rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















fallen behind
August 06, 2018,

I kind of skipped last week--I had to pick between pool time and writing time, and I picked pool. I'm trying to make an effort to get back to steady exercise, so I have been setting my phone timer and doing water exercises every day the weather permits. It permitted pretty much every day last week. One thing I noticed is that some pool time after I get home from work benefits Spouse, because I am in a much better mood by the time he gets home.

This might not be much of a post, anyway. I am feeling quite punk today. May have been something I ate, may be an IBS flare. I can't tell. Drinking ginger tea to try and calm my nausea, and slogged miserably through a very long workday & commute. Probably the food thing, because Spouse was sick too--he called in.

No leftovers for dinner, that's for sure! I stopped on the way home and picked up chicken-rice soup, some sliced turkey, and bread, for a nice, simple bland dinner.

Neither I nor the weather are up to an exercise session today. (Hence, a post.) It started storming last night about 8:30 and we've had weather ranging from "totally shitty" to "kinda crappy" to "meh", ever since. Pretty much supposed to be like this thru Wednesday, I guess.

There's not a lot going on; spent the weekend doing chores, running errands, swimming, and trying to find a place to meet up with my bro and GSIL, come October. I picked Galena, but Spouse shot it down after checking hotel rates (Apparently it's very popular with leafers). I honestly don't know where else we could go; I talked to my dad yesterday; he knows that area better than I do and couldn't come up with anything. The problem is, there just isn't much of anything between us and them but Illinois dirt.

Ugh. I'm super-tired. Call this done for tonight.


That last bit happened about 7:10. I went to bed, read for 5 minutes, and slept for two hours, then got up, took care of the dog, and went back to sleep. And slept fairly well. Woke a couple times, but fell right back asleep. I actually got like nine hours of sleep, all together. A HUGE amount for me--and I almost felt hung over from it today.

SHOWERTHOUGHT: The best payback for the way SSIL has always treated my family is the fact that her daughter has grown up to have huge streaks of our temperament and sensibilities in her. (And when she's channeling my mom, that's the best.)

Reading: "The Bolted Door" (1911), and "The Maker of Opportunities" (1912), both by George Gibbs. I am pretty sure that first one is a re-read. I think I remember thinking "I think this woman is a spoiled bitch, and I have no sympathy for her", when I read it a few years ago. There are a number of rich, douchey people in it. The second is also full of rich, douchey people, but it seems to be rather more light-hearted in tone. Just started "A Daughter of Jehu" (1918), by Laura E. Richards, and it is already proving delightful.

Listening: I've given up on radio, retreated into the Walkman, and I am currently listening to big, sprawling album full of GAS standards.

Inked Up: I made changes, but there's still not a lot of time to use them or play with them, so I've kept it to three. Pilot Vanishing Point med. with R&K Blue Mare. Retro 51 (white nickel with rose gold trim & medium nib), with Seitz-Kreuznach plum blue, and the Conklin Duragraph fine with Private Reserve Copper Burst. (I need to use that one more and run it out of ink--so I can go back to Pelikan 4001 Brilliant brown.)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com