rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















rainy windy cold and grey
May 01, 2017

Friday:
Worked late a little, so I could hit all of my Friday deadlines. Got back to town about 1:00 and stopped at the new nail salon near my house for a manicure. Nice place, very friendly, clean, and on the upscale side. I'll go there again.

Spouse had his doc visit at 1:30, so he was home early. Doctor said he was doing fairly well, the clot seemed to be improving, and he prescribed a sleeping pill--which the idiots in his office neglected to send over to the pharmacy, of course. Ugh. That place just keeps getting to be more of a clusterfuck.

We ran up to Racine for dinner; we were both in the mood for Wells Brothers pizza, which is like no other pizza we can find. Since we went early, we were back in Kenosha before seven, so we ran some of our errands: Costco, gas & air (I really need to get that tire fixed!), Fresh Thyme, Petco for Grammy Pot Pies, which are not cheap, but Mr. B seems to be quite hooked on them--then home. Spouse kickstarted laundry.

We dealt with a limping dog all weekend, I don't know if it was from his imflammatory skin issues, or if he just twisted something, but we watched it all weekend and by Sunday he was walking normally again. Still, that is just more stress and anxiety simmering away on the back burner.


Saturday: F&F in Sturtevant to exhange jeans for a smaller size and buy some more new tops. Very picked over, but I found one more of the teeshirts I like, plus two Alfred Dunner tops that were on sale, and a knit tank (hot pink) with an over-blouse of lightweight white seersucker, in a hot pink and yellow floral print. If only I could find more bottoms! I've gone down from a 28-30 to a 26, but until I get down to a 24, I won't be able to shop freely for shorts, pants, or skirts. I guess I'll just have to order those off of Woman Within or something.

Checked for a replacement battery for the weed whacker at Home Depot, but they didn't stock the model we needed, of course.

Then back through Kenosha for the rest of the shopping--stopped at the northside Festival, the northside Aldi's, and the 52nd street Piggly Wiggly, because we had very specific things we wanted at each store. He's such a fussy shopper! Spouse was planning tacos for dinner, so even though we went to Festival where they were having a TACO NIGHT SALE, we had to stop at the Pig because it's the best place in town for real taco meat. And Aldi's had turkey tenderloins on sale, so I had to run in and grap one of those, because Spouse wanted one, but he was starting to fade on me at that point so I left him in the car again.

After we got home, I put everything away, jumped on the computer to order the battery that I couldn't get at Home Depot, and then I was back on the wash, and hard. I ended up getting everything done by about three. While I did that, he started his taco meat, browning and seasoning it before putting it into the slow cooker to spend the afternoon getting tender.

He took a long nap, I took a short one, and then dinner--taco night was fabulous, as usual. He takes it very seriously. That's what comes of never getting into tacos till you are in your thirties--you don't treat them like fast food.
Sunday was supposed to be yard work day--but nobody told mother nature. It rained, stormed, drizzled, blew, and was shivery cold, all frigging day. The grass out back it taller than the dog, but we can't do a damned thing about it for now.

So it was a very laid back day. Honestly--aside from making a nice breakfast (fresh OJ, coffee, butcher shop bacon, eggs to order, and pan-roasted potatoes with shallots and herbs) and a nice dinner (roasted turkey tenderloin, mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy, and peas & carrots), we really didn't do very much. I scrubbed the kitchen floor, he called my aunt. (I wonder if she has noticed that every time he calls her, he is sitting on his ass & talking on the phone--and I am working. She doesn't miss much, so my guess is yeah.) Other than that, it was reading, napping, internetting and generally being lazy. Which, frankly, we both needed really badly. We are both chronically achy, cold, sleep-deprived, anxious, over-worked, old, and generally stretched thin.

At least I am trying to lose weight (about thirty pounds so far this year) and get into better shape. He seems to be content to become an elderly, poorly, fretful geezer.





Reading: "The Man From Ashaluna" (1920), by Henry Payson Dowst. WWI hero comes home, settles down to his hill country farming life, along with hand-crafting his patented butter churn and nursing a secret desire to become an artist. He rescues a beautiful and slightly mysterious city girl, and I am not going to give anything else away but the main character is absurdly likable, mildly infuriating, and kind of a delight. Plus there are secondary characters who are interesting and enjoyable, as well.(available for free on Google books)

Listening: OCR of RENT. A lot. Like, about four or five times all the way through, in this past week. It just seems to be scratching my itch.

Inked Up: The Retro 51 Tornado/Iroshizuku Kon-Peki, the Conklin Duragraph/Pelikan Brilliant Brown, the Monteverde Artista/Pelikan Pink, and the Bulow-Branded X450/Monteverde Burgundy. These are all solid performers; I don't have any time for prima-donnas this week.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com