rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















"holiday" weekend
September 04, 2018, 8:47 P.M.

After work on Friday, I stopped at the bank and ran a couple of other errands before heading home. I wasn't feeling very spry, so I rested awhile before taking on the lawn mowing in the back yard. And that almost wiped me out. I figured it was just heat and exertion, so I showered and changed and when Spouse got home, we ran over to Tommy's for a quick bite, and then out to Meijer to get some shopping done.

I found out what the seedy feeling was from in the middle of the night--I got sick with a bad stomach virus, and it pretty much wiped out the whole weekend for me.


I did manage to tag along for some shopping on Saturday, but I was not at all a well cat. Found a new pair of shoes for work, though--a pair of Skechers that Spouse talked me into buying, despite me explaining repeatedly that I have never found a pair of skechers that I found comfortable. These aren't bad, though. They're slip-ons, built like loafers, but made out of the kind of mesh material they use for sneakers. all black, so good for work. Since the new dress code only allows sneakers worn with jeans on Fridays, I needed a good jeans show that wasn't the traditional lace-up athletic shoe. These fill the bill. Got them at Farm and Fleet on Saturday morning.

Saturday afternoon, I had just laid my sick and exhausted ass down for a nap, and my dad called, so we talked for about 45 minutes. He told me I needed to call Auntie, so I promised I would do that on Sunday morning. After he hung up, I worked on the laundry a little before heading back to bed for my much needed nap.

Despite feeling hideous (suffering horrible stomach pain with everything I ate or drank, and dealing with swift and sudden diahrreal consequences from same), we had BLTs for dinner. Fabulous, but painful. Sourdough toast, the last farmer's market tomatoes, center-cut bacon, crisp lettuce. I paid for it, but damn, it was good.

Since I had not really slept the night before, I went to bed pretty early and even the nap I'd taken didn't stop me from zonking pretty heavily. Stomach pain woke me up a couple of times, but I still got a decent night's rest.
I was still sick on Sunday, so I had scrambled eggs and toast for breakfast. Stupidly, I thought I was well enough for a pot of pour-over coffee. Yeah...no. About the time I finished cleaning up the kitchen, the bug came back and tried to finish me.

After things had settled down a bit, I called Auntie about 8 her time and we talked for over an hour, and had a nice visit. Then I got cleaned up and dressed. Spouse wanted to run to the Skechers store at the outlet mall, but after we drove out there and saw what an absolute circus it was, we turned around. Stopped at Costco for a couple things--of course they didn't have one of them, which sucks. But I also found a really nice porch light for the front porch, LED, and only $20. So I grabbed it. Got home and took it easy in the afternoon. Finished the wash, read, lay down for a nap. Spouse made a very nice dinner; his oven-baked cube steaks, mashed potatoes, and green beans. I managed to do it justice; the potatoes went over really well with my sore tummy.

Friday was a beatiful day, but the rest of the weekend was either raining, or hot & muggy, so we didn't feel too guilty about not spending any time outside.
Monday, Spouse worked--he gets double pay for covering the holiday--and he's working 6-2 all week, covering for vacations. I woke up when he left at 4:30, and proceeded to enjoy the day as much as possible. I was still sick (!) and B was having fits because it thundered the entire day. But I read, and relaxed, and took it easy.

And baked a small peach tart, despite my aching tummy. Hey--the peaches were ripe, I had time, and I had a pie crust in the freezer, so I just went for it. It came out quite beautifully! I had a piece for lunch, and despite the pain in my gut, I enjoyed the hell out of it.

In the afternoon, after my shower, I did my nails--despite the depression and the anxiety and the stress and everything else, I have been keeping up my nails since the wedding. Just a little self-care that brings me some pleasure. This week's color is Not So Bora-Bora-ing Pink (OPI).

Spouse came home about 2:55, and when he realized I was still sick, he decided he didn't want to cook. He ordered a pizza for dinner, and I had a little cheese pizza. Didn't hurt too bad. Saved making a mess in the kitchen, anyway. We both went to bed eary, since we had to get up early for work.
Today, I was the only one in the office, so I had a lot to do, but nobody to interfere, so it was okay. And since Spouse is getting home early this week, he's on dinner detail, so I have time to post for a change.

Reading: Re-read "Red Pepper's Patients" (1917), by Grace Smith Richmond, "Laughing Last" (1920}, by Jane D. Abbott, and about half of L.M. Montgomery's "The Blue Castle".

Listening: The Jim Cullum Jazz Band, Michael Ball, Neil Diamond.

Inked Up: No Changes: Pilot Vanishing Point med. with with Iroshizuku Yama Budo, the Conklin Duragraph fine with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and Metropolitan purple leopard with Conway Stewart Bodmin black.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com