rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















colorful
August 20, 2018,

I'm having sort of a rough August. I don't even know where I left off, so I'm just going to slog into it.

A week ago Sunday night, I got less than two hours of unbroken sleep, and probably about three altogether, so when the alarm went off, I wasn't in very good shape. Long story short--I managed run my face into a door jamb, and to give myself a HIDEOUS black eye. And when I went to send an email that I wasn't coming into work, I found out that the only person who could cover for me had already called in.

So I went to work. No sleep, extremely painful black eye, went in anyway. And if it hadn't been for the blind fog making traffic slow down, I wouldn't even have been late! (I was only eight minutes late. I called my boss and told her--didn't ask, but told--that given the circumstances, I expected that I WOULD NOT be receiving an incident for being tardy. She hastily agreed.)

So over the course of the week, on top of the PAIN of the injury--and oh, boy, did it hurt--I got to deal with everyone's jokes and jibes and questions about my eye. As well as many very unfunny and insulting jokes about spousal abuse--WTF? Not something to joke about, and whatever Spouse's failings as a husband, he isn't a hitter.

And, naturally, since she had already had the previous Friday as a vacation day, and taken Monday off--co-worker took Tuesday, as well. (Her motto is always "If you are going to ring up an incident, you might as well stretch it out and get two days off!")

So that kind of sucked.


Remember that thing with trying to find a place to meet up and have a birthday getaway with my oldest bro and GSIL? Well, we went around a few times on the Galena thing, and GSIL tried to set us up with an AirBnB condo, but nothing was working out. So naturally, they just decided they will go ahead and come to Wisconsin for a visit that weekend--they just love Kenosha! Well, that makes two of them, I guess...

So anyway. Yep. So Spouse and I went from "birthday weekend getaway", to "you get to stay home and entertain guests from out of town on your birthday weekend". Spouse is pissed that I didn't come right out and tell them no immediately. I am pissed that once again, the obvious flies over the head of my family. I still might tell them to call it off, not because Spouse doesn't want to, but because I don't. (As far as Sposue is concerned, the ONLY attraction this idea has for me is that I'd get a chance to ruin his birthday, for a change.)

Spouse is actually trying to see if he can get temporarily posted to a different city over that weekend, just to get out of it. Whatever.

Speaking of birthdays, work, out of town, etc--I was supposed to go to Iowa for my Dad's birthday party the weekend after Labor Day, but I am stuck working that weekend. Oh, teh sadness. I love Daddy, but this is a SSIL Shithow, so I really wasn't looking forward to it. (How typical--I have to work a weekend maybe once or twice a year--and it is ALWAYS one of those rare weekends that I have plans.)
Ever since the pharmacy changed back to the right brand for my meds, my fngerhails have been growing like mad. So I have been keeping them manicured and polished. As bad as I am at it, I still like to do my own polish jobs, because I am at least good at coming back and cleaning them up well, and I can do a paint job that WILL LAST. My last one went 10 days, and still looked pretty decent when I changed it. This week I tried a creme polish, which I don't do very often. Now I remember why. They just don't seem to cover the same as a frost does--it's like they are runnier. And they look bland and boring to me. Well, this one doesn't, actually. I did a very pale pink creme, and it really pops. Even make my hands look nice and tan. But the nails don't bear close scrutiny. Get in tight, and you can see the unevenness of the coverage, and how the lacquer ran down to my cuticles.
I ran out to Sally Beauty after my cut and wax on Friday, and picked up a buff block and some new orange sticks, as well as the new polish (Nina Ultra Pro, "Burst My Bubble"). I wanted a cleanup brush, but the clerk had no idea what I was talking about. Once I explained, she tried to sell me the liquid latex. Umm--it has its uses, but for self manicure, it isn't any easier to be precise with that stuff than it is with the polish, so why waste the money? I'd planned to do my nails Friday afternoon, but they still looked really good--and so did a two-hour nap.
We changed it up a bit this weekend. Saturday we went up to Oak Creek to check out their farmer's market. It's very nice, but small and a little pricey. We picked up some fresh produce, local honey, and some baked goods, then drove up to Tower Chicken to re-stock on poultry (We took a cooler and blue ice along). Stopped back in Oak Creek at the Farm and Fleet so I could get new jeans, only to find out they are discontinuing the style of Riders I wear! DAMMIT! I managed to find one pair on clearance (petites, buy I can get away with them), and Spouse found an actual pair of Skechers sneakers in his quadruple-E size!) So we got those, stocked up on dog treats, and swung by Woodman's to finish the grocery shopping before we headed home. Once everything was put away, we relaxed in the afternoon.

I kind of blew off the housework a bit this weekend, just did the bare minimum. (my bare minimum: 4 loads of laundry, sweeping & vacuuming, emptying wastebaskets, re-stocking the paper goods, and making my bed.)

Spouse and I did do stuff in the yard on Sunday; mowed, trimmed, spread out the rest of the dirtpile left from the shed project, skimmed, vacuumed and treated the pool, and worked on organizing the shed--put up some pegboard and a hose hanger in there to help keep things neat and orderly.

And made a quick run to Meijer for some triple-antibiotic ointment and a couple of other items we needed. The triple-a is for B; he's having some more skin issues, on his elbows this time. It's always something with the poor guy.

Yesterday afternoon, we spent some time looking at excursions for our cruise. Since there are really only two ports of call (San Diego, Victoria) other than the departure and arrival cities (LA and Vancouver) and we already decided we want to free-wheel in Victoria, we decided to splurge on a really nice excursion in San Diego. We booked a motor trolley tour of downtown SD that ends up leaving us at Balboa Park for 6 hours--and it includes four museum admissions. I'm thrilled with our choice; I have wanted to get Spouse to Balboa Park since I first clapped MY eyes on it, in 2015. I think that is the only excursion we will book, as I said--I'm so glad Spouse wants to do it too! We have plans for Vancouver (exploring and PEN STORES) and are staying over there a day, so I'm sure we will have loads of fun there, too.

We also booked a reservation for dinner in one of the upcharge restaurants on the ship (The Crown Grille) so we can enjoy that. I intend to book it to the spa ASAP when we board, in order to get a reservation for some sort of treatment. We wanted to do both of those things last cruise, but missed out because we didn't book soon enough. Not gonna happen this time, by cracky!

Spouse texted our travel agent with a question, and when she called him, she mentioned Nephew and Niece-in-law booked another cruise--they'e doing Alaska! I'm so excited for them, and can't wait to talk to them about it.

Well, this is sloppy and disorganized, but at least I took a stab at it. Got some stuff written down. Good enough--I'm out.

Reading: Just some summer re-reads: SHA's "Average Jones", and "Little Miss Grouch".

Listening: Still listening to the Walkman, so I went through my old CDs and uploaded a few things I thought it would be fun to revisit. Right now, it's "If I Were a Carpenter"; a 1994 tribute to The Carpenters, featuring alternative rock band covers of their stuff. Personal favorite: "Hurting Each Other", done by Johnette Napolitano & Marc Moreland

Inked Up: Still the same three. (I filled them up all the way, and they each hold a lot--nothing has gone dry yet!) Pilot Vanishing Point med. with R&K Blue Mare. Retro 51 (white nickel with rose gold trim & medium nib), with Seitz-Kreuznach plum blue, and the Conklin Duragraph fine with Private Reserve Copper Burst.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com