rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















no exaggeration
July 25, 2019, 8:23 P.M.

People think I'm being hysterical when I try to tell them that life is killing me right now. But I guess they just don't realize how thin that thread I'm hanging by really is. Here's my week so far.

Monday:
Rise at 4:45 after a poor night's sleep due to anxiety brain. Take care of the dog, wash dress coffee kiss, out the door for the usual suck-ass commute to work.

Work all day, Spouse texts me in the middle of it and says lets go visit your dad this weekend. Yay. I love my dad and want to see him, but travel means extra work, for me. Called vet to make boarding reservation.

Another suck-ass commute home, take care of dog, jump into my grubbies and hit the back yard for mowing and trimming. Come in, make dinner, eat, wash dishes, and then sit down to make travel plans, call Dad, etc. Go to bed.

Tuesday:
Another bad night, due to anxiety--insomnia, racing thoughts, can't get work out of my mind..

The usual drill, followed by a dental appointment after work that took forever as I got there too early, then they kept me waiting a half-hour past my appointment time. Came home, got the mail. Found a jury duty notice for the week I'm taking vacation days. Sonuvabitch.

Then bolted down a pick up meal of grilled cheese and a bowl of salad mix. Cleaned up kitchen, sent a request for jury duty postponement, spent a few minutes playing a game on the computer, went to bed. Got texts from my brother out of the blue, and that bugged me right before bed. Dog got sick in the night, coughing, choking, gagging. Kept us both up all night. Wednesday:
Get up, after no sleep due to sick dog. But B seems much better int the morning.

Wash, dress, take care of B's needs, drive, work, drive.

Home to find the dog coughing again. Call vet, they can give us an appointment in an hour. Feed dog, Half a moment to rehydrate, and spend time with a husband who is also tired, very cranky, and frustrated.

Dog to vet, diagnosis: kennel cough. Well, boarding is out, so we will have to cancel visit to Dad. Antibiotics, bill, go home.

Get home, make dinner. And even though I'm beat, I make a real meal of pork chops, rice, veg, applesauce, because I've hit my limit of sandwiches. Spouse cancelled hotel while I cooked. We eat, I call dad. Talk for 45 minutes, as he is feeling chatty. Hang up, do dishes, prep for morning, get more texts from brother (WTF is up with that?) which I ignore, go to bed, exhausted. (I did get the postponement I requested--for a whole month.)

Thursday:
Exhausted enough to get some sleep, though poor B's coughing woke me several times--and him NOT coughing woke me, too...worried he was too quiet. Usual morning drill, plus the new antibiotics--1 and three-quarters pills, every 12 hours. (And who is the effing pharmaceutical genius who thought a pill that has to go down a sick dog's sore throat should be square?!.) Commute was fairly decent for once--made 12 out of 14 greenlights on 75th St, and had a little bubble of solitude around me most of the way down the interstate.

Unfortunately major system outage awaited on my phone day, so that was fun and fruitless. But I did get some stuff done besides that--including making myself a nail appointment for Friday, since all of B's stuff was cancelled. Also accomplished--incessant worrying about my poor sick baby. Who is okay, but miserable. Drove home in the usual Thursday deathrace, arrived in a dead heat with Spouse. Took care of B, then we finally tackled the FRONT yard, mowing and trimming. After, Spouse got dinner at Culvers, to save trouble and mess, and then we actually got to relax a little. And I posted this. Now, bedtime.



Reading: "May Iverson's Career" (1913), by Elizabeth Garver Jordan. Convent school graduate wants to be a nun, dad talks her into waiting three years, she ends up as a reporter. Kind of silly but I'm only on chapter three and she's already had to deal with an acerbic elderly hunchback and a superannuated Lothario, so I guess I'll keep going--although it has taken me almost a week to get to the third chapter. My life's fault, not the book's.

Listening: mid-summer (and my quest for at least a couple of minutes worth of peace of mind) cries out for Yacht Rock; Christopher Cross, Michael McDonald, Steely Dan, Boz Skaggs, Bob Welch, Al Stewart...the songs of summer, all my life.

Inked Up: The Conklin Duragraph (Amber) fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, Visconti Mirage (Emerald) fine, with Diamine Misty Blue, Bexley 10th Anniversary ("Lime" Green, but the name is very misleading) custom italic, with Montblanc Burgundy, and the Pilot Metropolitan (Purple Leopard) fine, with R&K Solferino. FYI, Diamine Misty Blue is unspectacular in the Visconti fine nib. The Mont Blanc Burgundy in the italic, though...vavaVOOM.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com