rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















you have no idea how long of a weekend
August 28, 2017,

When I got home on Wednesday, it was with a delicious sigh of relief at the prospect of four days off, and nothing more pressing to be attended to than a dentist visit and a hair appointment. Spouse had the lazies, and didn't feel like cooking, so we ordered takeout: the Wednesday special at DeRango's: the $5.95 fried chicken dinner. Not exactly diet food--but cheap and delicious. We popped the B into the car when we went to pick it up; figured he could use a little excitement.


I slept in a bit on Thursday, then had some breakfast (English muffins with peanut butter and jam) to fortify me before getting ready to go for my dental appointment.

I was looking forward to some time running around town by myself on Thursday, but Spouse (aka "The Limpet") attached himself to me and could not be shaken. So he sat in the car while I went to the bank, while I stopped at the drugstore for a couple things, and while I got a cleaning, three fillings (nothing more drastic was necessary, thank goodness!), and--at the ripe old age of fifty-three, my first fluoride treatment.

Hey--his choice. I never invited him along!

After we got done with all that, he finally got out of the car to run in to Costco with me. I really only needed to pick up my sinus pills, but with him along, it ended up being an actual shopping trip.

Which then became (despite me being numb throughout 75% of my mouth, with a headache brought on from the bright lights and the nearly dislocated jaw in the dental chair) one of his marathon shopping expeditions. Woodman's, then Fresh Thyme, then he had to stop at the school, for something, then Aldi.

Once we got home and got things put away, I went to bed and slept for a couple of hours. Got up at 2:15 because--hooray!--my time was up for the fluoride treatment and I could finally brush that nasty crap off my teeth, and eat something.

I should take a minute to state that overall, I was fairly pleased with Aspen Dental. They were running on time, they were quick, seemed thorough, very friendly, and my fillings went like a breeze. No big gaps while the doctor tended to other patients, either. I've always hated that. In the chair at 9:00 sharp, signing out at 10:20. No lingering after-effects other than some residual soreness from the needles and the jaw being in a bad position.

So anyway--apparently all that tagging along wore him out, because he was too tired to make dinner on Thursday, either. We ran down to El Fuego and got something for supper--he had steak tacos and I had their deluxe nachos, which are frigging incredible. Cheap, easy, quick, and tasty.
Friday: Kind of a repeat of Thursday. He sat in the car while I got my brows waxed and hair cut, then he sat in the car some more, while I went in to pick up my Penney's order.

Again--his choice. I never invited him along! And as my punishment for him tagging along (!!), he dragged me through a bunch more stores, buying shit we don't need and can't afford.

And I spent the afternoon sleeping again.

Mostly, I think, to get away from him. I swear--if I don't get some damned "me time" soon, it is going to get ugly. The worst part is--if I go lay down on my bed, he goes in and takes a nap on his. But if I try to get up and putter around--just to savor a little quiet time, mess with my pens, have a cup of coffee, read my fucking book...whatever...he jumps up and comes into what ever room I'm in and starts getting in my way, turning on that fucking incessant television, blaring a racket of peurile bullshit and disturbing my peace. I really wish somebody could explain to me what the mother-fucking fuck that is all about! It borders on abuse.

I couldn't even catch a break from him by going swimming this week, since it's been so cool that the pool temp has dropped below 80, and that is too damned cold for me.

Anyway, when I got up from my nap on Friday, I knew that he was at least planning on cooking, so I was looking forward to a balanced meal and a quiet evening.

Fuck me, right?

He had invited a dinner guest while I was asleep. AFTER dinner was already in the oven, he invited Niece to come to dinner. Which meant that the chicken and vegetables were already portioned out for two people. Which meant that I got two-thirds of a balanced meal. And a not-so-quiet evening.

It isn't that I don't want to see her and spend time with her--it's just that he KNEW I wanted a quiet evening, since he had made my two days off a living hell of hustle and bustle and having to be OUT instead of IN, and I was looking forward to it.

And he also went out in the yard and set up the fire pit for a bonfire, despite my having a very serious conversation with him earlier in the week about how I really wanted the city ordinance banning fire pits to pass, because I can't tolerate the smoke.

Tell me all this shit isn't on purpose.

Anyway, dinner--what there was of it--was quite delicious, and the log would not stay lit, and Niece went home pretty early. And I stayed up kind of late, because I'd napped, but mostly because he went to bed early.
Saturday, he made hot breakfast sandwiches, and we did some cleaning and laundry. He dragged my ass out to even more stores, for even more shit we needed even less.

Then he had the nerve to ask me "what are you going to bake this weekend?" AND bitch about my choice when I told him I was making a lemon cake...apparently that question was actually supposed to be "what are you going to bake FOR ME this weekend?". Well, then. YOU get banana bread from a Pillsury mix, (slightly overbaked because I'm a spiteful bitch)

I get a scratch-made glazed lemon cake...FOR ONE.

I did, too. Whipped out my little old "mug cake" recipe, and made it up all fancy, JUST FOR ME.

After I finished baking, he started the ribs for dinner in a low oven. He made the ribs and threw some potatoes on to bake, I handled dessert, as previously mentioned, and cooked the sweet corn. It really did turn out to be a fantastic dinner.

One thing I spent way too much time on this week was trying to buy something that is apparently no longer available in any brick-and-mortar store in Eastern Kenosha County: eyeglass nose pads. These are a necessary part of my existence, since they are the only thing that makes it possible for me to where these horrible glasses that I've hated since the day I got them and can't afford to replace.

I used to be able to get them at Walgreens, but apparently it is more important to offer four different options for contact lens cases (available in single, two, four, or six-packs!) than to spare less than three inches of sidecounter for a single facing of nose pads. When I walked out empty-handed, (he was in the car, of course) I shrugged and said "And just like that, my last remaining reason for setting foot into a has Walgreens disappeared." And I mean it, too.

So after searching all over two counties for the stupid little pads that I must put on these horrible eyeglasses in order for them to be wearable, I ended up going online Saturday night, and getting them from Pharmapacks. In fact, I was able to get the superior quality silicone nose pads for my glasses, and at a great price. Plus a list of other special favorite items I would normally have to drive all over town to get—at least at a decent price, anyway: a can of my favorite Gillette Sensitive Skin shave gel, some more of my favorite lip balm, that is no longer available anywhere nearby, a tube of Neutrogena conditioner for my hair--and a bottle of micellar water, because I’ve been hearing wonderful things about it as a facial cleanser. Plus some antiperspirant and body powder for him, since I was paying shipping anyway.

Somebody tell me again about how the mean old internet is killing conventional retail?
Sunday was supposed to be the day I didn't have to put on shoes and leave the house. After Spouse had promised pancakes and failed to deliver, I had English muffins for breakfast, finished the laundry, threw on my old raggedy clothes after a quick shower. Objective? Clean out the front hall closet. I put on my game face and started to go to town on it.

Well, once I got started, Spouse decided he WE were going to have to go out, because the special fluorescent bulb in his bedside lamp had burned out , and he couldn't be having that. And while we were at it, we could take coats to Goodwill and be done.

So now, I can't work at my pace, I have to hurry up and get through all of the coats so we can drop them off. And I can't finish what I set out to do, because as soon as the coats are ready, we gotta go, gotta go! Get your shoes on!

So much for my project. Well, I guess a third of it is better than none, eh?

So off we go. Goodwill, hardware store, head home...halfway there...and all off a sudden we double back and go back to the very place we just left, because he wants to go to the shoe store that is RIGHT in FRONT of the hardware store we were JUST IN, to ask--not look, not shop, not buy--just ASK if they carry steel-toe boots in his extremely difficult size.

I don't even know anymore.

He seemed really down yesterday, and I have a hunch it's because it was his last day off before starting his new job. I even made dinner, which was nothing special--just chicken soup with some dinner rolls. Tasty and all, but certainly nothing fancy. He said it was okay, but made sure to text me and let me know that it didn't agree with his digestive issues.

Well, of course it didn't! But if we are all going to pretend that you aren't lactose intolerant, there are going to be times when there's a cream soup on the menu!

Anyway, I am really bitchy because he really ruined my weekend I only got about 4 hours of sleep last night, so I am just going to stop.





Reading: 'Hildegarde's Harvest' (1897), by Laura E. Richards

Listening: REM, Real Estate, The Police, UB40

Inked Up: The Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib--I drained the J. Herbin Orange Indien back into the vial, and then doctored it with a bit of Pelikan Red before refilling the converter. Result: I still have an orange ink, but it is deeper, richer, wetter, and clearer--all around, quite the improvement!

I also cleaned and put away the Levenger Facets medium nib, and replaced it with my Jin-Hao X750, inked with Iroshizuku Kon Peki. Of course, the Conklin Duragraph fine nib is always inked, always Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com