rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















4 day weekend
April 30, 2018, 9:35 P.M.

I took Thursday and Friday off, since Spouse was off--and I was rather hoping we could have a weekend getaway. But his lordship wasn't on the same wavelength. I can already see that having him home on the weekends is not an unalloyed pleasure.

Just as I suspected, he wasn't even ON the new schedule yet, and he already threw in the towel on cleaning or doing laundry. I did ALL the laundry, and the most cleaning he did was his usual "I can't even make the effort required to be HALF-assed" job of "vacuuming". And he basically spent the weekend watching me to see where I was going next, and jumping in front of me to get in the way. I came within an inch of braining him with a saucepan.


We did get some stuff done we needed to, though--we went to Bilt-Rite on Saturday, and we found and ordered our new living room chairs! Lane, extra sturdy and built like a bloody tank. Ample in the seat, but without a huge footprint, so they'll fit in the room. (Always a consideration--big ass, small living room.) And a choice of--seriously--150 different upholstery options. Plus, the ability to order whatever chair we wanted with or without the rocker!

We chose a nice brown with a tinge of grey (they call it mink) and a quiet pattern, no rocker, and we paid right away--that's another thing, even with the amazing selection, the options, the excellent service--the price was still at least $200 cheaper than Steinhafel's. I'm kind of in love with Bilt-Rite! Oh, yeah, one other thing--THEY SELL TWO-SIDED MATTRESSES!!

So. Now, we wait. Custom ordering is lovely, but it do take the time. We have to wait 8 to 12 weeks, and maybe more, since the entire company takes a week off for the 4th of July. Hoping it won't be that long, but you never know. It costs $150 to have them delivered from Milwaukee, but that's still less than we saved on one chair, and they will take away the old chairs, so that's awesome.
There was another major purchase over the weekend, as well. I have been noticing a sudden and dramatic deterioration in the way my car drives, and I knew it was the tires. We've known for a while that we would need new ones soon, and well...the time had come. I mentioned it to Spouse when I first started noticing it, but he kind of blew me off, so I was just getting ready to come on strong with it, but then HE drove my car and it couldn't be ignored. So on Friday, we went to Farm & Fleet and put on a new set of Uniroyal Tiger Paws for about $500 installed. Damn, what a difference!

We also found Spouse a shirt and a new belt. As you do, when you go to Farm & Fleet. GREAT place for casual/work wear.

It was actually our 2nd F&F stop in two days, since we went to the Oak Creek store on Friday. I bought four tops and a pair of Lee Khakis. We couldn't get the tires there, though, as there was a four-hour wait for installation. That's why we right away made a Friday appointment for the Sturtevant store. It only took an hour and a half on Friday. Yay, more shopping! (At a place I really like to shop at, yet.) But I didn't buy any more clothes for myself--enough's enough.

I've really been wanting a pour-over kettle, and I looked at the one model they had. It seemed a good deal at $19.99, but I couldn't tell (without completely unpackaging it) if it was suitable for induction cooktops. So I passed.

And when I went back to the Automotive waiting area, to kill time I looked them up on Amazon. Well, I found a nice-looking one that specified it could be used on induction burners. For $16.06, with a $3.00 coupon that brought the whole thing, with shipping, down to $19.58. SOLD. And it showed up on my porch today.

Sorry, F&F!!

We may not have gotten away for the weekend as I'd hoped, but he did take me out for a nice dinner on Friday--we drove out to Michael's on the Lake, in Kansasville, and had a lovely steak dinner. We always enjoy it there. Nice folks, great food, and a seriously lovely view of Eagle Lake. Worth the drive. It was on the early side, but we like to go when it's light out so we can enjoy the view.
We kind of bummed around the rest of the weekend. We took B for an outing on Saturday--he went to the vet, just a social call, to pick up his Rx and make an appointment for his shots that are due. Then we took him for a ride, which he really enjoys, and we ended up down by the lake, where I took him for a little walk while Spouse sat in the car. All that made for a very happy pooch, I can tell you. And a tired one--he napped so hard after we got home that he didn't even wake up when I opened a new package of cheese!!

As for this weekend's cooking, well, we ate pretty good. On Saturday night, Spouse made his marinated chicken wings and I made basmati rice in the rice cooker and tossed a salad. On Sunday, I made meatloaf, mashed potatoes & gravy, and green beans. I tried something new--two parts ground beef to one part ground turkey. We like it! Next time I'm going 50/50 and see if we like that. It came out really well, and if we can make meatloaf healthier and more digestible, that would be great. We had the simplest of desserts; some exquisitely ripe and delicious strawberries from Fresh Thyme. Didn't need anything but a good washing.

My baking experiment this week was not a tremendous success. I tried my hand at cinnamon rolls, and I thought they were just awful. Nothing went right. The dough was WAY too wet, and even though they said you could make these ahead and fridge them overnight, that flopped as well. By morning, most of the filling had liquified and run out in the bottom of the pan. I had to quickly grease another 9x13 pan and get the rolls out of the soup and into a fresh baking dish, or it would have been an even worse disaster. (I wanted to chuck the whole thing, but Spouse wouldn't let me.)

They were truly nasty. Bless him for eating a big helping, but...no. FAIL.

Tonight, it's just leftovers. We planned very simple menus for this week, since we aren't sure how it will go with the new schedule and all. And since we have plenty of wings and meatloaf left, tonight will be really easy.

Reading: "The Princess Passes" (1905) by the Williamsons

Listening: I had the radio on long enough to listen to an X Ambassadors song I liked, before the annoyance of morning show DJs, dinosaur rock, and mega-huge commercial blocks ruined it. I really need to do something about the music situation with my new schedule.

Inked Up:No changes: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib/R&K Blu Mare, Conklin Duragraph fine nib/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, Delta Serena broad nib/Iroshizuku Yama-Budo, Pilot Metropolitan fine nib with Pelikan 4001 Turquoise.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com