rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















nothing much
September 18, 2018, 9:26 P.M.

Friday, after work, I was feeling so hot, and so exhausted and demoralized, I came straight home, shared a piece of cheese with the dog, and crashed for a couple of hours' nap. When I got up, I shaved and threw on shorts and a polo shirt, and my favorite sandals. We went and picked up the new cooktop on Friday night when Spouse got home from work. Then we picked up some takeout at Culvers and went home.


Saturday, we did a lot of running around. Lef the house early, and stopped at the hospital so Spouse could finally get his lab work done. Then breakfast at Danny's. Back to the middle of town, to pick up B's prescription at the vet, and to pick up an installation kit for the cooktop at the appliance parts supplier a few blocks from our house. Then, back out to Pleasant Prairie, to go to two home improvement centers to find a pice of counter-top for the new cooktop to sit in.

We bought a nice, 4-foot piece of laminate with a splash and edge we liked. It's a nice, unobtrusive sandstone. (Eventually, we want to put in a new sink, and replace the rest of the counters with this, too.)

Buying that meant another trip back home, to unload it, so we could go shopping. So back out to Green Bay Road to the Meijer, which, if you are counting, is our third trip from the house to GBR in PP. Did the shopping, came home again, and put everything away, then I worked on the laundry and relaxed while he...I can't remember what he did. I think he was studying up on how to cut formica countertops, actually. Oh, and shopping for the correct circular saw blade for the job--preferable one that didn't cost $40 bucks.

Late in the afternoon, he announced that he had found what he was looking for in Sturtevant at the Farm & Fleet. I got the hint for once, and jumped in with "Do ya want to just jump in the car and go get it right now, and get it over with?"

So we did that. Only the one they said online that was in stock...wasn't. But he found one for $9.99 that specifically said it was for cutting laminate countertops, so that was cool. He picked up a couple of other items, and priced wood clamps--a little more than he wanted to spend. So we started home.

I say started, because just as we turned south on GBR (spent a lot of time on and around GBR, did you notice?), he realized that Harbor Freight would have cheap clamps. So we turned around and stopped there, and found the cheap clamps. And a roll of blue painter's tape that he needs for this job, and a battery-op LED light fixture for the shed. THEN we went home.

Dinner was simple. Deli salads, and Italian sausage bombers. Tasty, but damn, it kept me up half the night.
So I ended up falling back asleep about 5, and slept in till nearly eight. Spouse surprised me by finishing the laundry I had in the washer and the dryer, then he made a full breakfast I didn't want, but I ate it up and we did some quick housework before going out to tackle the grass and shrubs. Oh, those shrubs were a mess. WAY overdue to be clipped. As he trimmed them with the electric hedge clippers, I raked and swept and gathered the mess up and bagged it to be taken to the yard waste dump. Then I went around and trimmed all the odd bits, cleaned up the bottoms, put all the neglected edging back in place, and corralled all the loose mulch and gravel back where it belonged.

That done, we took turns doing the mowing out front, and Spouse filled the trimmer with line. (I will trim, but I refuse to fill the damned thing, and he has been working so much, he hadn't gotten to it.) Only to find out that it isn't working, anyway. Welp--I guess we'll have to buy a new trimmer. No biggie, I guess. It's been dry, so the weeds & edges weren't too out of control, despite not getting trimmed for the third weekend in a row.

Once the front was done, we hauled everything back to the back, and then I mowed the south half of the backyard, while he worked on organizing tools on his pegboard. Then I cord wrangled, put chemicals in the pool, and tidied up while he finished the mowing.

By that point, we had been out in the heat and sun for almost three hours, and we were both dead tired, scratched up, and dripping with sweat. Came in, cooled off, cleaned up, and crashed for a couple of hours. I actually just put on a nightgown and stayed in it the rest of the day.

Spouse made his signature "chop suey" for dinner, and thank goodness we ate early, because that stuff isn't very easy to sleep on, either. I still slept for shit. Having to get up and go in on Monday created such a rolling anxiety attack that I was pretty much up from 2:30 on.

I think my job is going to kill me. But I won't count on it. I can't count on it for anything beneficial, anymore.

Reading: "Old Harbor" (1909), by William John Hopkins. "Little Eve Edgarton" (1914), by Eleanor Hallowell Abbott. I KNOW these are re-reads. That's all I feel like these days, anyway.

Listening: All I really want is blessed, peaceful silence.

Inked Up: No changes. Pilot Vanishing Point med. with Iroshizuku Yama Budo, the Conklin Duragraph fine with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and Knox Gallileo fine nib with Rohrer & Klingner Blu Mare.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com