rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















back from the DL
August 16, 2005,

Yeah, well. I guess I�m back. I really would have had to work far harder last week, in order to post more, than I was prepared to do. I simply didn�t feel well enough to go driving over to the library to do an entry. Spouse�s schedule, light sleeping, and the proximity of the computer to the bed precluded the required tap-tap-tapping on my home keyboard.


I really felt foul this time around. The lack of nerve damage in this hand, as opposed to the right hand, works against me here. Nerves that work are nerves that hurt. There was a lot more bruising, too�not just the palm this time. Bruises from the base of my fingers, all the way down my wrist into my forearm. Painful, black, nasty bruises.

And then there was the heavy-hand of the anesthesiologist, who put me out far enough that he actually had to bring me back and remind me to breathe. I had an awful anesthesia hangover, too. Not that you could tell, because all the Demerol he gave me had me looking rather blissed out. According to my Spouse, anyway. Or as he put it while I was waiting for my prescription, �What the fuck are you grinning about?! So I felt like shit, and looked like I was having the time of my life. Personally, I�d prefer a vice-versa there.

The post-op pain meds were much more effective, since he basically let me pick my own. (he wouldn�t let me have hillbilly heroin, though.) I was fine with Darvocet. Only thing is--one lays me out, two knocks me out. So pain relief was good, but I was useless for anything but sitting quietly, with arm elevated, reading and dozing. Not a productive week, exactly. Still, I took myself off the Darvo and went back to Aleve by Thursday.

I got the cast/dressing off late yesterday afternoon, but I was just about ready to do it myself, after a week of having that thing on. The doc says it is fine, but it still hurts a bit, of course. I go back on the 22nd for stitch removal.
I was actually feeling energetic when I woke up yesterday morning (at five am), so I took Raji out for one more super-mega-walk. Then I came home and looked around the messy, messy, house. And wrote a list (not easy with your writing hand in a cast ) of things I wanted to get done.
  • Wash the huge pile of dirty dishes
  • run cleaner through coffeemaker
  • clean cooktop, counters
  • scour kitchen sink
  • defrost meat for dinner
  • tidy living room and dining room
  • empty all wastebaskets and take out trash
  • shake rugs, sweep kitchen floor, and vacuum carpets
  • wash/dry/fold/put away load of whites, and load of darks
  • clean bathroom


I was finished by 10:30. With my good hand tied behind my back, baby.

And then I was kinda bored for the rest of the day. I kept thinking of other stuff I wanted to tackle, but my hands had done enough. The right is still recovering, the left was still in a cast till late in the day, and I�d done plenty. My brain was bored, though. Nothing on the box, I was sick of reading, and I can only nap for so long. Around 2:30, I got cleaned up and dressed and went to the doctor, then I came home and made meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and peas for supper. Emptied the dish drainer, washed dishes and cleaned up kitchen again, and then I was still bored. It seemed like that day would never end! I took the dog out at nine, and gave up shortly thereafter, heading to bed.
Speaking of housework-- I was referred by a friend to a website for household organization called flylady.net.

Whoa.

I...don't think this system is for me. Her home may be a well-oiled machine, but her website is a mess. Very hard to follow, and no concise outline of her program (that I could find--it may be there, but who could find it in that mess?). And despite the incredibly inefficient, limiting rigidity of yahoo groups, she continues to utilize it. Thus giving her adherents all the extra labor of working around those limitations. And they nag you to death with fifteen emails a day!

And in addition, it is housewife-centric. Accommodating payroll slaves is very much an afterthought. And the references to men on this thing all seem to use the appellation �DH�, for (blargh!) �Dear Husband�. Never mind all the single fathers, messy bachelors, stay-at-home dads, and guys like Spouse who don�t even have a clue how to be neat�housework is women�s work!

And I don�t particularly care for the strident and hectoring tone. Or her presumption that all of us who have a messy home share a common reason for the chaos. For instance, my home is NOT messy because it is cluttered; I hate clutter and am very sparing in my accumulation of things. My home is a mess because I have a large messy dog, and a large messy husband. Neither of whom are helpful or accommodating to me in any way. My home is a mess because I have a demanding career and a two-hour-a-day commute. My home is a mess because my first priority is not always housework. My house is a mess for a lot of reasons, but clutter is not on that list.

And there are certain�religious allusions that make me uncomfortable, as well.

And while there are some elements of the program that seem useful, (bedtime routine, keeping a planner) I already do all of those things.

All in all, I don�t think it will do me any good.
Aaaaaannnddd� I can�t freakin� post!!!!!!

Freakin� Diaryland �server overload� message page. Which, incidentally, is old & out-of-date, wildly inaccurate, and sadly in need of an update. Grrph. But I have no time to keep screwing around--I'll save it and try again tomorrow.




Reading: �Return to Peyton Place�, by Grace Metalious--immediately after reading the original �Return to Peyton Place�, which is a little disconcerting. I know she wrote the sequel in thirty days, purely for the money, but she could�ve taken a couple of days to actually re-read PP before she started. Coming straight out of PP and into RtPP, the inconsistencies really smack you in the kisser.

Listening: XM �70s on 7�. Interesting musical juxtaposition of the day: The Knack followed by John Denver

Beading: Alas, I must re-work the peach and crystal bracelet, due to a shortage of one of the beads, and my supplier having no more of that particular piece in stock.


One Year Ago, no posting due to vacation.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com