rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I've been on this old inernet way too long...
June 04, 2018, 8:35 P.M.

Diaryland updates went a little haywire last week, and that delayed the posting of my last entry--and led me down a rabbit hole of long-overdue internet cleanup. Due to a long-term issue with the site, I was never able to update my email address, and in order to submit an issue report, I needed to be able to receive emails at the address on file.

Well, I haven't used that msn.com address in (holy shit!) seven years, so that was a problem. And when I clicked "forgot password", I realized that the backup email for that account was an old yahoo account--which I also haven't used in seven years!

Fortunately, the yahoo account had a security question I could answer, and I was able to update that password, so I could update the OTHER password, so I could send Andrew an issue report at Diaryland. (I did include the site's issue with the address change page while I was at it.)

Andrew had it fixed by Sunday, anyway. I don't want to be hard on the guy--he keeps this site up for no pay, and I've been using it for free for over 14 years now :O I just tried to send it as a heads-up that there were issues.

I kept going with a lot of cleanup, as long as I'd accessed the two email addresses. Figured I may as well! I deleted an old facebook account I'd used for playing Pet Society and Farmville, back in the day, and cleared out a shitload of old emails from organizations I no longer have anything to do with.

I actually have a couple of other dormant accounts out there I'd like to clear up, too, but I don't know if I can even remember enough about them to try!


So the weekend wasn't very busy...nothing terribly big or important. Just the usual weekend grind of errands and chores. I got a haircut and brow wax on Friday after work, then went home. Lunch was a quick grilled cheese sandwich, and then I tried to take a nap, but got caught up in the afore-mentioned internet crap instead. Spouse picked up pizza on his way home, and after dinner he washed his work clothes (got them as far as the dryer, anyway), so I was able to be a very lazy girl for the rest of the day.

On Saturday morning, B had more doctoring: another office visit, another round of antibiotics, and even a cold laser treatment on his lesion.

And they screwed up his antibiotics, which I didn't realize until Saturday night when I went to dose him after he'd eaten, and after it was too late to get the problem corrected. The issue: The bottle said the same thing as last time: 200 mg Simplicef. The BILL said the same: 200 mg Simplicef, $78.00.

But they were NOT the same pills. Different shape, different size, different shade of orange. I certainly wasn't going to give them to the dog if they weren't right, so I looked the pill up by description, and it said it was Simplef, all right--but the ONE hundred milligram dose. So, basically, half as much for the the price. I called them first thing this morning and they said they would get it corrected, but damn it! At least they gave me the option of giving them two of these, and we can get more when he comes in on Saturday. Oh, yeah. he's got to go back again this coming Saturday. He really doesn't seem to be improving, but he doesn't seem to be getting worse, either, thank goodness.

When we got home from the vet, it was looking like rain, so Spouse did all the mowing (yeah, I never did it last week) trimming and blowing, and I worked on the laundry, cleaned the floors, and did assorted other housework. After we got we finished, we ran errands--to the grocery store for the weekly shopping, gas station for a fill-up, and to the Petsmart in a fruitless effort to find Allercaine, because that's something else the vet's office screwed up--they can't get the spray with lidocaine AND antiseptic AND bitter-tasting lick-deterrent anymore. Once we got home, I googled around, and found out we guessed the wrongpet store and should have gone to PetCO.

I put away the shopping while Spouse took a much-needed shower, and we kicked back and had some leftover pizza for lunch and talked over the cruise we bought. He's really looking forward to it, and I'm trying to. I don't look forward very easily. Planning ahead always feels too much like tempting fate to me. Look what happened last time...he ended up losing his job three weeks before we left.

Well, anyway. We made a nice dinner of grilled, bbq pork steaks, with baked potatoes and a salad. very tasty. Then he read his book and I spent the evening watching British stuff on YouTube.
On Sunday morning, I got up about 6:30 and indulged myself with real coffee. Ground the beans, did the pour-over, and damn was it ever good. Spouse took care of the rest, making a lovely breakfast of eggs, SPAM (Yeah, he loves it, I don't mind it once in a while, it was the low sodium version, so whatever.), his special breakfast potatoes, and toast from bread that came from our favorite local Italian bakery.

We lingered over that, and then I cleaned the kitchen and got the laundry back on track. We got cleaned up and ran out to fill up his car. And to go to the right pet store, where we snagged the last bottle they had of Allercaine. After that, we just went back home. He called Auntie for a chat while I put a banana cake in the oven. Then I got back on laundry detail and he took a nap--until I woke him up a couple hours later with the electric mixer, when I made the frosting.

He made dinner; a really tasty beef stew that came about because we had a bunch of stew components on the "use it up" list. Beef, carrots, pearl onions, celery, frozen peas, beef stock...and it was a lovely, cool day so stew wasn't too much out of place. And we got enough out of it to go for two meals, because I baked a pan of cornbread as an accompaniment, and of course, there was vanilla-frosted banana cake for dessert. I always appreciate Sunday meals that allow for Monday's dinner as well.
It was kind of a weird day today, because the person for whom I usually cover on Mondays was in for a half-day today--but I still had to cover for her, because "it's my day". And another co-worker was out, plus my boss--in-another-state had a vacation day, too. So it wasn't a bad day, just very weird for a Monday.

I am once again swearing to do better, and the weather was so absolutely perfect this morning, what could I do but try again to get back to the walking routine? I deliberately went at an easy pace, so as not to aggravate my bad leg too much, but I did walk a full 30 minutes, and over a varied terrain. It kind of felt good at the time, but my hip and foot hurt a bit after. I do know it is good for me, but that knowledge isn't always enough to overcome the triple threat of depression, a bad leg, and the fact that I really don't like to exercise.

That was something else I did over the weekend--I was feeling very excited that we just had a new fitness place open near me, and on the surface, it sounded great! $10/month, no committment, open and staffed 24/7? WOW! So I decided to look into joining.

Well, that was disappointing. From what I can see online, it looks like this chain has a well-established reputation for deceptive tactics. For one thing, they tout the "$10/month, and no committment" tagline, but you have to go seek out the fine print waaaay at the bottom of their web page, in faint, pinkish red, where it says there is a $39 annual fee.

And for another, they do the shit trick of making sure you have an automatic payment system set up, then charging you late fees because of a processing problem on their end! And it is also apparently just as hard to cancel your membership there as it is at every other gym. I really don't want to get into a situation where I need to sign my firstborn child over to them--in blood--in order to get out of a "no contract" relationship. For one thing, I'm too old to produce a first-born child.

Reading: Haven't gotten back to "Ann Boyd" (1906) by Will N. Harben. Not yet, anyway. I got sidetracked by a re-read of Margaret Widdemer's "Why Not" (1915), because Melody at Redeeming Qualities reviewed it, and I couldn't remember it at all--even though I knew I must have read it at some point! And then...somehow I ended up starting a re-read of a Joseph Crosby Lincoln--"Extricating Obadiah" (1917). It just popped into my head and teased me a little, because I could only remember the broadest outline of the story. I do tend to go into a re-read cycle in the summer, and usually read the more comforty, fluffy stuff. I think that's why I'm pulling in that direction.

Listening: Death Cab for Cutie, Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band

Inked Up: Ended up with FIVE inked this week! And waaay too much in the red family. (No biggie; the Bexley is almost dry.) Still these three: The Bexley 10th/Binder Burgundy, the Conklin Duragraph fine nib/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, JinHao X750 medium, with Rohrer & Klingner Blu Mare. Plus, I inked up my Levenger Facets with a custom color I blended a long time ago, and I don't remember the recipe for. I called it "Signed in Blood", because it's a dark, rusty red. And I inked up the new Knox Galilleo I got from Birmingham Pens--with Birmingham's Fred Rogers Cardigan Red. It's a great little pen for the price, by the way, although I already nicked and scratched the body by posting it. And I love the red ink, although it is a bit slow-drying for my taste.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com