rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















you don't have to shovel rain
January 07, 2019, 9:30 P.M.

Temps have been up, and Friday & Saturday were gorgeous. Pouring rain today, but I prefer that to some possible alternatives. Tomorrow is the 11th anniversary of the tornado that wiped out Niece & Nephew's home; proof that anything is possible in January.

Friday I came home from work and made myself some extremely strong coffee, because I spent the afternoon dealing with the antenna installation and needed to fortify myself before being all "peoply". And it certainly put some gas in my tank--I got thoroughly fed up with the damned doorbells not working, and climbed up to the chime to see if I could fix it. I could, and I did. The position the bell is in is right above the pantry cupboard in the back hall, and we use the top for storage, so it is very prone to getting bumped. Evidentally, it got whacked a good one at some point, for 2 of the three wires were knocked off the terminals. I reconnected them, and tested it out front and back, and voila! Fixed. I also cleaned off the top of the cupboard while I was up there, which it sorely needed.

Overall, the installation went well, but was not without a few bumps. They had a stunningly gorgeous afternoon for climbing around on a roof in January. It was about 52 degrees and brilliantly sunny, with a beautiful blue, cloudless sky.They were here from 1:00 to 4:30. I had them wire Spouse's room, and there were some weird wiring issues with what was already there, but we ended up with great reception for the vast majority of the Chicago AND Milwaukee channels, which is nice. Cost was $506.69 for everything, and they even scanned in all the channels on both TV's for us. Spouse is very happy with it. (I haven't tried it today, we'll see how great it works with a rainy day, I guess.)

They did seem to need my input a lot, and they were in and out of the basement so many times that I gave up my plan of cleaning out the fridge. I didn't want to be in their way when they went back and forth through the kitchen. Meh. Not a tough give, really. Spouse cleaned it out a little on Saturday, and I will get to the rest eventually.

After they left, I put Spouse's room back together and then relaxed for a while, flipping up and down all the channels we are getting now. Then Spouse texted me to suggest running down to Roma and picking up sandwiched for dinner, so I ordered ahead and he picked me up for a quick run to Winthrop Harbor and back. I had a delish meatball bomber, and Spouse had a chicken parmesan sandwich. Bailey was very happy with some french fries.


On Saturday, we had another lovely day--like Friday, but a little breezier. Spouse baked a tube of cinnamon rolls, and after we had breakfast and got dressed, we ran a few errands. First a stop at the meat market, then I needed some storage bins for a household cleanup I'm working on, so we went to Lowe's and got a bunch. Then we hit Costco and Meijer, and came home. I put everything away, and went out to the car and changed out my old, broken trunk tote for a shiny new, smaller one. Now everything is nice and organized back there.

I also did some laundry and took one of the big totes I bought to Spouse's room, and put his excess books in it. Used another for all the shoes he doesn't wear regularly. And when I stacked them neatly next to the armoire, they made a good stand for Spouse's TV! The installer had hooked it up to the antenna, so I cleaned it up, plugged it in, and made hubby very happy with a TV he can watch from the bed. It isn't perfectly placed, but it is as good as I can do for now, till we really overhaul that room.


Anyway...after I got a few chores done, I decided to relax a while. Spouse and B took a nap, and I sat in my chair and played on the computer for a while, just enjoying the quiet.

Dinner was Spouse's department--although I did make the salad. He baked a couple of potatoes and grilled a couple of BBQ pork steaks on the charcoal for dinner, and it was Yum to the ummy.
Sunday was not quite as nice, but still half-decent. Got up, and did a "breakfast jump up" thing. We had coffee, juice, toast and an omelet (cheese and herb) for me, Spam scramble for him. B, as always, got his cut.

We did the housework and then went out for a bit. Dropped off the cheap digital antenna at Goodwill, and then hit the Festival to take advantage of their stockup sale to fill a cart for the Shalom Center. When you can spend $40 and save $60, how can you not?

We relaxed (well, I also did four loads of laundry) in the afternoon, and I played about 50 games of Klondike and drank two huge cups of decaff Constant Comment. I made meatloaf with mashed potatoes and gravy for dinner. Not a big one, uncharacteristically for us, this was a one-meal deal. No big whup; we had Usinger 1/4-lb hot dogs and frozen fries for dinner tonight. Not the healthiest choice, but after a long work day, it was hot food.

We have been watching Corner Gas over dinner lately; I love that show but last night we realized we have to limit ourselves to two episodes a day, because more than that and the characters stop being wonderfully funny and start being awfully annoying.





Reading: "Outside Inn" (1920), by Ethel M. Kelley

Listening: Jennifer Warnes, "Famous Blue Raincoat". I've loved this album of fantastic covers of Leonard Cohen music for 30 years.

Inked Up: Pilot Metro fine with R&K Solferino, Bexley 10th Anniversary custom italic with Diamine Misty Blue, Conklin Duragraph fine with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com