rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















a drudge with a grudge
April 09, 2018, 6:32 P.M.

a drudge with a grudge I spent my weekend working like a fiend around the house, because I was feeling some good energy levels and you got to take advantage when you can.

I'm glad I did, because it may be the last one I get to have all to myself. Spouse got the M-F job, and while I said I was okay with it, here's a couple things I know from long experience: he will give up on pretty much all the housework, and he will manage to suck up all my free time. I will have everything to do, with no chance to do it.

So, since all I have to talk about is all the work I did, here goes: I straightened up the house, scrubbed the bathroom and the kitchen, vacuumed, dusted, stripped and remade the beds, washed, dried, and put away seven loads of laundry, broke down a large pile of cardboard for recycling, emptied all the wastebaskets, took out the garbage, re-stocked the paper goods, groomed the dog, walked the dog, changed over to my spring purse, serviced my car, went grocery shopping, baked two loaves of bread from scratch, made a pot of homemade chicken soup with my own homemade noodles, and made meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and scalloped corn for dinner on Sunday, and performed ALL the dishwashing necessitated by the aforementioned cooking and baking.

And one thing I DIDN'T do was pick up the dog crap, and now I'm sorry I didn't because even though it's April-effing-NINTH, it flipping snowed this morning.


After a full week of the new commute, I have to admit it isn't as bad as I was expecting. Times are as good or better so far, despite increased traffic leaving the business park. Nobody's using the treadmill when I get there, and halfway-decent parking is still available.

But you know what? I really don't give a shit. I'm still so everlastingly pissed off about the forced change that I want to kick something. You could fly me to the office on a magic carpet and I'd still resent the fuck out of having my hours of choice taken away from me.

Reading: Finished "Lady Betty Across the Water" (1906), by C.N. and A.M. Williamson, and I was going to start "The Lovers of Sanna" (1912), by Mary Stewart Cutting. But I think I want to re-read more from the Williamsons instead. Maybe "Lord John in New York", or The Lightning Conductor Discovers America".

Listening:I need to find some new music for my Walkmand, to make driving bearable. With the new schedule, morning radio is a miserable mess. Before, I could get almost all the way to the office before the morning drivetime shows came on. Now, they start when I do and THEY SUCK.

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib/R&K Blu Mare, Conklin Duragraph fine nib/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, Sheaffer Javelin medium nib/Sheaffer Skrip Emerald Green, Wordsworth & Bläck with R&K Solferino.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com