rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















even more so (less so?)
October 02, 2017, 9:02 P.M.

If you thought last weekend was uneventful, you ain't seen nothing.

So I went with him on Tuesday for moral support. Made one stop on the way to the doctor's office; I cashed in on my free flu shot voucher from work. Then it was his turn. I didn't go in with him, but he seemed to be glad I came along.

This doctor seems to be actively trying to find a diagnosis; he's ordered tests for a number of things, and each of them has a list of symptoms very much in synch with what Spouse is dealing with. Most of them are pretty benign, too--and I would be overjoyed if it turned out to be nothing more than an easily remedied vitamin deficiency.

I made him go straight to the lab after the appointment, in order to get the bloodwork started. I'm not thrilled that it has to be Quest, though--but the bottom line is, we have to go where it's cheap. We can no longer afford the ridiculous lab charges at Aurora.

I gave him a lecture while we were waiting for the paperwork, and I kind of pounded on him.

I explained that for all practical purposes--at the moment, there is no "insurance".

That he'd already blown through the paltry $1000 per year (for both of us) my employer kicks in for the year, but still hadn't met his $1500 deductible, and that after he did, there would still be at least 20% that I--ME--HIS WIFE have to pay.

That the account behind that debit card we use to pay medical bills isn't some magic fountain of money--it's a savings account I pay into every paycheck, and the balance is only a few thousand, which took me nearly two years to build up, and which he's breezing though at an alarming rate.

I could have slipped him a few more home truths as well, but I held off. I think he understands the situation better now. (I also went up the the check-in with him when he signed in, and finally--I think--convinced them to stop charging him copays, which they keep doing even though we no longer have a PPO plan with copay, and haven't since 01/01/16.)

So we went to Quest, and they siphoned 8 vials of blood out of him, and we went home.

The 8 vials convinced him he was going to die of blood loss, until I flat-out told him he was a big pussy and that even if they took an entire pint, instead of the MAYBE half-a-cup they drew, he would feel next to no ill effects, and if he did feel something, it would be short-lived and mild. People donate blood all the freakin' time, and they go righ back to work after! Damn, he's a hypochondriac milly sometimes.


By the weekend, though, Spouse was sick with a very miserable cold. (Which he's convinced, of course, that he got from the flu shot. Sigh.)

So we took care of just a few necessary errands on Friday after I got home from work. I had appointments that needed keeping (my car got an oil change, my head got a haircut and an eyebrow wax.) They didn't necessarily require him, but heaven forbid he's confronted with proof that I can get along fine without him. We also went to Meijer, and picked up a few groceries and some cold remedies before heading home. I dosed him up and put him to bed, and I spent the rest of the afternoon puttering around the house, trying to be quiet so he could rest.

I did do all the weekend's cooking, because he was sick--who wants to knowingly eat Typhoid Mary's cooking? Friday dinner was meatloaf, mashed potatoes and gravy, and peas, because he wanted comfort food. I wouldn't let him be in the kitchen more than I could help, what with the coughing and sneezing and all, so that meant it was up to me to do all the cleanup, too.

I was very strict with him, because for once, I was in a position to prove to him that colds are easier and go away faster when you actually take care of yourself. I made sure he got loads of fluids, took his medicines, got plenty of rest, and I even changed his toothbrush!

And he was rather taken aback, after a few days of this, to find out that instead of being bogged down in it, with each stage of the cold lasting 3 or 4 days, he actually started getting better!
On Saturday, his cold was at its worst, and I made him spend most of the day in bed, resting.

And I took advantage of not having to go out--I had a no-shoes day, where I puttered around and did chores and made a pot of homemade vegetable-beef soup from scratch, and attempted to make "no-knead bread". Or, as it turned out...home-baked manhole cover. Flat as a piece of paper, heavy as a lead pipe. Utter failure. I can't make bread, but I keep trying. The soup was dynamite, though.

So basically I puttered in the kitchen and did laundry and relaxed a bit, and he slept most of the day, and Saturday passed. I got my Amazon order--I'd bought some baking pans and refills for the Foodsaver. Supposed to come Friday, got there Saturday.
So on Sunday morning, I got up and put the new pans to work. They are Wilton doughnut pans, and I made Barefoot Contessa cinnamon baked doughnuts. They came out very well, but I think her pans must be bigger than mine, because the recipe was supposed to make a dozen and I ended up with a dozen and a half.

Spouse was feeling quite a bit better, so I cleaned up in the kitchen, got some ribs out to thaw for dinner, finished the last load of laundry, brought up some necessaries from the basement storage (coffee pods, a new water filter, dish soap, and paper towels) and then we got cleaned up and ran the errands we needed to catch up with--gassed the car, picked up a few things. Costco for toilet paper, paper towels, catering pans, and half-and-half.

And after that, I had him run me out to Penzey's for replacement spices. I was out of herbes de Provence, Sunny Paris blend, and kosher salt, plus I used up my Indonesian cinnamon making the doughnuts, so I was due for a stop there. Got the unexpected treat of two free bottles of seasonings, just for being on their email list: Fox Point Blend ($9.95 value), which is like a less-herby version of Sunny Paris, and Bangkok Blend ($7.95 value), which I am going to give away to friends, if they want it, since it is full of things I am allergic to (three kinds of red pepper?!). But since I only spent $20.00, it was a big surprise to get gifted with $18 worth of free stuff!

Then we went to Festival for some produce and a few fill-in grocery items. Just that bit of shopping wore him out, even though he stayed in the car at Penzey's. So we went home put things away, and had a sandwich--finished up Friday's meatloaf. He went to rest, and I made a quick rub for the spareribs, then tucked them in the oven for a slow roast at 275 degrees. I didn't attempt anything fancy for dinner--I made the ribs, which came out very tender and nice, and gave them a quick Hawaiian BBQ glaze (from a bottle) to finish. Served with a baked potato, tossed salad and Hawaiian rolls. Very simple and enjoyable, plus not much mess. I did the ribs in a foil pan, and baked potatoes & salad don't require dirtying any pots and pans. I'd thought about baking something for dessert, but we had a lot of leftover doughnuts, plus the ribs were in the oven all afternoon, so I didn't bother.
And that was pretty much the weekend. And when I woke up this morning, it was to find yet another tragedy of gun violence playing out in Las Vegas. My mind flew to my friends there, and and my heart broke for all the victims of this latest mess. On top of a rough day at work, and then getting in my car and turning on my radio, only to hear Tom Petty was dead (which--apparently he wasn't at that point, but he did pass later in the day)--I'm beat. Used up, heartbroken, and ready to fly the white flag. I'm grateful that my LV friends are all safe and sound, but I'm crying for the people who weren't.





Reading: I'm having some trouble getting into anything right now, but I have started a couple of books; remains to be seen if I finish them or not. A Fergus Hume book from 1908, called "The Sacred Herb", and an early (1900) Grace Livingston Hill called "A Daily Rate". So far, I'm successfully looking past the religion, but I'm only on page 75, so that may change. Since this is an early book, I think I can deal with it, since the character it is coming from is an innocent and earnest young woman. And there are other aspects of the story I think are more my style, that help make up for it.

I finished "The Girl Scouts at Miss Allen's School" (1922), by Edith Lavell. I managed to overlook the faculty of the school running a GSA troop by their own rules--which contravened the scouting bylaws, big-time. And it seemed like the issues with one of the characters were all cleared up by the end--not to my satisfaction, but cleared up.

But when I started the third book, "The Girl Scouts at Camp" (the second wasn't available on line), that problem character was right back up to her old tricks. So I decided I'm not in the mood right now. I may come back to the series at some point.

Listening: Tom Petty, of course. Lots of Tom Petty. I feel like my playlist is the Grim Reaper's to-do list these days.

Inked Up: No changes. Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib, Iroshizuku Kon Peki, Hero 616 with Iroshizuku Yama Budo, and Conklin Duragraph fine nib, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com