rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















long weekend
July 31, 2017

I took Friday off last week, semi-spur of the moment. ("Semi", because I have to give at least 24 hours of notice to avoid an "occurrence".) I've been so stressed out and worn to a nub, I really needed a break. Amazing how just one day of being able to opt out of the stress and strife of the commute and the dysfunctional work crap can really perk a body up.

It helped, of course, that we had simply glorious weather--especially for late July. Temps were in the high seventies, humidity & dewpoints were low, and the sun was bright. Add in an uncharacteristic light lake breeze from the northeast, and you couldn't ask for more congenial weather. (And aside from all the stinky skunks in the area, perfect for sleeping with the windows open.)

I took advantage by getting in lots of pool time, and the water was perfect--if the breeze kept the air a bit cool for swimming, oh, well--it beats roasting or steaming, any day. I was in the water multiple times a day each day, vacuuming, working out, or just floating along and relaxing.

Spouse has stepped up a little bit (not enough, though), and last week he actually finished a project I have been chipping away at--clearing out the backlog of cardboard recycling that had accumulated in the basement. I've been trying to get a certain amount to the curb each Wednesday, in order to get the pile reduced. He actually dragged the whole lot up the stairs, packed it in his car, and drove it to the recycling center. I feel like I have a whole new section of house!

Anyway. I woke up early on Friday, and it was perfectly lovely out in the backyard, so I took my coffee out there and I read for a while, listening to the birds and the windchimes, smelling the flowers, and generally chilling. Then I did some laundry, had a morning swim/workout, and then got cleaned up to go out and run our usual weekly errands.

We got home about noon and put away groceries, then I set up a pitcher of sun tea and made a batch of coleslaw, because we had decided to have a cookout- style dinner of grilled burgers, homemade coleslaw (me), homemade baked beans (Spouse), and macaroni salad (store-bought). After we each had a quick sandwich, we went back out because we had an appointment for an oil change at one. Took care of that, ran to Aldi for a couple things we'd overlooked, and then home, for relaxation time. A little more laundry, more pool time, and some general laziness before dinner, and more laziness after, once the mess was cleaned up.


But since we got the errands run on Friday, and the cardboard was what I had planned to work on for Saturday, I found myself with some free time (after a long swim and a few household chores). There are plenty of other things we could have done, but I decided I really wanted to go to Germanfest on Saturday afternoon, since the weather was so lovely.

I got up early again, had coffee, and painted my nails. Then I did a few odds and ends of chores, went for a swim, and got myself showered & dressed.

We drove up to the College Avenue Park-n-Ride, and took the freeway Flyer to the park. With all the stuff that was going on in the area over the weekend, it was MUCH easier than driving down to the Lake and fighting the traffic and parking.

We had fun just walking around and enjoying the food and the music. Kind of aq 70/30 split between basic "fair food" and German selections. I joked to Spouse that it was more "Iowa German" than authentic German, since we had three traditional dishes of my childhood. We had roasted corn and German Chocolate Cake (which was not only not authentic German, it wasn't even authentic "German Chocolate Cake". Wrong consistency, wrong chocolate, a poor version of coconut pecan frosting, and...filling!! Yet, it was still quite delicious.) The other Iowa-style item was the schnitzel sandwich, which, let's face it--was just a pork tenderloin sandwich. Again, well-executed and extremely delicious, but not entirely German.

We also had lemonade shake-ups and currywurst (OMG I LOVE CURRYWURST) and fresh-cut fries, and some amazing local beers. Spouse had the official Germanfest beer and I had the Grapefruit Radler, both from Sprecher's, and they were both really good.

Actually, the grapefruit stuff was AMAZING. I think I'm in love. It was so fresh and delicious and downright delectable, I think I'm in love.

Since the tickets were $30, and the Freeway Flyer was another $14, we didn't load up on merchandise. I took a few pictures; those make the best souvenirs anyway. I made sure I was in at least one photo, too. (This is our little secret, but I am making a point of being in more photographs, because I want my family to have some to choose from when I die and they have to try and put together a memorial board.)

We just ate what we liked, splitting orders, and enjoyed one beer each. Got some free gummi bears from Haribo, enjoyed the oompah bands, enjoyed being at the lakefront, and indulged in the fine old pastime of people-watching. After about three hours, we felt like we were done, so we headed back to the bus. Probably spent about $100, all told.

Could we afford it? Probably not. But I refuse to give up all fun because he is out of work. We have to take some time to enjoy life, and outside of the internet/cable bill, we spend very little on entertainment.

We grazed all afternoon at the festival, but by seven we were both a little hungry so we decided to try the place just down the street that we heard has really good steak tacos. After we checked out their menu online, Spouse ordered a couple of those, and since I just wanted a snack, I ordered the nachos for $4.50, thinking for that price they would just be a small order.

Wrong--it was huge, loaded, hot, fresh and delicious, and we will definitely be going back there again. Cheap, delicious, & convenient? Hell, yes.

And in keeping with my laid-back weekend, I dumped a mini-bottle of moscato (leftover Christmas gift) into a tall glass, then tossed in a wedge of lemon and a can of cold seltzer, for a really outstanding white wine spritzer!

I posted my pictures to facebook, and I was actually pleased enough with the picture of me (Smiling! Happy! Enjoying myself! Letting somebody take my picture without looking as martyred as St. Joan at the stake!) that I did something I hardly ever do--I put it as my profile pic.

Only to get snide comments about it from somebody who I will be expected to forgive, because she is "on the spectrum", and thus, apparently, cannot be expected to not be blunt and borderline nasty? Whatever. She figured out she hurt my feelings after I changed my profile pic again--to a waterfall. Whatever. I've spent my life accommodating everyone else's vulnerabilities, and ignoring my own. High time I acknowledged my own right to have them, for a change.
Slept in a bit on Sunday, then Spouse and I made breakfast. I did the bacon and the toast, he did the eggs and the homefries. Then I cleaned the kitchen and he worked out back a little. Once I was done in the kitchen, I joined him out back and we took on a chore that really needed doing--brush cutting. The neighbor's weed trees were hanging over into our yard and making a mess of my pool, so we trimmed the branches as far back and as high up as we could manage. Not as good a job as I'd like, but as much as we are capable of, and still a definite improvement. Spouse will be hauling the cut branches to the dump today or tomorrow.

After finishing the cutting and watering the flowers, I had a swim and then cleaned up & dressed.

We didn't really need to go anywhere, but Spouse just can't stand staying at home all day (You know what would solve that problem, hon? A FUCKING JOB.) so he made an excuse that he needed something he could only get at one store on the far side of town. So I went along, because it wasn't worth arguing over. I was trying really hard to be in a good, relaxed mood this weekend.

We weren't gone very long. After we came home, I had a nice stretch out on my bed, and read for a while, eventually napping a little. I went swimming when I woke up, then helped Spouse get dinner. Well, I made a salad and set the table. He grilled chops and steamed some basmati rice in the rice cooker. A simple dinner. We had bananas to eat up, so I made small sundaes for dessert with vanilla ice cream, sliced bananas, and chocolate syrup.

After dinner, he went to his room to read and I called my dad--no answer, so I figured I'd try again later and spent a little time with my pens, washing out everything in my pen roll, and starting over. It's always relaxing to do pen maintenance, and to go through the collection and select a fresh group of pens and inks for the week ahead. I posted my selections to tumblr, too--just for the hell of it. I only did three; I think four may be too many for the workload these days.

After that, I called Dad again and we had a nice talk. Yesterday was the third anniversary of Mom's death, and I think he appreciates it if I remember and acknowledge the day. He and L. are keeping pretty busy doing some woodworking and some projects, he loves his new nearing aids, and they are so good that he has re-activated his old smartphone, because now he can hear on it. A good chat for about half an hour, and then an "I love you-goodbye", which always jolts me a little because it is so much different (QUICKER) ending a call with him than it was with mom.

I wish I could say I went to bed and slept well after that, but between the skunkstink, the middle-aged bladder, the hot flashes, and the anxiety brain, I really didn't. I had a hard time getting to sleep, a hard time staying there, and an impossible time getting back to sleep once I was awake. Fortunately, I'd gotten caught up a bit from Thursday night thru Sunday afternoon, so it didn't wipe me out (good thing, too--yet another Monday where I was the only one in the office!), but gracious, I hope I can sleep tonight!





Reading: "The Wood Fire in No. 3" (1905), by F. Hopkinson Smith, and "Bethuel Nose's Nephew", by Joseph Crosby Lincoln. (A short story in the January 1913 issue of Good Housekeeping.)

Listening: The Boomtown Rats, Blur, Foo Fighters, Supertramp

Inked Up:Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib, with J. Herbin Lierre Sauvage (Wild Ivy Green), Levenger Facets medium nib, with Seitz-Kreuznach Plum Blue, and Conklin Duragraph fine nib, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com