rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















not well
April 16, 2018, 5:18 P.M.

I'm hitting a bad patch of funk right now. I don't know what happened. I was doing okay, then all of a sudden my mood tanked last Friday and I'm a goon.

I feel quite pulled down physically, for one thing. Maybe a touch of gastritis or something. And my right foot is giving me a lot of pain (plantar fasciitis flare up). These weird physical sensations I've been having are really starting to get annoying. I wish I could think of a way to describe it, other than to say it feels like my life is draining out through my feet. It's just the weirdest thing.

My mood is in the toilet, I don't want to do anything much, I can't make myself do anything much, and I'm pretty much hating the world and everyone in it. I skipped my morning walk on Friday, skipped it again today, and did about the minimum I could get away with over the weekend. I did make the mistake of trying to bake dinner rolls on Saturday--such undertakings are ill-advised when I am in this kind of a mood, but I never remember that till after the fact. They were okay, but I could tell I didn't put enough effort into them. Lessons learned: get the butter softer, add more flour if the dough is that wet, knead the dough longer, and don't frigging try to bake when you're depressed.

I'm quite sure that the weather has a lot to do with my mood--the from Friday to Monday, the weather went from cold and dreary, to horrifically windy, to horrifically windy and rainy, to a motherf**king ice storm, to MORE DAMNED SNOW.

I don't know how much more of this shit I can take.


Talked to my dad on Saturday. He thought he was heading to Evanston for a Northwestern Womens' Softball game, but I quite literally rained on his parade by explaining what the weather was like in the Chicago area, and checking the website to confirm the game had been postponed, while I was on the phone with him.

And of course, it WAS postponed. With the wind coming off the lake in Chicago hard enough to drive 20-foot-high waves, I figured as much, but I can't tell my dad anything without backing up my position with documentation. So I googled while he babbled. Last I heard, the guy he was going with was going online to check for himself. Well, okay--but I'm not making this shit up just to ruin your day, fellas!
I did do some cooking this weekend, and baking, as I mentioned. Nothing fancy, and really not the kind of stuff I should have been eating with the way my gut was acting up. Dinner on Friday ended up being KFC, because Spouse was too tired to go out to dinner after he'd convinced me we should. And that, of course, is never good for my innards. Then on Saturday, we had a Polish food/ leftovers hodgepodge. cold fried chicken, heated up mashed potatoes, and coleslaw, plus kielbasa, peirogi, and some of my homemade rolls. Yeah, that was an even worse idea. Oi, my belly!

Sunday was pot roast in the pressure cooker, and I baked a small pan of strawberry muffins, just to use up the last few strawberries in the fridge. (Those actually came out really good, despite being a kind of thrown-together affair!) Pot roast again tonight, since there is always enough for two meals.

Other than that, and a few necessary chores like laundry and pet care, I sat on my ass and killed time with aimless internet surfing, idle reading, and casual online games. I just couldn't get too much into anything. I had gotten all my errands and shopping done during the week, and didn't need to go out. Which, considering the shite weather, I was grateful for. I did go out and chip my car out of its icy shell yesterday, but I didn't go anywhere--just wanted to get it done before Monday morning. Got soaking wet, but I suppose the physical activity and fresh air probably did me some good.

Since I'm coming to the end of my weekends of alone time, I wish I could have enjoyed this one more. His hours change over on the 27th, so he has his three days off, then he's scheduled on for his new schedule on Friday, and then off for Saturday and Sunday. So he's putting in for that Friday off. It makes sense, really. If you can leverage one vacation day into 6 consecutive days off, why not? Don't know if it will be approved yet, but worth a shot. I am going to miss my weekends, but I am going to be glad to have him off, I think.

I told him flat out that I didn't want to end up stuck with all the housework and no time to get it done. He really didn't have an answer to that, except to say he'd try not to let that happen.

Well, that will be up to me, too, I'm sure.

Reading: Re-reading "The Lightning Conductor" (1903) by the Williamsons, and "The Lady of the Basement Flat" (1917), by Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey. When I'm in this kind of a mood, re-reading works better than tackliing anything new. I've also been leafing through Good Housekeeping, from 1910 and 1917. Not the fiction, though. Articles, ads, and features, mostly.

Listening: The Killers, INXS, Soul Asylum, Adele.

Inked Up: No Changes. Mainly because I was too funked out to bother with any pen maintenance this weekend. Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib/R&K Blu Mare, Conklin Duragraph fine nib/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, Sheaffer Javelin medium nib/Sheaffer Skrip Emerald Green, Wordsworth & Bläck with R&K Solferino.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com