubbing some more. (With an occasional time-out to advance the laundry.) None of this was made easier by the fact that my fridge is white, inside and out, and while I�m on the subject--

When I signed on for dog ownership many years ago, I fully expected to have to deal with dog hair on my carpets and furniture. I never expected it to invade my refrigerator! I�m telling you, that shit gets everywhere!

So, once the fridge was clean to my satisfaction, I washed all the reclaimed containers, chunked up a whole watermelon, cut up and marinated some pork loin for dinner, and finished cleaning the kitchen. Once the sheets were done, I put them straight on the bed, and followed up with the blanket & coverlet as soon as they came out of the dryer.

Then I tossed in the throw rugs, and set to work vacuuming and dusting and putting a happy face on the living room and dining room. I�ve been keeping the bathroom pretty clean on a daily basis, so that didn�t take long, and so you�d think I�d be done, huh?

Nope. There was still the matter of�(dum-dum-DUM) MY ROOM (oom�oom�oom�).
I swore I�d do the thirty-minute thing, and even though I was hot and sweaty and dirty and tired and my hands hurt, I did it. I decided to start with my Grammie�s antique marble-topped dresser, which doesn�t deserve the neglect and abuse I�ve heaped on it.

I started shoveling, and realized something. When you find the tags from a pair of shoes that you have already worn out and thrown away�it�s been too damn long since you cleaned.

In thirty minutes, I�d chucked a wastebasket full of crap, washed and/or dusted the knick-knacks, boxed up and put away any treasures I didn�t want to leave out, shined the dresser till the walnut and marble gleamed, and neatly arranged the remaining items. And I even washed a doily! A nice sense of accomplishment ensued, I can tell you. I�m almost looking forward to having another crack at that room today!

Once I get into a certain groove, I tend to keep going. So I next tackled a job I hate, but had put off long enough. I took apart my electric fan and vacuumed, dusted, and scrubbed about five pounds of dust from the grills, motor, blades, and interior frame. When I put it back together and turned it back on, it actually proved to have regained its aerodynamics.

After the bedding and rugs were done, I did a load of clothes, but I was starting to wear out. I puttered on the PC a bit, and when it was getting towards time for Spouse to get home, I started dinner�

Put the rice in the cooker and the veggies in the steamer, put the marinated pork on skewers, along with pineapple chunks, and lit the grill. Spouse cooked the meat, and laid barbeque sauce over the foundation of Hawaiian marinade�a specialty of his. Served on rice, with peas and carrots on the side�heavenly. Especially after the day we�d both had. We were ready for a good meal.

In keeping with my vow, I made sure the dishes were washed and the kitchen cleaned up, performed my usual evening routine, and by then it was eight-thirty. I walked the dog, locked up, showered and brushed my teeth, and popped two Darvos. Straight into the arms of Morpheus.




Reading: �To My Ex-Husband�, by Susan Dundon

Listening: XM �Fred�. Elvis Costello, Cocteau Twins, Psychedelic Furs

Beading: Set aside for now; other projects in motion.


One Year Ago, I was goin� shoppin�.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com