rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















life experience, I guess
February 09, 2017

Pardon the lack of recent entries; a total case of "too busy doing life to write about it". Mainly working. Hard. A LOT. Kinda crazy right now.

Also: saying goodbye to the Buick, settling the claim, buying another car (see below), and going to court (also see below).

So. The car. A 2008 Chevrolet Impala LT with the a 3.5 liter V6, and a 4-speed transmission. Imperial Blue (A/K/A navy blue, A/K/A NOT SILVER!), with a fairly hideous cream and brown interior. Tilt/Cruise/Air, and one hell of a good heater. Remote start, tire sensors, stereo with aux jack. Needs new key fobs. Excellent service records, clean carfax, 89,000 miles. New tires, new brakes. Freshly serviced transmission and oil change. Passed a 172-point inspection, with flying colors. We had to dip into savings a bit, but the very generous settlement on the Buick covered most of it, and no money is owed.

And the court appearance: I didn't contest, but the violation is a mandatory court appearance, which was yesterday at 8:30 am. It went well; the courtroom doors opened at 8:30, I was the fifth case called, pled no contest, and since I was insured and had a clean record, the judge waived the points and all other penalties except the fine. I stopped at the clerk's office on the way out and wrote them a check for the $98.80, and was back in my car...at 8:45. (Yeah, they were WHIZZING people through that courtroom!).

I had never had to do that sort of thing, before, and had no idea of what to expect. The worst form of torture, in other words. If there is one thing calculated to drive me 'round the bend, it is not having a full and complete understanding of what to expect. Well, now I've had the experience, and I know. And I hope I never need to know it ever again.

I have been doing pretty well with eating a lot less, and with cutting way down on carbs, but yesterday I kind of had a carbs binge--brioche toast for breakfast, a huge helping of pasta for lunch, a baked potato with dinner, and a double-chocolate muffin. I think I was having the food addict's version of a knees-up; after being stressed to the max for three weeks about the court thing, I needed to let my hair down a little. Made me feel really queasy, though. Partly because of what I ate, but also because of how much--I just plain ate a lot yesterday. Way more than I'm used to.

I tried to take a nap, but I'm going through a bad patch with my sleeping lately; even with doing the guided meditations, I am having trouble falling asleep and staying asleep. Too much on my mind. Work, the accident aftermath, and, not to be forgotten--the hideous wreckage of a once-proud federal government.

And to top it off, we found out today that there was an explosion aboard the ship we are planning on cruising to Alaska on. It's in New Zealand now, and they were filling an inflatable boat when the gas cylinder they were using exploded. Sadly, it killed a crew member.

Here's something interesting, pen-wise: SPOUSE brought up the 2017 Chicago Pen Show the other day! Apparently there was a commercial for it on the old-fogey talk radio station he listens to. May 4th-8th, at the same place as last year (Marriott in Hoffman Estates). I will take his bringing it up as a tacit agreement that he will be taking me there again this year. I want one of three options this year: a restored vintage pen (Parker 51 would be first choice, but sooo spendy), a custom nib grind, or a brand-new pen with a price-point in the $100-$250 range. Better start saving some coin towards a possible purchase! Because he is NOT going to take me to a pen show, and then tell me I can't spend anything on pens. Uh-Uh. Nope. No way.



Reading: "The Leaven of Love", (1908) by Clara Louise Burnham, "Dear Enemy" (1915), by Jean Webster, "Cowardice Court" (1906), by George Barr McCutcheon.

Listening: Echo & The Bunnymen, Pixies, Talk Talk, The Cure, The Church, Peter Murphy, Joy Division. These Goths nowadays...they don't even know.

Inked Up: No changes: The Conklin/ R&K Solferino,the Marquis by Waterford Claria/Pelikan 4001 Turquoise, and the Sheaffer Javelin/Monteverde Burgundy. Update on the Claria: not only slippery as hell to hold onto, with a scratchy nib, but also a hard starter and skippy AF.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com