rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















swirling the drain
August 14, 2017, 8:38 P.M.

There's new baby in the family--my oldest nephew and he wife welcomed their second child, a son, on the eighth. This puts the newest generation on a par with the previous two, with three boys and one girl.

I have mixed feelings about it to be honest. I don't know how you can look around this verkakte world and think for one minute that it is a good idea to bring a human into it. But I get that I am very messed up and other people don't think the world is a hopeless shithole. So, if they're happy, I guess I'm happy for them? It did make me kind of happy that they gave him my little brother's name for a middle name.


FRIDAY Friday after work, we did the shopping and errands, then came home and relaxed before making a quick, early dinner of hotdogs and salads.

We went out again after dinner, to hit up the big ShopKo back-to-school sale, so we could max out $25.00 and donate to a local school supplies drive that was taking place at the Harbor market Saturday morning. Ooh, I am a girl who loves any excuse at all to buy stationery supplies!!

And--we got quite a shocking bit of news--Niece is out of a job, because the family who owns the place where she was working managed to implode again--and like last time, their answer was to suddenly shut down the business with no warning to staff, customers, or suppliers. BAM. Can't cope--shut the place.

Niece is lawyering up.
SATURDAY On Saturday, we did quite a bit of housework and the laundry in the early morning, before taking the school supplies to the farmers market--and picking up a big bag of fresh produce, as well. Then we set off on various, largely unnecessary errands, because Spouse always shops too much. When we got home and put things away, I made cinnamon tea loaf from scratch, because I felt a powerful need to bake something. When consulted on what I should bake, Spouse responded with "Rice Krispy Treats".

Yeah, he's a pretty good cook, but he is totally lost on the baking side of things. When I regained my powers of speech, I gently explained--again--that making RKT is not baking.

And proceeded to make the cinnamon loaf. It's a new recipe, and I was pleased with it. Easy, and nothing in it but pantry staples so it's a good go-to when you hadn't planned to bake.

Niece came to dinner on Saturday, so comfort food was in order: I made meatloaf, Spouse made mashed potatoes with gravy, and fresh farmer's market green beans.
In the morning after breakfast, it was haircut for Spouse and hair dye for me. Then we did all of the yardwork together--mowing, trimming, watering, weeding, and blowing, then I scraped out the underside of the lawnmower and cleaned that up.

Later on, we took the B for a drive when we went to fill the car and run a couple errands, because he loves a car ride. His latest round of meds seems to be helping with the allergy symptoms and outbreaks, but all these meds do take a toll on my poor guy. I like to cheer him up when I can, and nothing perks him up like a car ride with his people.

For Sunday supper, Spouse made a lovely (but a little greasy) homemade chicken soup; he has yet to master defatting his stock, I'm afraid, but it was otherwise quite delicious.
I don't know if my recent anxiety flare has just died down, or if I just have more things under control, or what, but I seem to be sleeping a bit more/better than I have been. I didn't wake up till after three this morning, and was able to doze back off after I went to the bathroom, despite a few "lightning bolt" anxiety zaps going off in my brain. For me, on a Sunday night, that's pretty damned good.

ETA: That didn't last; Monday night was a frigging mess after midnight.

Don't get me wrong--I still feel horribly disheartened and hopeless, given current events. There was a shooting at the local drag strip last night; three guys were gunned down point blank. And of course, the meteoric rise of racist extremism we are seeing right now in this country. I don't know whether to get sad or mad or angry and I end up numb.

Spouse saw the doctor today; he supposedly went in to get checked out and get some recommendations so he can start exercising. I suspect he was actually hoping that the doctor would forbid him to do it. (He fancies himself delicate, now that he is a two-time blood clot patient.) Hah. If he thought that, he has a lot to learn about doctors. He was informed that his heart and lungs are fine, and as long as he starts slow and works his way into it, there is absolutely no reason he can't start a walking routine. Of course, Dr. Pillpusher also wrote him another prescription. Hmph. Spouse whined about not being able to take anything but acetaminophen for pain, so the Dr. prescribed something--I have no idea what, because of COURSE, Spouse couldn't remember what it was called. I will check into it once he picks up the Rx, I guess.

Speaking of Spouse, he got two job interviews for the same company, for different jobs. One was today, the other is scheduled for tomorrow. He had the Tuesday one scheduled first, but they called him and asked if he could come in for the other as well, and they settled on Monday for it. He said he got a good vibe of of it today; he had the basic interview and then a second-level interview right after. He goes back tomorrow morning for the one he originally had scheduled.

ETA: WOOOO-HOOO!!!!!!HE GOT THE JOB!!! HE STARTS THE 28TH!!!! (WHICH job, they aren't sure yet--but they definitely want him!!!)





Reading: Currently struggling with "Carolyn of the Corners" (1918), by Ruth Belmore Endicott, which is a re-read of a book I rather like, but I can't seem to focus my attention. I can't seem to settle to anything. I don't feel like taking in anything new, and I don't even feel like re-reading any old favorites.

Listening: Primitive Radio Gods, Mondo Cozmo, Cold War Kids, Love and Rockets.

Inked Up: I guess I'm boring, because I'm still using these three (when I get the chance, anyway)--Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib, with J. Herbin Lierre Sauvage (Wild Ivy Green), Levenger Facets medium nib, with Seitz-Kreuznach Plum Blue, and Conklin Duragraph fine nib, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com