rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















weekendy
July 16, 2019,

I had a nice visit with T on Friday after work--stopped by and we chatted, I played with the Chewies, and she gave me a garden tour. We had a good, mutually therapeutic talk; we are both spending too much time talking to no one but our spouses.

I had to leave to take B to his appt. Which--well, B's 15-minute visit for a laser treatment turned into a doc visit, antibiotic Rx for lesions on belly & leg, an hour, and $121.00. But what are you going to do> Gotta take care of the boy. One nice thing--by the time we got home, Spouse was just finishing up mowing the front yard!

Fried chicken and a friend on Friday evening. Spouse has been wanting to try the fried chicken at Cracker Barrel--he loves Southern Fried Chicken, and the commercials have been tantalizing him. As we pulled in the lot, I joked that we might run into my friend AJ, since that is one of her regular places. No sooner said it than I spotted her licence plate in the parking lot! So I stopped at her table and said hi after we put our orders in. Good to see her. She's doing pretty well, it seems.

The fried chicken was actually phenomenal. And a good deal; a half-chicken, two sides, and two biscuits for $10.79. We took nearly half the chicken home and had it for lunch on Saturday. Just as good cold! I see more visits to the CB in our future.

Dinner was followed by grocery shopping; since we were out that way, we decided to hit the Woody's and fill some holes in the pantry.

And we were actually home, with the groceries put away, before 7:00 pm.


Saturday morning, it was chores time. Spouse went out as early as conscience allowed (7:30 am) and mowed the back yard, while I did laundry, vacuumed, and scrubbed the bathroom. Then we got washed & dressed, and ran to Kwik-Trip to fill & wash the Hyundai, followed by Costco for a few items, then Menards, and a stop at Festival for deli salads to have with dinner.

Not very time-consuming, and when we got home I continued to do the laundry, while he undertook to do a little hobbying--Costco had fresh pork bellies, so he decided he was finally going to make bacon! After a slight delay while we looked for the Prague powder he bought last year, and a quick run to the store for kosher salt (we didn't have enough on hand), he was off to the races. He rubbed a mixture of salts and seasonings into an 8-lb hunk of belly, and has it in a covered container in the downstairs fridge, where it remains for the week, being turned daily. Next Sunday is supposed to be smoker day--if it rains, I suppose we could do it under the pop-up awning.

We relaxed a bit Saturday afternoon. I still haven't been in the pool--it was a nice day, but I was planning to dye my hair later and didn't want to mess up my hair's chemistry with Bacquacil. I puttered away at this and that, and Spouse put together the little grill he's bought (the old one was several years old, and pretty shot.), and we had dinner about 5:00. Charcoal-grilled burgers, potato salad, cole slaw, grilled sweet corn, fresh-brewed sun tea, and for me--another attempt to get over my antipathy for kale and Brussels sprouts. They called it "Farmer's Market Salad", and it had the aforementioned vile weeds, along with carrots, broccoli, dried cherries, sunflower seeds, and some other stuff, and a very tasty dressing that actually made it palatable! Seriously--it tasted good! I bought a 1/4 pound, and ate it all.

After dinner, I dyed my hair, and am not entirely happy with the results. The age-perfect stuff is no longer available, it seems, so I picked L'Oreal Excellence Creme in "medium brown". Well, the good news is, it covers the grey! It's super dark, though. I hope to heck it fades out some!
Sunday morning, I slept in till 6:30 (late for me!) and Spouse got up early, saw to the B's needs, and then snuck out to fill up and wash my car for me, the sweetie!

We had a simple breakfast--I cooked up an entire package of center-cut bacon, and we each had two slices and wrapped up the rest, planning for an easy BLT dinner on Monday. Spouse cooked some over-mediums, and we had Italian bakery toast.

And after I gave the kitchen its weekly dose of love, we attended to another clening project we had on the agenda--a medicated bath for the B! Doc had prescribed, so we obeyed. It was a good day to do it outside, so Spouse ran the garden hose from the basement deep sink to the back yard and we set the mixer tap to a nice tepid setting, and Spouse wrangled and sprayed while I got in there and shampooed, scrubbed, and thoroughly rinsed the rascal. It isn't Mr. Water-hater's favorite pastime, so we had to have several pauses to let him run off his head of steam, but by the time I got to rinsing out his belly with the warm water, he was on his back and actually enjoying it, I swear!

After he was dried off enough, we put him back in the house, and I went with, to do up the resulting load of soppy towels. Spouse stayed out back and worked on organizing the storage shed for a while, and then came in. We did a little online shopping, as we have been discussing getting an electric meat slicer for years and figured if he's gonna make bacon, now's the time! Found a Nesco that looks like a good one, and only costs $63 bucks. We snacked for lunch--I had corn chips and pico, he had fritos and onion dip (blechh!). Then he pepped the ribs for dinner and then took a short nap. I finished the towels and then read for a while.

Dinner was ribs, salad and a baked potato--very yummy! He dry rubs them and lets them sit for a while, then pre-cooks them slowly in a low oven before finishing over the charcoal. They always come out beautifully that way. We split a half-rack, but they were very meaty and so satisfying than neither of us felt deprived.

Unfortunately, shortly after dinner I started to feel unwell, and ended up with a dreadful bout of diarrhea. That lasted through Sunday night, all the way through Monday, and into Tuesday. So I ended up getting a little alone time, because I called in sick on Monday. (Tuesday I just took Imodium and hoped for the best). Unfortunately it wasn't very restful alone time, but solitude itself is helpful in its way.

Just a couple of other things to note...we're over halfway through July and I still haven't been in the pool, and (related) I severely strained my right arm when doing yard work on the 7th, and 10 days later it is still effing killing me. (TMI WARNING!) Fun fact--that's my "wiping" arm! I can't bend my torso to the left, so that 48-hour bout of sickness was no fucking laughing matter, I can tell you. And lastly, I found the magic dose for a reasonable night's sleep: 10 mg of Melatonin, 50 mg of Trazodone, and two aspirin. I don't want to abuse it, though. I think I'll limit myself to once a week, and only when really desperate.

Reading: "Under the Country Sky" (1915), by Grace S. Richmond. Another re-read, but a much more pleasant one.

Listening: Gin Blossoms, New Radicals, Killers, Toad the Wet Sprocket, OutKast

Inked Up: The Conklin Duragraph fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, Online Slope "fine" (really a medium) with Online blue cartridge, Waterman Kultur fine, with Iroshizuku Kon-Peki, and the Pilot Metropolitan fine with R&K Solferino.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com