rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















cemetery walk
October 31, 2017, 11:37 A.M.

Friday
Work, then some grocery shopping. Came home and made homemade vegetable soup, which Spouse ruined by deciding to put in the leftover basmati instead of orzo noodles. Made it bland and icky.

I also made a pan of scratch cornbread, which was pretty tasty. Did a load of laundry because I needed my black jeans clean for Saturday.


Saturday
Up early, to a very cold and blustery, slightly rainy, and extremely grey day. Chucked in a load of laundry, then we had coffee, baked up a tube of cinnamon rolls for breakfast, and then got ready for my adventure.

We were well suited up, with hats, gloves, raingear, and comfortable walking shoes on. Had a good drive down to Rogers Park, got slightly lost because my husband thought Ravenswood was going to be a cross street, instead of parallel to the one we were on, but google got us there in plenty of time.

I really enjoyed the very interesting Atlas Obscura tour of Rosehill Cemetery guided by Adam Selzer. It was a good walk, too, around the cemetery for an hour and a half. I felt like I got my workout, no doubt about it. Spouse managed to walk the whole thing, too--slowly, but he did great!

We wanted to go shopping after, in some of the great international markets in the area. But all the stores we stopped at were mobbed to the point of zero parking, so we just stopped at the Polish Deli in Niles for some rye bread and smoked kielbasa, then had lunch at Portillo's before heading back north.

Once in town, stopped at the gas station to fill back up and at Festival to pick up potatoes and pie crust. When we got home, I made a small apple pie, and pre-baked potatoes for Sunday breakfast. Since we had such a late lunch, we just had turkey sandwiches for dinner.

Spouse was exhausted, so he went to bed early and slept hard. I had made the mistake of having a cup of tea while my pie was in the oven, so I didn't get to sleep until around eleven.
Sunday
I slept in a bit on Sunday, then relaxed with a cup of coffee, and gave the B some grooming attention before putting the bacon in to cook. Once it was nearly done, I poured the fat off into the potato skillet and put the bacon back in the oven on some paper towels, to coast to a finish while Spouse did the rest of the meal--and I relaxed. Everything came out well--eggs, potatoes, bacon and even the toast were just right. Then it was Spouse's turn to relax, as I cleaned up the mess and did my usual Sunday morning kitchen cleaning.

I finished up the load I'd started on Saturday, and then we did a little housework and got ourselves pulled together to run over to the Meijer for a few things we needed in the way of general merchandise--dog food, foil, denture tablets, etc. And I started laying in supplies for the fruitcake baking. That stuff is expensive, and I like to spread the costs out over a couple of paychecks. Got a couple of tubs of candied fruit and the cheesecloth this time.

Ran into an old friend who works there and had a brief visit, then headed back home.

That was really our only excursion out. When we got home, I spent a little time looking through my recipes and planning my holiday baking, then I went outside and finished putting away my garden and pool stuff for the season. He spent most of the afternoon reading, and I puttered round on my computer, cleaning up my recipe files and such.

I made meatload, mashed potatoes and green beans for dinner--nothing fancy, but substantial and tasty. Spouse did the dishes, and we just had a quiet evening before prepping for Monday and going to bed. He had a class to take this morning at the airport for his new job--he starts training at the actual employer tomorrow. Employed! Let's hope this one lasts a while.




Reading: In a cursory nod to the the season, I've been reading ghost stories by M.R. James: "Ghost Stories of an Antiquary" (1904), "More Ghost Stories" (1911), and "A Thin Ghost and Others" (1919). Also "The Stoneground Ghost Tales" (1912), by E. G. Swain, who was a contemporary and colleague of James.

Listening: Moon Taxi, Peter Gabriel, Dan Auerbach, The Cure

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib, Iroshizuku Kon Peki, Conklin Duragraph fine nib, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and Pilot Metro, Aqua Retro-Pop, fine nib, inked with a mix of Rohrer & Klingner Blu mare and Pelikan 4001 Turquoise.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com