rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















ugh.
July 13, 2017

My deadbeat husband decided he wasn’t being enough of a drain on the finances by being unemployed, apparently not eligible for unemployment, and going back to school.

So he had a tooth explode.

After the horrible weather, flooding, and generally shitty day on Monday, Tuesday wasn't too horrible. Until I got home, and he dropped that on me. The worst part is that he sat there acting helpless until I got home and told him to call the dentist. WTF? You're 58 freaking years old, and you can't call a freaking dentist?

It wasn't even 5 pm yet, so I told him to get his ass on the phone and call Aspen Dental (he doesn't have a regular dentist, because he doesn't take care of his teeth and only goes in an emergency, never follows up, and consequently pisses of every dentist he goes to.) He did, they gave him an appointment for the following day, and then I got to listen to him spend the rest of the evening moaning about it.

Of course, HE couldn't eat, so naturally he didn't bother making any dinner. Never mind me, who only gets one meal a day, and that meal IS dinner. I could have cooked myself something, but ended up just having some cheese and crackers, because after a long day, a long commute, and this tooth shit dropped on me as soon as I walked in the door? I was, strangely, not in the mood to go into the kitchen to cook and clean up. So, to sum up, my total intake for the day was a cup of coffee with sugar & cream at 5:00 am, a bottle of seltzer water, and a chunk of cheddar with a handful of Wheat Thins knock-offs around 6:30 pm.

Oh, there was some "good" news from him. He got accepted for a job. Now you may wonder why it is I seem so unenthused? Allow me to explain. This man who cannot stand or walk for long periods of time, who needs to actually earn some money even though he's going to take ONE course a semester in college--was offered a position in retail, as floor personel, for 32 hours a week, no benefits, and $10 an hour.

And he thought A) he could do it, and B) it was okay to accept a job with those terms.


So that was Tuesday. Now, let me tell you about Wednesday.
You know how I mentioned on Monday that we had gotten torrential rains in the early morning hours, with flooding? Turns out that Monday's 5.5 inches of rain IN NINETY MINUTES was merely a warm-up.

Most of SE Wisconsin and NE Illinois was underwater on Wednesday morning. Areas that flooded on Monday flooded again, plus lots of new ones. Including every road in Lake County, Illinois. Including the toll road. Including the RAIL roads.

Because of water on the tollway, traffic was down to one lane out of four and made worse by the fact that the cops were pushing everyone off of the submerged surface roads and ONTO the tollway.

So, naturally, like about 60% of the people who work in that office, I was late (the other 40% never made it in at all). Not too bad, really, considering--only 25 minutes. I come in early to walk on the treadmill, so I had more cushion than some folks.

But--because I work for micro-managing bureaucrats who have no idea of what's going on because they are hundreds of miles away, I almost got written up for it. I had to make it up at the end of the day, or I would have been.

This burns me so bad. I am exceedingly punctual. If I am coming in at all, I will be early (frequently) or on time (I'm actually working on being "just on time", so I don't give free time to the company).

You see, the rules we have in place for these things give a "tardy" of more than ten minutes the same exact weight as an unscheduled absence.
Things I End Up Doing Without Because My Husband Can’t Pull His Own Weight—A List by Me:
New eyeglasses
Dental care
A gym membership
A brace for tendonitis in my thumb

anything new for the hobby that keeps me sane (Fortunately, I can enjoy it pretty fully without actually buying anything new--but I kind of resent this, anyway.)
A dinner out once in a while
STEAK
A decent night's sleep
One freaking MINUTE to myself

And then, of course...there’s my self-respect.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com