rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pretty big decision
September 12, 2016

I've had it with the Zoloft, and I have made the decision to wean myself off of it. It has proven itself to be all side-effects and no benefit. If I wanted to sit around being stupid, sad, numb, tired, forgetful, fat, gassy, and apathetic, I have proven that I can be all those things without the use of drugs.

BUT. Since there are almost as many adverse side-effects to quitting as there are to using this particular pharmaceutical miracle...I have do it slowly and gradually.

In other pharma news, as it pertains to me--I have to stop taking biotin, as it apparently screws up the test results for T4, and makes it show a false high.


Things I did this weekend:
a bare minimum of shopping, a bare minimum of laundry, a bare minimum of housekeeping, a bare minimum of yardwork...and some stuff in the kitchen. Friday night, I baked a coffee cake to have for Saturday breakfast, and then on Sunday I baked a small yellow cake (actually, a poundcake recipe) and frosted it with some of my chocolate buttercream. This is an old favorite of the Spouse, "just like momma used to...buy at the Polish bakery".

On Saturday, Spouse and I experimented with making bourbon-soaked cherries. Since they are rather like pickles, in that you have to give them time to get well-soaked--we won't know the results for a couple of weeks, at least. But they were easy to do.

Cooking-wise, he made dinner on Saturday (pot roast) I made breakfast on Sunday (bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns and toast), and we made dinner together on Sunday night (pressure cooker BBQ chicken, tossed salad, and hot rolls)





Reading: "Blue-grass and Broadway" (1918), by Maria Thompson Daviess

Listening: One of those days where the music is on, but I am not listening--I couldn't even tell you what was playing today. I'm just not hearing it.

Inked Up: I cleaned out the Sheaffer Javelin and the Waterman Kultur and put them away--didn't ink up anything new, because I was up to 6 pens going before I wrote those two dry. Now it is the Conklin Duragraph/Pelikan Brilliant Brown, the Ohto Tasche/Pelikan Pink, the Skilcraft Executive/Monteverde Burgundy, and the Monteverde Artista/J. Herbin Lierre Sauvage. Once I empty out the Tasche, I will probably bring the Javelin back into rotation, inked up with something more lively than blue-black.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com