rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















uneventful
September 25, 2017, 6:54 P.M.

Didn't do much worth talking about this weekend. Gave the dog a bath on Sunday, that was about the limit of excitement. (My life is so dull and boring that bathing the dog actually constitutes excitement.)

Oh, Well. Even if I could afford to do anything fun, I can't think of anything 'fun' I actually would want to do.

It was brutally hot here all weekend--that probably contributed a lot to my lack of enthusiasm. Sadly, it's just like this part of the country to be chilly all summer, and the moment fall begins and you close the pool, summer comes blazing in with 90s temps, humidity, and brutal sun.

I'm taking the day off tomorrow; Spouse has a doctor's appointment, and since I may as well burn some vacation days, I took one in order to go along as "moral support".

I wish I felt more supportive, though--I can't help feeling that he's looking for a doctor to give him a legitimate reason for giving up on working. After all these years, I realize--I didn't marry my dad, I married my fucking mother.

Confession: I really took the day off because the only thing WORSE than spending the day holding his hand? Is spending it at work.

It continues to go downhill in that department. We had a meeting last week to address issues and concerns within my area, and the response from division leadership and from corporate was essentially this: It's all your (the employees') fault if you are unhappy or confused, and if you don't like it, you should probably quit. If you don't quit, you need to shut up.

So I guess that can be taken as official notice that it has become a deeply dysfunctional workplace?

I wish I lived in a world where quitting my job was an option, but clearly--I don't.





Reading: "The Girl Scouts at Miss Allen's School" (1922), by Edith Lavell. At a girl's boarding school with an exclusive sorority, girls set up a Scout troop--out of spite. Yeah, it is weird. I'm only part of the way through, and I understand that the author is setting up a situation with conflict to be resolved later, but so far I don't like any of the characters. Even the ones I feel like I'm kind of supposed to like, or at least root for.

Listening: X Ambassadors, The Call, Foo Fighters, Florence + The Machine. ("Listening" is a strong word. The radio was on. Music was played.)

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib, Iroshizuku Kon Peki, Hero 616 with Iroshizuku Yama Budo, and Conklin Duragraph fine nib, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com