rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















reading list
August 12, 2005, 6:25 A.M.

The "reading:" section at the bottom of the page isn't doing justice to the amount of reading I've actually done this week. So here is a list...


Rumpole and the Angel of Death

Rumpole Rests His Case

Rumpole and the Primrose Path (All by John Mortimer)

What Dreams May Come

Somewhere in Time (Richard Matheson)

Stormswift (Madeleine Brent)

The Black Opal (Victoria Holt)

Time to Be in Earnest : A Fragment of Autobiography (P.D. James)

The Group (Mary McCarthy)

What can I say? John Mortimer is wonderful reading for recuperation.



I had to get out yesterday. Stir crazy is not fun. I made the decision to stop the painkillers, and clear my head. I spent the hour and a half it takes to get bathed and dressed. I got in my car and drove--to the grocery store.

Yeah, well--I was only gone about half an hour, but it felt great to be out of the house and separate from him even if only for a short while. It did wonders for my mood.



Did I mention that I finally got around to cancelling Vanity fair? They sent me the notice that says they're charging my credit card for the next year, and it had a cancellation number on it. So I called and got that particular monkey off my back...
How I've grown to despise that rag in the last few years. The ever-more-leftward editiorial slant combined with the ever-more-opulent (and prevalent!) advertising, and the ever-increasing focus on the shallow puff-n-fluff of Hollywood. The lack of response to what readers want, and the lack of respect for subscribers, who are not treated as loyal readers, but as steerage passengers who pay less than newstand prices, and so may sit and wait an extra two weeks for their copies.

I'm free!




Reading: �Vanity Fair� Magazine, my penultimate issue.

Listening: N/A

Beading: N/A


One Year Ago, no posting due to vacation.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com