rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















USAF invades Milwaukee
October 16, 2017, 7:42 P.M.

Friday:
Work. A surprisingly smooth end to the week from hell.

Blood Test--Oh. My. GOODNESS. Using Quest for labs is going to turn out to be hell on earth, but I can't afford not to anymore, so we suck it up, I guess. I made an appointment for 11:30, got there at 11:20, and didn't get out of the waiting room till 11:55. The sole working employee took nearly 20 minutes to enter my data, then got booted out of the system and had to enter it AGAIN. Finally, when I got my blood drawn, that went quick as a wink. She had my vein up, needle inserted, and vial filled in 10 seconds or less. But now, we wait for however long it takes for the results to come back. I hope it's soon; I only have 5 pills left!

When I finally got done, I went on to the next stop: met Spouse at the mechanic. I took my car in for a second opinion on the problem they brought up when I had my oil changed at Anastos, and as I had suspected, there was not anything actually wrong with is. At all. Certainly not $700.00 worth of repairs. I will never buy another car at that car lot, ever again.

Next stop was ShopKo, to take advantage of the phenomenal sale they're having. I spent $232.00, but it was worth it. I bought 2 pair of slacks, 3 sweaters, 2 tops, 8 pairs of socks, and 1 pair of shoes. So it was a good deal.

Spouse wanted lunch, so we went to Culvers for snack packs before heading home. Not exactly a healthy selection, but it was very tasty.

One more stop--dropped $90.00 on B's Apoquel prescription before heading home for some quiet time and rest before dinner. Which was pizza. Ordered from DeRangos, and we all piled into the car for one of B's favorite dog adventures: picking up dinner. Once we got home and ate, Spouse went back to bed and I hung out online for a while before I followed suit.


Saturday: I didn't sleep well, adn woke up at 3:30 to a steady rain. Stayed in bed reading for a while, then got up about 6:00 when Spouse did. He ran to the bakery for some pastries, and after we ate I did a few chores till it was time to get dressed to go up to Milwaukee and meet Spouse's. Air Force buddies for their mini-reunion.

A quick, impersonal recap:
Lunch at Rock Bottom Brewery (20 oz beer), tour of MillerCoors (three free beers afterward), Shaker's ("haunted") Cigar Bar and "ghost tour" (bourbon and coke), torrential downpour all the way home, sandwich, bed.

For those keeping score, that was about 6 month's worth of alcohol consumption. I wasn't planning on drinking alcohol at the bar, but when I found out I'd been signed up for a "ghost tour", I slammed one.

The tour was of the bar itself--from basement to third floor, yet. The setup is that 1. this building was built over a cemetery, 2. it was a Capone-controlled speakeasy and bordello in the 1920's, and 3. it was the site of multiple murders. What it is, is bullshit, and a way to clip tourists, but I went along. Spouse refused, because he was not going to climb up and down old staircases when he could sit on his ass and smoke a cigar. So of course, I wasn't going to be rude and opt out (J had already paid for it.), too. I had a very hard time keeping my tongue--fortunately, the place was lit for atmosphere, and my eyerolls didn't show.

We left by 7:00; our parking was expiring and we had to get home to the dog; who had had a very long day of confinement. And by the time we drove all the way back from Milwaukee in that hellish downpour, we were both exhausted and hungry and grumpy. Dealt with the dog, ate dinner, and went to bed.
Sunday: Slept like shit, felt like shit, and stayed in my nightgown till 3:00 pm. Did get some stuff done, though--all the laundry, plus successfully hunting out some clothes I'd misplaced, and cleaning out all three drawers of my clothes dresser. I ended up with a garbage bag of old, ratty underwear, teeshirts, shorts, and assorted other trash.

We had oatmeal for breakfast, and we were planning on doing the grocery shopping before we met J&B for dinner--but we totally didn't feel like it.

We located a supper club in Hales Corners that seemed like a good place to meet for dinner, so Spouse made a reservation and got things arranged.

And after I got done with all the chores, I spent the afternoon in bed, reading, and Spouse did the same. I would've napped, but sleep didn't come. Got up and had a cup of coffee, then hit the showers about 3:00 and got ready to go. Got to the restaurant about 5:00, got the table and J&B arrived a few minutes later. We had a nice time. I had a nice sirloin & shrimp, Spouse had a ribeye, B had a seafood sampler, and J had...wait for it...liver and onions. With a (gulp) Rob Roy cocktail. Well, if you want to do the supper club thing right, it doesn't get any more retro than that.

Honestly, I thought he was going to weep for joy when he saw liver and onions on the menu. Well, I was glad we picked a place that could make him so happy!

Dinner was great (I stuck to water), and we had a lovely visit. Broke up early, though, as they wanted to go a couple more places and I had to get up for work in the morning. It wasn't a great weekend, but they are all such nice people that I managed to have a nice time despite it being Milwaukee, and horribly rainy, and a smoky cigar bar, and ghost bullshit, and very boozy. Spouse thanked me very sweetly for "indulging" him, but I had some fun, too.




Reading: Still reading "Matriarch: Queen Mary and the House of Windsor" (1984), by Anne Edwards. And only that, actually. Been much too busy for any additional reading. I'm up to the part where George and May became Prince & Princess of Wales. Which isn't really that far into the book, because she still had 52 more years of life ahead of her at the point she became PoW. (PS: Queen Alexandra was a right bitch.)

Listening: Echo & the Bunnymen, The Cure, New Order, Modern English. Pandora; because my usual radio station isn't sufficiently dark and gloomy for my present mood.

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib, Iroshizuku Kon Peki, Hero 616 with Iroshizuku Yama Budo, Conklin Duragraph fine nib, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, Pelikan Stola III w/Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Red--no changes.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com