rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















bad to worse
January 30, 2018, 7:09 P.M.

The toxicity levels at the office are getting to the point where it can't sustain human life. MY human life, anyway. Bad management is so pervasive that it has infected every aspect of my work environment, and I'm starting to choke on it.

Without going into a lot of detail--which I don't want to do for various reasons, the chief of which is that It is complete and utter juvenile bullshit about which I do not care, I have never cared, and I resent the feck out of being forced to have to care--

As of April, I am no longer going to be allowed to work my preferred schedule. I will not be allowed to start until at least 7:00 am, and will therefor have to stay until at least 4:00 pm, M-Th, and 11:00 on Fridays.

This is 45 minutes later than my current schedule, and the fallout is immense, when it comes to commute times. When it comes to traffic, the difference even a few minutes makes is significant, and that much of a time difference is going to have a net result of close to an hour of additional commute time.

When I get back from my trip, I'm starting a job hunt. I have no idea if anything will come of it, but I have to try. I simply can't keep on like this.


I don't have much to write about, really. The weather this weekend was decent on Friday afternoon and on Saturday--sunny, mild temps in the 40s. Turned kind of shitty yesterday--cold, grey, and snow flurries. B and I got in a couple of good walks on Friday and Saturday afternoons, though. He really enjoyed it. I guess I did, too. As much as I enjoy anything.

I stopped at Fresh Thyme on my way home Friday and picked up a half-pound of fresh Sumatran dark roast, and went home and made myself a couple of cups of righteously good coffee using my pour-over pot. Popped my eyes open, I tell you. Next thing I knew, I'd scrubbed most of the bathroom, walked the dog, and started the laundry! In addtion to being soul-satisfying in its deliciousness, it obviously had a great kick to it. Spouse wanted NY-style pizza, so I got out of making dinner. We drove out to Dolce Vita and picked up a couple of slices and came home--one slice of their pepperoni is more than ample for me.

Saturday I woke up at three and couldn't get back to sleep--I took care of the dog, helped Spouse get his stuff ready to make pot roast at work (more on that later), then saw him off to work. Then I tried to go back to sleep but had no luck.

Got out of bed at 6:30 and made coffee & toast, then finished scrubbing the rest of the bathroom and took in the waistband of my jeans. The last pair of Lees I bought were supposedly the same size, style, everything of my old ones--but they fit about a half-size too big, unfortunately. I can live with them being baggy in the legss, but I can't deal with them falling off my waist, so I took a couple of darts at the back of the waist. They stay on, now, at least. I don't have to keep hitching them up all the time.

Then I took my shower and got dressed, and ran over to 85th Street to pick up a few things at the dollar store and the grocery store before the Saturday shopping got too nuts. When I got home, B and I went out back to cleaned up the poo and change the batteries in his yard lights.

I did all the laundry, ran the vacuum, emptied all the wastebaskets and took out the trash, and in between I relaxed, made & ate some cheeseburgers for lunch (I have been DYING for a decent, HOT cheeseburger), had some tummy issues (I don't think they were related to lunch), and mixed up some instant pudding (chocolate for him, coconut for me) because I didn't feel like baking.

He came home with no appetite, because he had made pot roast at work for lunch. Aparently he'd told his co-workers about the pressure cooker pot roast recipe that comes out fantastic every time and takes a third the time of conventional methods. And they were stoked.

So he picked up a nice piece of chuck on sale, and we prepped it all and sent the supples and equipment to work with him Saturday. It was a very big hit, it sounds like. Heh. I can't even have so much as an immersion heater to make tea where I work, and he can use a pressure cooker. I think I am a little jealous!

So he'd already had his big meal, and I'd had mine, so dinner wasn't anything to speak of. A snack, basically.

I was, at this point, so bloody tired that I snitched one of his Lunesta in order to try for some sleep, and went to bed early.

Well, the Lunesta didn't keep me from waking up, exactly. In fact, I think it was the reason why I had horrible acid reflux at 11:15 that I aspirated and almost choked to death on. But it did allow me--once I gave up on the horizontal and decided to sleep in the recliner--to go back to sleep. And it allowed me to go back to sleep after Bailey woke me up at 2:47, and after Spouse left for work . All in all, I think I got about nine hours. Not unbroken, but better than nothing!
I had plans for Sunday--I met a former co-worker/longtime friend for breakfast and a good chinwag. We haven't had one since they screwed her over royally a few months ago and canned her after 35 years of service. We had a nice visit, and she surprised me with a lovely gift--a JinHao 159 medium nib in purple!

After we said our goodbyes, I went on to the Kwik-Trip for gas and a much- needed car wash, then to Costco, which I'd hoped to avoid this week, but then I realized I was out of Nexium and vitamin D. It was getting gloomy and cold, so I pushed a cart around the warehouse store for hald an hour or so--just for the exercise. Got my pills, some spaghetti sauce, and a big box of my favorite cereal; Special K Red Berries. Since I am alone on weekend mornings, my breakfasts are running to cold cereal or peanut butter toast, rather than cinnamon rolls or eggs & bacon. (The sauce and the cereal were on sale, or I wouldn't have bothered.)

Then I stopped at Meijer to pick up some dish soap, Melitta filters for the coffee pot, and a $20 for Spouse, before heading home to chill out for the afternoon. It started to snow as I was pulling into the driveway, but it was only a very light flurry.

After I put the shopping away, I played with my new pen, watched some of a movie musical (Finian's Rainbow), and was online for a while, before making a simple dinner of BBQ chicken legs, rice pilaf, and tossed salad. Not a lot if imagination, but since every night is technically a weeknight for one of us, there are going to be a lot more of these simple dinners.

After dinner, he pretty much went straight to bed. I stayed up till eightish, then went to bed, hoping for the best but expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised, actually. I managed to sleep til three or so, with only minimal waking. Maybe exhaustion caught up with me, maybe I have just been stressed as far as I can be at this point and even my anxiety is suffering from fatigue. Meh. Whatever. I'll take what I can get.




Reading: "December Love", by Robert Hichens, copyright 1921

Listening: Jack Johnson, Mansionaire, Iggy Pop/Kate Pierson, The Postal Service

Inked Up: Feeling adventurous on Saturday night, I inked FOUR pens--so naturally, I got gifted a new one on Sunday!
Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib is inked with Noodler's Apache Sunset, the Conklin Duragraph fine nib with the usual Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, the JinHao X750 medium nib with R&K Blu Mare, JinHao 159 medium nib with R&K Solferino, and the SkilCraft Executive medium nib with R&K Fernambuk. Clearly it is going to be a JinHao/Rohrer and Klingner week!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com