rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















new car
June 24, 2019, 9:39 P.M.

Actual sleep? On a Sunday night? I must have been sick. Well, I kind of was. Felt like crap all day on Sunday (even grabbed a little nap!), took 10mg of melatonin, zonked out till 3:10, then faded in and out due to stupid intrusive thoughts until it was time to get up. But the crap that was zipping around my mind wasn't work, for a change. It was, for some reason, the TV show Mad Men. (shrug.)

I stopped the traz last week, and went back to the melatonin. It seems a bit better at sustaining my sleep, to the point where I can get 6 hours, at least. Still not enough, but more than the 4-5 I was getting on the trazodone.


So. Friday, I stopped at Sassy on the way home from work and got a GREAT manicure. I mean they look gorgeous--like somebody else's nails. The tech who did them did a flawless job. Basic manicure; a creme for a change--OPI "Do You Lilac It?". He evened them up, shaped them beautifully, got rid of the cuticle mess, and did the best paint job I've ever seen. I'm besotted with them. They are wearing fairly well, too! My nails really needed that. So did my soul. Manicures always pick me up when I feel down.

Then home to relax a little, before Spouse got home and had to go out and try to ruin my nails by cleaning up the dog poo and helping to mow and trim. (I didn't do any damage to my nails, though! How about that?)

Dinner was yuck--KFC. WHich I hate, and which does not agree with me, but he loves it. He ran to the drive-thru and came home with it once the yard was done.

A quiet evening, since we had a busy Saturday planned. Watched some TV and messed around on the computer.
Up early on Saturday, to hit some houseworkbefore heading out. Coffee and cinnamon rolls, laundry and vacuuming, etc. I am not going to complain about his cleaning today, I will just be grateful that he helped at all.

Then we cleaned ourselves up and headed out to get my oil changed at the Kenosha dealership (my last freebie from buying the car). That was quick; and we got to Costco just as they opened at 9:30. All we needed there was gasoline and pharmacy, so after filling up the Sonic, we ran in, picked up the drugs and the B's pill pockets, and ran back out before the place got crowded. We have a big shop we need to do, but several things I need to stock up on are on the ad for next weekend, so we are waiting for that. We actually didn't go grocery shopping, because we didn't need too much and we wanted to do that later on, anyway (we had a plan!).

Back home, put things away, advanced the laundry, exercised the dog, and then back on the road--in the Malibu.

For the last time.

Yep. We drove out to the main dealership and had a visit with the Youngest Nephew. And the car we came to see had already sold, alas. But we looked at/drove several used cars--a 2010 Malibu (piece o' shit), a gorgeous, loaded up 2010 Buick LaCrosse (lovely, but too old and not the car we were looking for), a 2017 Hyundai Accent (same color as my Sonic and would have done very nicely), and a 2018 Hyundai Elantra SEL--which ended up being ideal and affordable, so we took it.

The Accent was definitely a great car, but for about $20/mo more, we could have the Elantra, which is a bit larger and more comfy, and which has a backup camera with cross-traffic warning, heated outside mirrors, and BLIND SPOT DETECTION!

No remote start, surprisingly not keyless, miles were a bit steep for a 2018 (almost 40,000), but in great shape, brand new windshield (rock chip), and all-around a very solid car. With remaining factory warranty, plus the same platinum extended warranty I have on the Sonic (but only $50 deductible), and still came out to less than $250.00 per month. I wanted the 60 month, but Spouse went for the 72, since the interest rate was actually quite good. And they were kind enough to give us a whole $500 for the 14- year-old, 144,000 mile, clapped out Malibu. Which I am sure is way more than it was worth.

We bought the car, which always takes a while, and managed a nice visit with YN even though he was very busy. Got back to town about 4:00, gassed it up, stopped at Festy & did our minimal grocery shopping, and headed home. We were beat, so after taking care of B, we bunged frozen pizzas in the oven for dinner and called it good. Called AZ cousin, because it was her birthday--and learned that EVERYONE ELSE FORGOT. Dammit, that pissed me off. She is so special, and works so hard taking care of the Aunties and her kid, that she should NOT have to deal with people forgetting her Bday. Grmph.

We were beat, so after taking care of B, & calling Cuzz, we bunged frozen pizzas in the oven for dinner and called it good.

After dinner, we did a little online shopping for a backseat protector (the dog) for the new car, but we were too tired. We "gave it up till tomorrow", and hit the rack early.
On Sunday, I woke up feeling the effects of eating a lot of crap for the previous two days. My guts were in a veritable uproar. But we had already planned Sunday's meals, so I very gamely ate the delicious breakfast Spouse prepared--especially for me because is a favorite of mine. (homemade, superior quality egg mcmuffins).

I finished the laundry, and cleaned up the breakfast mess, then we got dressed and ran up to Farm and Fleet because Spouse needed to get mats for the new car. I barely made it--my interior was working on round three of sicky-poo. I'd also had a round of palpitations while getting ready, so I really was not at my best. I skipped any unnecessary casual shopping, and we went on to Aldi for a few things before heading home.

After we got home, we shifted cars so Spouse could park in the driveway, and fit the new mats to his car--they had to be trimmed. I weathered round four of the sick, then got his SXM radio set up & added his radio to my plan, and he borrowed my GM glass cleaner to clean his windows (we'd picked up two cans of it at the dealership Saturday, while we were waiting for the finance guy). After decades of me telling him it is the best shit ever, he finally experienced it for himself and is now completely converted to my way of thinking on the subject.

Once his car was done, we switched them back and I cleaned my windows and mirrors, and we came in to relax. He had a bite of lunch, and then put dinner in the crockpot--he made Italian beef. I was sick again, and then I gave up and spent the afternoon in bed. Even slept about 30-45 minutes or so. Got up about 3:00, to find that he had had a lie-down, then gotten up and went out to set his radio stations in the new car. (SO CUTE!)

We ate about 5:00; his Italian beef was delicious, and we had Crispy Crowns and a salad with it. Yeah, another meal that probably didn't do my guts much good, but it really was very tasty!

After dinner, I cleaned up and did dishes, and he found a backseat protector he wanted on Amazon, so after I was done in the kitchen I put in the order for it. Then we did our Monday morning prep, and he went to bed to read. I was kind of bored, so I checked the wellness site for work, and found they had finally creditied me with the points for my screening. And I realized I was within 50 points of being done, and there were two video presentations I could do for 25 points each! So I did them, and now I can rest easy, knowing that IF I still work there in 2020, I will get the max premium rebate.

Then I shagged the B out one more time, gave him his bedtime meds, swallowed a couple melatonin, and hit the rack. To get, as I mentioned above, a surprisingly good night's sleep. (Which I needed, because I was by myself at work today.)

Reading: My ebook of Jean Webster's "Dear Enemy" (1915)

Listening: Sugar Ray, Smash Mouth, Nickelback (too lazy to change the channel), U2.

Inked Up: Sheaffer Javelin medium, with Mont Blanc Burgundy. Lamy Studio LH nib, with Lamy Bronze (sample from Goulet). The Conklin Duragraph fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

And a newbie I ordered on a whim from Goulet: the brand is "Online", the model is "Slope", the color is "Sunny Peach". With a very fat "fine" nib. Inked with the proprietary (ugly, watery) blue ink cartridge that came with it. I really have to stop buying these cheap crap pens just because they are on sale and less than $25.00. This one was $22, marked down from 30, and considering that it is way bigger than it looked online, cheaply made from cheap materials, and the nib may have an F on it but it is a medium all frigging day long--I'd have been better off buying a third Pilot Metropolitan at Meijer for $15. The converter doesn't fit well, and the cap doesn't post well, it has no heft for its size, and even though the grip is "rubberized", it's like a slick silicone, and not grippy at all. That said--it writes. (end rant.)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com