rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the hectic season
December 11, 2017, 7:01 P.M.

Well, I am way behind on posts. Busy time of year, at work, at home. Lots of baking, candy-making, and other things to keep me hopping.

I have made, so far this season, 2 fruitcakes, huge batch of peanut clusters, two pounds of chocolate fudge, and batches of the following cookies: Pfeffernüsse, almond crescents, M&M cookies, peanut butter cookies (sugar-sprinkes and blossoms), white chocolate-berry oatmeal cookies, and my special sugar cookies (sugar-sprinkles and iced).

Oh--and three flavors of homemade gummy candies--raspberry, black cherry, and lime.

Since this is basically all I give for presents to my Arizona kin, my dad, and my besties (I may buy the besties a bottle of Costco's version of Bailey's, too. They like that muck.), I can at least take the time I would otherwise spend shopping, and use it for baking. But there is still some shopping to do, so I ordered Spouse two new pairs of pajamas from Penneys (he got a new 40-inch smart TV for his birthday, and his new bed for Veteran's Day, so Christmas ain't gonna be huge. He's getting pajamas, and a new bookcase for his bedroom.) And I ordered the B a set of pet stairs for getting in and out of the new bed, in addition to picking up a nice pad for his crate at Costco on Friday.

I won't deny that I've picked up a few things for myself along the way, but with the exception of the new pen, most of them are just "make my life easier" items: an anti-fatigue mat for in front of my kitchen counter, some spatulas that are a nice size for using with the KitchenAid, a new garlic press.

And for the co-workers, I popped into the Christmas bazaar at the Greek Orthodox Monastery (Nunnery) on Saturday. The sisters make all-natural soaps and lotions, so I picked up some lotions for the team members. I may get them each a nice nail file, as well--always good to have, and not too expensive.

I got a seasonal Christmas scent for the co-workers, and picked up a bottle of the lavender for myself--along with a bar of the lavender-scented goat's milk soap. And I got Spouse a small container of strawberry jam cookies (they have a bakery, too) to share or eat, as he liked. He took them to work today.

I also got all my Christmas cards written, addressed, stamped, and dropped in the mail this weekend--both for the card exchange, and the personal ones.

And of course, in addition to all the seasonal stuff, there is the crap that is always with us--laundry, bills, errands, chores, and the ordinary, everyday shopping.

And considering his energy levels and my IBS issues, we get a surprisingly big percentage of it all done. Not all--at least not on the schedule we'd like--but most. Pick your battles, prioritize, engage in creative scheduling--it'll all get done eventually.

Once I realized I wasn't going to get through my list for the weekend, I picked out a few smaller items that would make good weeknight tasks and saved them for later. So tonight, I will ice the sugar cookies. Tuesday or Wednesday night, I'll put up the tree. At some point I'll do a load of laundry or two.

It'll all get done. And if I work it right, most of it will be fun, instead of feeling like a chore.




Reading: "A Madcap Cruise" (1905), by Oric Bates. A young heir who has yet to come into his funds decides he wants to go to Europe because that's where the girl he's sweet on is at the moment. When his uncle, who controls the money, tells him he can't go, he decides to commit "Grand Theft Yacht-O". He steals his uncle's yacht in order to sail her across. He presents this to the friends he gets to help him as a "lark". I'm only on chapter three--we'll see how this "lark" turns out.

Listening: Christmas music. On the radio, on Pandora, on my computer, on CD, on Youtube--Christmas music everywhere! (I like Christmas music.)

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib is inked with Montblanc Irish green, for Christmas card signing. Of course the Conklin Duragraph fine nib has its usual Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown. And my new Sheaffer Intensity (white barrel w/engraved chrome spiral cap - medium nib) contains the lovely Robert Oster Blue Water Ice.

Despite a misleading photo that led me to believe the metal grip wash brushed, not shiny (Not a big fan of shiny metal grips) and the fact that the cap is too heavy for comfortable posting--I really like it. The nib is smooth, not too broad of a medium, and the ink flow seems to be good.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com