rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















9-22-16 Pt. 1 the usual stuff
August 22, 2016

Friday: After a frenzied morning at work, I stopped at the Wendy's drive-thru for some lunch, then came home, ate, relaxed, read my book, napped. Spouse picked up Chinese food for dinner, and we all had a quiet night and an early bed.


Saturday, I slept in (after taking care of the dog at his usual time), and Spouse ran to the bakery for some rolls, and did some light housekeeping. Once I was up, set to work on the laundry right away, then I sat down and had my had coffee and pastry. 

I felt absolved from helping more with the housework this week, since I had done my share on Wednesday--I took a vacation day, and spent it scouring the entire bathroom, top to bottom, plus washing bedding and rugs, and making the beds up nice and fresh--with a time out to catch up on some mending!!

After breakfast I got cleaned up and we went to do the usual shopping. Costco, Festival, and Walgreens, then home to put it all away.

After grabbing a bite to eat, Spouse went out to get started on the mowing, and I got my bake on, making a batch of chocolate chip cookies. The yard work was interrupted about three quarters of the way through, by a sudden and sodden cloudburst, so spouse came in, dried off, and took it easy for bit. by the time I'd finished my cookies, and gotten the laundry close to the finish line, I sat down to read until it was time to make dinner. 

I'd planned to make a meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and peas.  But Spouse decided at about 4:00 pm that he would prefer to go out--to Portillo's, for an Italian beef. Frankly, I really didn't feel like a 30-mile round-trip just to get a sandwich. But since I was even less in the mood to make dinner, I indulged him. 

The weather had broken during the afternoon--the cloudburst was followed by a cold front, a drop in humidity, and late-afternoon sun. Gorgeous!  Once we made it home from Gurnee, I threw open all the windows and turned on the fans, while Spouse seized the opportunity to finish that last little bit of lawn.

Then cookies and milk for dessert, and another quiet evening.
On Sunday, I was the one who got up early, and was doing a bit of online research into a potential purchase. Spouse made breakfast (sausage and eggs, toast and home fries), and I cleaned up after, gave my kitchen its Sunday scrub-up, and did a little more laundry, then showered and dressed. 

Spouse did his weekly car maintenance, and then he was ready to go out, because we had to fill up my car, pick up a couple of things we forgot to get on Saturday--and there was one more errand. If anyone would like to know what it was, and about the rest of my weekend, they'll have to click ahead. I thought the rest of my Sunday deserved its own post.



 

Reading: The Pixie Books, by Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey "Pixie O'Shaughnessy" (1902), "More About Pixie" (1903), and "The Love Affairs of Pixie" (1914)

Listening: The National, Arctic Monkeys, The Black Keys, Of Monsters and Men

Inked Up: click back twice; nothing has changed. I barely have time to PICK up a pen, let alone INK up a pen.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com