rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















vacay
May 16, 2019,

So. Vacation. Did I have a good time? Well...I had a time. It wasn't a bad time, so it must have been good, right?

Here's the thing.

I am in a really sad state of not giving a crap. I realized it on vacation, when I took a surprisingly small number of pictures, because I didn't care. Hell, I barely paid attention to the places we went, because I didn't care They cancelled my whale watching excursion, and I was actually kind of relieved, because I wouldn't have to pretend like I cared. I went to two different pen shops, bought two new, quite wonderful fountain pens...and lucked out, because I didn't really pick them out too carefully (one is a Visconti, for cripe's sake!). I only bought them so Spouse wouldn't know that I really didn't care.

I think I would have been just as happy (a relative term, you understand) if I had stayed home all week and never went anywhere. And assuming that I would have stayed home while Spouse went to work each day, I probably would have been much happier.



Reading: For my vacation reading, I retreated to the familiar comfort of Margaret Widdemer's "The Rose-Garden Husband" and "The Wishing-Ring Man", back to back.

Listening: Sirius XM Siriously Sinatra and 40s Junction--with the passing of Doris Day, they have been playing a lot of her songs--and I loved her even more as a singer than I did as an actress, so I have been bittersweetly enjoying that.

Inked Up: The newbies: Special edition LAMY Studio with a matte terracotta finish and a lefnihand nib (LH nib is medium, pretty much). Purchased at "Simply the Best" in Victoria, B.C., inked with Sailor Jentle Apricot. And a Visconti Mirage in Emerald, fine nib. Purchased from the Vancouver Pen Shop on 05/10/19. Inked with a cartridge of Caran D'ache Chromatics Hypnotic Turquoise.(Because Visconti's converter is an ill-fitting piece of shit.) The apricot is phenomenal, the hypnotic turquoise is well-behaved, but the color is rather subdued. The old reliables: The Bexley 10th Anniversary with the custom italic nib, with R&K Blu Mare, and the Conklin Duragraph fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown. I actually toted those two along on vacation, because Spouse had set me up a meeting with someone he talked to online who I thought was another pen freak--turned out she just had some old pens she wanted me to appraise! I don't know how she got the idea that I was some kind of an expert. (But at least I got to the woman at the pen store in Vancouver her first Bexley--and her first Susan Wirth nib!)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com