rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















opinion piece
April 01, 2018, 11:55 a.m.

Okay, so...sometimes I have opinions. Strong opinions, that I need to express. And I don't have anywhere else I feel comfortable expressing them, so they are going to end up here. Here comes one now:

While I understand, and do really appreciate, the current efforts of true believing Mormons to stop the worthiness interviews and to try and change the culture of protecting sexual predators that is prevalent in their church...

That church was FOUNDED by a sexual predator. Much of the doctrine in the early church not only condoned this behavior, it was specifically designed to promote and enable it.

That entire religion* was founded in order to create a culture of mature men taking advantage of vulnerable young women.

And people really think that can change, and Mormonism somehow be made pure? That it's only things that are wrong, and not everything?

Their eyes may be opening, but oh, they have such a long way to go.


*I almost put the word religion in quotation marks, but I thought that would seem to imply I thought that some belief systems were more valid than others. I do not. I believe that they are ALL equally invalid. And, to a great extent, evil and actively harmful to mankind.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com