rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















finishing the catch-up
February 05, 2019, 6:03 P.M.

So over this weekend, we were both worn out from dealing with the weather and all, so we stayed home on Friday night. We did household chores and errands on Saturday morning, and then we went home and did some more, before taking a bit of a rest in the afternoon. Dinner was nothing to speak of; we had hotdogs, fries, and a salad. And an early bed.

Oh, and I had to give Spouse a little talk about feeling guilty for not wanting to cook. I get that his weekend cooking is one of his contributions to the household chores, and I appreciate him feeling an obligation to do it. But my gracious, after the week we had, coasting through one weekend was absolutely fine! I told him--we're both grown-up people perfectly capable of feeding ourselves; we aren't going to starve. There's food in the house, and dozens of restaurants, delis, and grocery stores with in a few miles. We'll manage! (Yep. as long as he didn't expect me to take up the slack, I was perfectly okay with it.)

On Sunday, we had planned on making homemade egg mcmuffins, but we decided it had been such a dull and claustrophobic week that we needed to just get out and stretch our legs a bit. So after coffee and juice, and me taking some time to set up my SiriusXM subscription (they offered a promo of 5 months for $25, so I took it), we cleaned up to go out.

We ran out to Niece's restaurant for breakfast. She happened to be covering a waitress's shift, so we got to enjoy a quick visit and very good food. She tried to comp the breakfast, but Spouse turned around and tipped her a twenty anyway. You don't deny the Godfather his chance to spoil you!

Then we drove on out to Delavan, and went shopping at the huge Mills Fleet-Farm out there. We bought a new dogfood bin and a few household necessities, and we both found a pair of shoes! Spouse actually found a great pair of casual slip-on Skechers walking shoes, in the elusive 14-extra wide! They fit nicely, and were just what he wanted for the cruise, so that was a bit of luck.

I found a nice pair of NB running shoes in my size, marked down on clearance. 680s, which aren't the best quality Newbies, but are still pretty decent. I've had a couple of pairs of them. These are a nice light grey with pink accents.

I also fell in love with a pair of Skechers deck shoes in navy and tan, but they didn't have them in a wide. So with those, I took a picture of the end of the box, and found & ordered them online when I got home!

Amazon had my size, and they were even a little cheaper. Spouse was strongly encouraging me to get them, so I did. And, since I was ordering from Amazon anyway, I said what the heck and ordered the set of multicolor gemstone stud earrings I've had "saved for later" for a couple months. (Honestly. 12 pairs of earring for ten bucks, and it takes me months to pull the trigger. I'm kinda messed up that way.)

Spouse and I made an easy dinner--BBQ chicken wings, baked potato and salad. We had some good drumette wings from Tower, and Spouse took meatballs to work for his potluck on Friday, so we had plenty of leftover Sweet & Savory sauce from Gordon's. Tasty, substantial, and minimum fuss and muss.

The shoes & earrings came today, thanks to Prime 2-day shipping, and the Skechers fit like a dream. (I love that I'm finally finding Skechers that fit me right--that's the second pair!!) I was a trifle disappointed to find that they were lace-up and tie shoes; the way they were presented in the store made them look like the laces were elastic instead of ties. But no biggie! And Skechers included two sets of laces--tan to match the shoes, and traditional white.

The earrings were a little bit disappointing--the colors are rather garish. That's the chance you take when you buy cheap earrings, though. The aquamarines looked like the old, 1960-style blue zircon color, and the garnets looked orange. Those were the two pair I wanted most, so that kind of sucks. But there are a few that will come in handy, I'm sure. The pink ones are okay, the purple are a really pretty color, and the light green are kind of a nice shade.

Tonight I'm making pressure-cooker pot roast for dinner. A little ambitious for a weeknight, but I've got the time and when you've been throwing together pot roast dinners for over half a century, it takes longer to get the pot into high pressure than it does to get everything prepped and in there.

Spouse is running late, and I am a little worried, because it is sleeting like mad out there and everything is rapidly becoming encased in ice. Tomorrow morning may prove to be a challenge.
ETA: he got home safe and only about 20 minutes late. And the car had melted & roads were clear when I left for work on Wednesday.



Reading: "The Bandbox" (1911), by Louis Joseph Vance.

Listening: Stone Temple Pilots, Sublime, Alice in Chains, U2

Inked Up: Monteverde Artista medium with Iroshizuku Yama-Budo, Sheaffer 100 “Purple Patterns” fine with Diamine Misty Blue, (I wanted to try Misty Blue in a finer nib. The Conklin Duragraph fine with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com