rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















summer drudgery
June 18, 2018, 8:05 P.M.

I spent my time off from the office working like a stevedore. I did a lot of heavy cleaning jobs that were even heavier for not having been done in a while.

I cleaned out and scrubbed out the fridge. I cleaned out the pantry. I cleaned the bathroom wall-to-wall and floor-to-ceiling. I moved that running joke of a stack of "new" kitchen flooring from my dining room to the basement. (That shit has been sitting there, in the way, exactly as I knew it would when he put it there on October 30th 2015, and I HAD HAD ENOUGH.) I vacuumed, dusted, scrubbed, shampooed the carpets, and even disassembled the vacuum cleaner and gave THAT a cleaning from the ground up.

I washed every speck of dirty bedding in the house (both man's and beast's), then packed away the winter blankets and made the beds up fresh. I ran the washing machine pretty much nonstop, doing clothes and towels and cleaning rags and bedding and rugs, and finished by running a cleaning cycle on the washer itself.

I took our accumulation of cardboard to the recycling center, and took the dog to the vet twice for his laser treatments (his paw is finally looking like it might heal up, after all).

I mowed grass, cut weeds, blew the sidewalks & driveway off, sprayed for weeds, sprayed for bugs, cleared all the rubbish and old brush out of the back corner of the yard and raked out the dirtpile, so the concrete guy has a clear field.

I helped Spouse get the pool up and running (It is not ready for swimming yet, but we've got a start.)

I made dinner nearly every night, baked a cake from scratch, and made lemon sorbet from scratch.

I took delivery of our new living room chairs. (Ohh, NICE.)

I washed the car.

I WAS F**KING BUSY.

I did manage to read a couple of books, shave my legs, and dye my hair, but that was about the extent of the self-care I squeezed in.


Thursday evening, Spouse brought me home a dozen and a half scrumptuous Esperance roses (the ones that are green on the outer petals, shading to pink in the middle. They are SO. Freaking. Gorgeous. Of couse, he waltes in with them and drops them on me right when I'm in the middle of cooking dinner, so I had to try and get them trimmed and arranged and into a vase at the same time I'm trying to brush the sauce on the chicken breasts.

Friday, our anniversary, I didn't feel terribly well (GEE. Wonder why?), and Spouse made it worse by cutting into my work time--he took a half-day off. Poor guy had to deal with me and my pissy attitude, on our 33rd wedding anniversary, oh, well! It wasn't like he took the time to do anything fun, or even useful; he just did it because he's lazy. (I didn't even bother to get him a card, because frankly? I don't think he's been that great of a husband.) I made a half-assed dinner, and we then we went and got our weekly shopping out of the way. WHOOPEE.
First thing Saturday, we got a text from Niece--her grandma (her last remaining grandparent) passed away. We've known her for as long as we've known SIL, and visited with her at countless family events over the years, and that was very sad news.

Since we were kind of tired and down, and we'd already done the grocery shopping, we were lazy on Saturday morning and didn't even get cleaned up and dressed until noon or so. Then we ran a few errands and came back home. Although the weather was halfway decent during the week, as usual, it was viciously hot on the weekend. And since I had very accommodatingly worked my ass off all week, he could go back to being lazy. Well, I could too. I took a nap.

We had dinner reservations at that little place on the lake in Racine County, to celebrate our anniversary. I wasn't really wanting to go, but I put up a front and acted like I did. The food is seriously good there, and once I was there I enjoyed my meal. They actually know how to do a proper sirloin steak there, which is a rarity in these parts. Sirloin is a cut I grew up on and love, but around here they treat it like a trash meat.
I didn't sleep very well Saturday night, and when I woke up around seven, Spouse hit me with more horrible news--Auntie, who was in Iowa for a visit, had a massive stroke on Saturday and was airlifted to the hospital at U of I. My cousin and her son were on the way from AZ. Not too many details available at that time, and I still don't know much. Just waiting to hear.

So I took my meds and got a cup of coffee, and called my dat to wish him a happy fathers day, and to see what he knew about the situation. He said he had talked to Auntie Saturday morning, and had hung up at 11:00 am--and at 1:00 pm, Tucson Auntie was on the phone, giving him a garbled explanation of what was going on.

So San Diego Auntie, who was with her, and Cousin and Cousin Junior are at Iowa City with her now, and we haven't heard much. I am getting ready to give her a call and see how things are going, but I am so afraid.

My poor baby cousin. She lost her dad on Mothers Day weekend, and then her mom was struck down on Fathers Day Weekend. That is some wickedly cruel shit that my porr girl just doesn't deserve, and it's killing me.

ETATalked to Cousin. Some good news, they just pulled Auntie's breathing tube, she's breathing on her own and she's talking. Bitching up a storm, actually. But she's paralyzed on one side and they have a lot more stuff to check out, she isn't out of the woods yet by a long shot. I told Cousin to call if she needs us, even if she just needs to scream.

I had a pretty good chat with Dad, after he broke down and put his hearing aids in. He said my oldest brother and Good SIL were coming to visit him yesterday, which was nice. Not much else going on, he's feeling well and very busy taking care of the flowers. He and his girlfriend have a big yard with lots of flowers, in pots and in beds. They get a lot of joy from it. He comes by it honestly; he's my grandma warmed over and I think she would be so proud of him.
Well, that's a wrap. Not the most organized post, but I am doing my best. It was an eventful week.

Reading: More of what is turning into the Joseph Crosby Lincoln Summer Readathon: I re-read "Cap'n Eri"(1904) and "The Woman-Haters" (1911), and now am on "The Rise of Roscoe Paine" (1912).

Listening: The Cure, The Killers, Beck, Tom Petty.

Inked Up: Still no changes to the 5 I've got inked up--I didn't even touch them all week.
Bexley 10th/Binder Burgundy
Conklin Duragraph fine nib/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown
JinHao X750 medium, with Rohrer & Klingner Blu Mare
Levenger Facets with custom color "Signed in Blood"
Knox Galilleo with Birmingham's Fred Rogers Cardigan Red

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com