rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















new glasses 2018
January 15, 2018, 7:40 P.M.

With Spouse's new schedule, we kind of have to divide and conquer when it comes to household duties. This is okay, for the most part. He does laundry and cooks on his days off, I do it on mine, and nobody has to do all of it. But when it comes to grocery shopping, not doing it together really sucks. I did it after work on Friday and by the time I got out of the Meijer store, I was completely wiped out.

The other thing I hate? having to pump my own gas. Now that we aren't home on the same days, I am responsible for filling my own tank, and I swear, I amlost froze to death doing it on Friday.

Seriously--between the cold, the howling wind, and the grocery store full of obliviots? By the time I got home and put everything away, all I wanted for lunch was a large drink.

Thank goodness Spouse wanted to go out to eat--I was not up to cooking or doing the dishes. We just ran very quickly out to the coffee shop for a bite, and came straight home after. Friday is his Monday (and vice-versa), so he was beat and ready to come home and get comfy.


On Saturday, I got up with Spouse and made him a lunch for work, and once we had seen him off to work, B and I went back to bed for an hour or so. Then I got up and made a loaf of honey-wheat bread. Spouse requested, I delivered. It was surprisingly easy--even easier than the white bread. I thought it looked and smelled gorgeous, but it was a little heavy for eating, to tell the truth. He said he liked it, though. If I made it again, I would probably put in a cup or two of AP flour to lighten it up some.

Picked up the new eyeglasses on Saturday morning, after the honey-wheat bread was out of the oven. It was frigid cold again, so I just made a very quick trip to Aldi for a couple of things, and to Sam's for the specs.

They glasses? I love them. I can see!!! Near, far and in-between!!! They look good, they stay on my face, and they even have a blue light & UV blocking coating for eye protection. And my fit-over sunglasses actually fit over these frames, thank goodness!

Then, on my way home, the car decided to act up a bit. Nothing major, but the check engine light came on and I got the reduced power message. Along with the reduced power, of course. I wasn't too worried, because I'd just filled it up on Friday, so I figured it was Gas-cap-itis. But because I wasn't worried, Spouse decided it was something to get all anxious about. I re-seated the gas cap, drove it a couple of times, and the light went out, as I was reasonably sure it would. But he simply cannot have me be right about things, even when it is in his best interest.

I did a couple of loads of laundry and a few household chores, some pen maintenance and other assorted vegging out, and made meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and steamed fresh green beans for dinner. Since it is a week night for him, I went to bed early so as not to disturb him.
Sunday was another bright cold morning; got up with Spouse again and made him another lunch. Then I made the WHITE bread. Two more loaves of the rapid-rise white bread, and after all that was done and the mess cleared and the kitchen cleaned...I baked a cake. Nothing fancy, but I had a couple cake mixes on the verge of expiring, so I whipped one up. Devil's food (with a shot of strong coffee in it), homemade vanilla buttercream.

I did some more housework, and took the car for a shot spin to get the damned trouble light to finally re-set. Texted him the all clear on that, and then had a weird fit of the mean reds which sucked all the pleasure out of a semi-lazy Sunday afternoon. It's the weather, I think. It went from frigid and clear to frigid and major snowstorm yesterday afternoon. I think it affected my mood.

I did make a nice dinner, though--I roasted a turkey breast and made a pan of stuffing and some homemade gravy, plus peas & carrots. Spouse was tickled, I assure you.

After dinner, I cleaned up the kitchen for what felt like the 50th time in three days, and then got my stuff ready for Monday. Snowstorm or no snowstorm, I was going to have to go in, so I got everything lined up for morning, and spent the rest of the evening reading and relaxing before bed.

The one good thing about the weather turning to shit? Weather-related anxiety brain was a nice change of pace from work-related anxiety brain. And at one point in the bad part of the night, my brain managed to imagine some kind of stupid problem, but then it got strange and it was like another part of my brain just "solved" the problem and shut down the anxiety brain completely, and I was able to get another hour of sleep! I wish that happened more often.
Monday was a mixed bag--the commute was awful both ways, but on the other hand, it was a very quiet day at the office. Dinner was accounted for--leftover turkey and gravy, plus mashed potatoes and a veg--so that also made the day easier. And tomorrow, we are both off (I put in for a vacay day last week, thinking I would need it to go get my glasses). The winter storm warning is scheduled through midday tomorrow (Tuesday), but weather permitting, we plan to go see Gary Oldman as Churchill in "Darkest Hour", and have lunch out someplace.




Reading: "The Tangled Threads" (1919) by Eleanor H. Porter. Short story collection.

Listening: Cracker, Talking Heads, Annie Lennox

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib is inked with Diamine Shimmertastic Blue Lightning, the Conklin Duragraph fine nib with the usual Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and the Retro 51 Tornado (White Nickel & Rose Gold) medium nib with Diamine Deep Magenta

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com