rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















it's always more than you think it will be
12/31/2018,

Well, Spouse just decided spend $500 to have a high-quality digital antenna & amplifier installed on the roof, so I was right when I said it would end up costing more than I liked. But because it isn't really my entertainment, I feel like I don't get to object. And if we are going this route, we want it to work, right? The cheap window antenna isn't doing the trick at all. So Merry Christmas, I guess.

I think he's going with Hulu and Amazon Prime, which is fine. I may watch The Handmaid's Tale, if I have the option.

We got all the ATT stuff sent back, and the new internet was hooked up yesterday. Seems to be working okay. We definitely got things timed right...we were only without the wfi for a few hours. ATT cut off at midnight and Spectrum was up and running by 11:30 am.

And if he's getting TV for Christmas, I'm considering treating myself to a subscription to Sirius XM. I've really been enjoying the three months free, and I can get 12 months for $60.00. The biggest thing stopping me is how arduous a process it is to cancel service.


Ah, well. Whatevs. 2018 was one almighty kidney stone of a year, but looking back, we seem to have accomplished a thing or two. I escaped Chicago in between two blizzards, to fly to Phoenix and enjoy my family and some vastly improved weather. We successfully got a concrete slab poured (no easy task in this town) and our new shed assembled--without it killing us, without us killing each other, and it came out great! We went to Iowa and saw my last unmarried nephew get hitched. We successfully tore out the old cooktop and counter and installed new ones--despite never having worked with countertop material before--and it came out gorgeous! We visited Spouse's cousin in the north woods, and had loads of fun. We installed new front and back porch lights, and a new light switch and outlet in the kitchen. We bought a new snow-blower, and an almost-new car. We cut the cable cord, and entered the world of streaming entertainment. I survived another year at my job (barely!) and a heart scare and 30 days hooked up to an event monitor, only to be told it is nothing serious, comes with the territory of getting older, and try not to worry about it. Spouse managed to be employed for 12 out of 12 months, which is nothing to sneeze at with him. Despite giving up the exercise, I still managed not to gain any weight back.

And all of this is despite me being pretty damned deep in a serious depression complete with suicidal ideation. So not too shabby, I guess.

Reading: "The Red Mouse; A Mystery Romance" (1909), by William Hamilton Osborne

Listening: SXM The Bridge

Inked Up: FINALLY changed up: Pilot Metro fine, with R&K Solferino, Bexley 10th Anniversary custom italic with Diamine Misty Blue, Conklin Duragraph fine with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com