rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















2017-1963 = me
October 09, 2017, 9:06 P.M.

It was our birthday weekend, so it was a bit more active than weekends have been lately. On Friday after I came home from a grueling morning at work (covering vacation for a co-worker, on top of my own stuff), we went up to Aldi to get some groceries, and then to Festival to pick up a couple things Aldi didn't have. Two grocery stores, gas, a stop at the deli, and home. Once we got home, I embarked on my project of the afternoon: birthday cake. I used a King Arthur Flour recipe for Golden Vanilla Cake, and frosted it with my usual Hershey's Cocoa chocolate frosting recipe. I kept it simpler this year--last year's was pretty fiddly, and a lot of work. This was just a basic frosted layer cake, and I had some autumn-colored Jimmies in my cookie box, so I decorated the top with sprinkles.

It was...just okay. I didn't impress myself, but I am a firm believer in quality ingredients making a difference, and I skimped too much: I think it would have been better if I'd bothered to use cake flour and superfine baker's sugar, but I just used AP and regular granulated. I also think the cocoa from Aldi is not up to my standard--I find it bitter and gritty. (It also be better if I didn't have the worst oven in the world!) Another thing was the recipe--a new recipe, and a new (for me) technique--this was a "paste" style recipe, where you beat the butter together with the dry ingredients, then add the milk and vanilla all at once, and then beat the eggs in one at a time. I would definitely make this again, but next time, I'm upping the butter, and trying some things to boost the vanilla flavor. And maybe another egg, because the ones from Kwik-Trip and Aldi are "large" in name only. And some yellow food coloring to boost the color--I was going to do that this time, but I mislaid my box of food colorings.

But as I said, it was okay! It made Spouse happy, and I really don't like to skip having a birthday cake. It means a lot to him. And making one from scratch is my gift to me--a chance to play around in the kitchen.

Spouse just wanted a ham on rye for dinner, which was great, because I was hogging the kitchen from mid-afternoon into the evening with my cake project.


On Saturday, I was up early, so decided to get in a good walk first thing. After I tended to the dog, I threw on some clothes and went out for about a half- hour. It was slightly rainy and starting to get very windy, so I cut it shorter than I really wanted. I wasn't really bothered by the rain, but the wind was starting to howl and I thought we were going to get a thunderstorm.

When I got home, Spouse was up, so I asked him what sounded good for breakfast, and we came to a mutual conclusion that oatmeal was really what we wanted. Problem was--we'd been to two grocery stores the day before, and forgot oatmeal at both! So I took a quick run to the store and picked up a box, and came home and cooked up a nice pot. We had a little "oatmeal bar"--vanilla, spices, raisins, brown sugar...lots of yummy add-ins. You can tell it's fall--we go into ecstasies over our oatmeal!

We were being lazy after breakfast, and had a nice phone chat with my cousin, and once we had hung up, that's when I sprung my birthday surprise on him: I told him we were going to go buy a new television! I don't remember if I mentioned it, but our 7-year-old 37-inch LG died a few weeks ago, and we've been making due with the small Vizio from the bedroom-- which we both hate. I can't hear the damned thing, it's too small, and it has an easel-type stand that puts it at a really weird angle. For me, though, it isn't too big of a deal, because I don't watch anywhere near the amount of tv he does.

Anyway, he hasn't said a word about replacing it, and I appreciate that. But I have been saving a little bit, to take the sting off getting a new one, and with the birthday coming up, I figured we would set a budget and see what we could find. I definitely wanted to cap it at $300.00, but I had no idea what was available these days.

So we got cleaned up, and made a list of places to look, and set out to comparison shop. Target was our first stop, and we were very unimpressed with the selection and prices. So we went to Costco.

And that's as far as we got, because they had a wonderful 40-inch Samsung smart TV with fabulous sound and picture, for $249.97. Which I bought. We didn't do any other shopping, because all we set out for was a TV and that is all we got.

Took it home, unboxed it and set it up very quickly and easily, and had fun playing with it and all the new features. But we realized something: it sat a lot lower than the old TV, and our sound bar was blocking the remote sensor. So in between loads of laundry, I set myself the task of coming up with a low-cost solution to raise it up about four inches.

Well--if you have a tv or monitor 22 inches or smaller, it is pretty cheap to buy a riser. BUT. Not only is the new TV 40 inches, it also has a very wide, stable stand that measures 11 inches, back-to-front and 30 inches, side-to- side. In that size, options are fewer, and ridiculously expensive. So I got creative, and decided to see how much some short legs would be, that I could screw into a board and make a stand. Well, legs that short are for couches, and because they need to be really strong, they are really expensive. And they would be hard to mount without extra hardware. Scratch that idea.

Then I found it--the perfect plan. A board and four metal baseboard-style doorstops. Screw the doorstops into the board as legs, and voila! A sturdy, inexpensive, custom TV stand.

I would have acted on this immediately, but we had dinner plans, so I put it on hold till Sunday.

I had told Spouse on Friday that I really wanted for us to go out somewhere nice for dinner on our Birthday. I left it to him, and he found a great place--"Michael's on the Lake". It's a nice little steakhouse right on the shore of Eagle Lake in Kansasville, and we had a lovely, laid back dinner with a gorgeous view. It was about a half-hour drive; just far enough to be out of our "rut", and yet not too taxing to get there. (Interestingly, I saw no fewer then FOUR rainbows on the way out there--is it good luck to see a rainbow on your birthday?)

I had a salad, ribeye, baked potato and vegetable (steamed carrots and green beans), and Spouse had prime rib with garlic mashed potatoes and the sale salad and veg. I skipped wine with dinner, but had a cocktail made with apple cider from a local orchard, vodka, and caramel syrup. Crazy good! Spouse had a brandy & coke before dinner, and a beer with. Nice place, nice staff, and excellent food & drink. I want to go back!

We had a refreshing drive home in the cool evening air, and topped off the night with birthday cake, and birthday texts from Niece and Nephew.
On Sunday, the weather was quite gorgeous, but we had a lot to do, so we got started fairly early. I took care of some dog mainenance: cleaned his ears, gave him a sponge bath, clipped his nails, brushed him, and put on his topical medications. Which the little hedonist thoroughly enjoyed, as always. It was make-your-own breakfast day; spouse had fried eggs and English muffins, and I made myself a nice little ham & cheese omelet with some of the deli ham and a few crumbles of gouda--had it with an English muffin, coffee, and some OJ. Then we spent part the morning doing some housecleaning--and I cleaned the inside of my car windshield because frankly, the haze was so bad it wasn't even funny.

And I did some checking online for supplies for my brainchild project, which I told Spouse about and he was completely on board with it. It seemed like Menard's was the best bet to get what I wanted, so when we were done with the cleaning, we hopped in the car and drove over there. They had everything I wanted, exactly, and cheap: 4 doorstops 2-2packs at $2.79 apiece, 1-36x12x1 pine board, $3.99...and 1 can of flat black spray paint (for aesthetics), $3.85. So we came home with our booty, and Spouse spray-painted the board while I tended the last of the wash and prepped the veggies for dinner. While the first coat dried, we put the pot of Chop Suey on to simmer the afternoon away, and then he gave the board a second coat.

At that point, we had to put it aside for a while because Nephew and N-I-L came for a visit. We haven't seen them in MONTHS, so it was delightful to have them stop by. They had birthday cake, and got their Alaska souvenirs, and we had a great visit. But by the time they left, it was after four. So I fed the dog and got the rice cooker going, while Spouse gave the top of the board one more coat. Then he came in and finished the chop suey, and once the rice was done, we had a good dinner (and enough for Monday night, too!)

After we ate, I did the cleanup and he put the legs on the board, and brought it in. We got it in place with the TV on top, and it is just freaking perfect! A sturdy, custom-built riser for a 40-inch television, at a cost of thirteen dollars and forty-two cents. And once you put the TV on top and the soundbar in front, the thing practically disappears. (I do wish he'd waited till today, though--all night long, my whole house reeked of spraypaint!)

I am quite chuffed, though. I think we are both in agreement that it turned out to be a great birthday weekend. What more do you need? A cake, a present, time with loved ones, some cheerful greeting cards...and on top of all that, a nice glow of achievement and sense of pride in your own resourcefulness.
And now that we have a smart TV, I am looking into Britbox or Acorn, because while I have no interest in most streaming services, those two stream BRITISH television, which is a different ballgame. (I just wish one of them offered PANEL SHOWS!)




Reading:As a birthday present, I bought myself "Matriarch: Queen Mary and the House of Windsor", the 1984 biography by Anne Edwards. Got it cheap on Google Play, because it was only $7.52 and I had a $5 credit. I gave up on the Fergus Hume book, and I finished "A Daily Rate" (it wandered from the domestic arrangements plot to the usual GLH religious fervor, but I managed to get through it.)

Listening: Portugal. The Man, Cage the Elephant, Foo Fighters, Harvey Danger. Funny--I haven't heard Flagpole Sitta in 20 years, and then boom--twice in one week!

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib, Iroshizuku Kon Peki, Hero 616 with Iroshizuku Yama Budo, and Conklin Duragraph fine nib, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown--and I added a fourth: the Pelikan Stola III, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Red.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com