rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















blind-sidinged
April 03, 2017

Siding guy came by on Tuesday the 28th, to pick up our signed paperwork & deposit. Then, suddenly, out of the blue the next morning, he called Spouse and said he was ready to do it right away, because he had a cancellation. And Spouse, being himself, didn't say to the guy, "I'm sorry--but my wife and I are both miles away, and can't leave work on such short notice". No, he ducked out on work and zipped home to meet them. So I came home to new siding on Wednesday after work. And to an extra $600 on the bill, and to NO FREAKING CANOPY OVER MY FRONT DOOR.

Apparently, it was beyond their powers of deduction to figure that if they were replacing 45-year-old aluminum siding with brand new vinyl, they would need new fascia boards! So they didn't take that into account in the estimate. And as for my door canopy, well, it was in the way, so it had to come down. From my research, replacing that will take the total up by another $400, to a grand over the estimate. AND he had the gall to ask Spouse to do him a favor and get him new tools at cost--which my spineless Spouse went and did.

Honestly, I don't know which one of them pissed me off more.

One good thing came of the canopy debacle--it forced Spouse to buy a new mailbox, since the old one was no longer protected from the rain, and it was so beaten up that it wasn't waterproof anymore. And he bought the one I wanted--even though it was fifty bucks. I love it--it's capacious, well-built, dry, has a big front slot with a spring-loaded flap, and a big front access door with a decent lock on it.

And he's been advised by me that he is going to have to replace the front porch light, too!

We will put up a new door awning, but we have to wait to get it till Memorial Day, since Spouse thinks he can get a veteran's discount at Lowe's.

That said, the siding looks good. Makes the rest of the house look like shit, of course, but one step at a time, I guess. Goes nice with the roof we put up last year.


So, last week I felt like I wasn't depressed, but was acting pretty much like I was depressed. I think I have that figured out--all the time I've been thinking that my job sucked becasue I was in a major depression and EVERYTHING sucked...I was wrong.

No, my job sucks just fine, all on its own. I am having a hell of a time with the current work load, both the amount and the type of work. And then there are the horrible people with whom and for whom I have to work. It's got me going crazy and I just don't know what I can do. I really don't think it is possible for me to find another job that can pay me what I need to make, and I haven't actively job hunted in nearly thirty years (I got in where I am through a friend back in the mid-90s), so I don't even know how. But at this point, I am not sure either me or the job is going to last much longer, so I need to do something.
Change of subject. I bought myself a cordless rechargeable scrubbing brush on Saturday. I had a gift card from Target to burn, and I figured that took the thing down to the level of "if it's shit, I won't be upset."

I rather like it, actually. I gave the bathroom a comprehensive cleaning on Sunday, and it was a HUGE help. Glad I bought it; hope it holds up. I don't usually buy anything "as seen on TV", but I have been wanting a power scrubber, and that is the only one I could find.

We had kind of an odd weekend, acually. B had a vet appointment on Saturday at 11:00, which meant we were home in the morning, for a change. I seized the opportunity to get the laundry caught up and we did quite a bit of the general chores and household "to-do" list items, to get them out of the way.

B's appointment was for his spring round of shots and meds, for boarding. Poor pupper. He had to get four shots--two flu strains, boardatella, and heartworm. Plus a flea and tick chewable. Doc said he's doing pretty well, and I am doing a decent job of keeping his skin issues under control.

Since we didn't get our grocery shopping done till after noon on the first of the month, it was a good thing we didn't need too much! The stores were pretty picked. And by the time we did Costco Gas, Target, Fresh Thyme, Lowe's, and Festival, we were knackered. It turned out to be a nice, sunny day, so we decided to have a cookout for dinner--bratwurst, Italian sausage, and some deli salads and baked beans. Tasted like summer.

Sunday, we were expecting the contractor to come by and pick up his money, so we just hung out all morning. I made some tube cinnamon rolls, and Spouse put a corned beef dinner into the slow-cooker, and we both caught up on chores some more. As I said, my project was the bathroom, and I got it sparkling. Spouse put up the new mail box, worked on his car, and took a nap. And I washed some rugs and assorted stuff. Cleaned pens. Just had a very chilled-out, yet productive weekend, really.





Reading: Mostly starting things I don't finish, and dipping into old favorites for the odd passage or two. I seem to be lacking the drive to read at the moment.

Listening:

Inked Up: The Retro 51 Tornado/Iroshizuku Kon-Peki and the Conklin Duragraph / Pelikan Brilliant Brown, but I cleaned out the Duke and the Waterman, and filled up my Pilot Metro with R&K Solferino, instead.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com