rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















another week gone by
August 08, 2016, 7:47 P.M.

Nothing too important to put down, really. Totally unexciting weekend--very run-of-the-mill (just the way I like it!).

Friday:
I have been craving REAL fettucine Alfredo for about a month, so I stopped to pick up the noodles and the cheese, and went home & made myself some for lunch, Damn, was it good.

Took a nice, snuggly nap with the B.

Pen maintenance. I cleaned out the Jetpens Chibi 2 Mini and the Levenger Facets, and inked up the JinHao X750 (shimmering sands, medium nib) with R&K Solferino, for my buttery go-to this week. And I thought the J. Herbin Orange Indien was not showing its best side in a fine nib, so I popped the cartridge into my Delta Serena (red shimmer, medium nib.) It certainly helped the ink, but I remain disappointed in my broad nibbed Delta. I don't know--maybe broad nibs and stub nibs just don't work very well for lefties?

I also thought I would convert the Chibi to an eyedropper--yeah, well. I missed that tiny breather hole in the end, and had a little ink-cident. Well, ink gore, really. Thank goodness for bleach spray! I changed my mind about the conversion, needless to say. On reflection, even if I plugged the hole, I'd not trust it. Plus, it only has a snap-cap. Too much leak potential on that end, as well.

Went to Friday night dinner at DeRango's with my hubby. Pasta was very good, as usual, but the Pinot Grigio was a bit stale/sour-tasting, and the wait for our food was long. They were swamped, though. (Yes, I had fettucine Alfredo for lunch, and spaghetti marinara for dinner. Sue me.)


Saturday:
Had McDonalds for breakfast, took a morning swim, did laundry, did the shopping, put all the shopping away, chunked up a watermelon, did assorted housework, replaced the bathroom bulbs with LED. Made salads and shucked sweet corn for dinner (Spouse made BBQ chicken again, this time finishing it over charcoal and hickory wood for a ice, smoky flavor). Shocked the pool, watered the flowers, played with the dog, napped.

In the evening, I went shopping on Amazon, and bought some new music--AT LONG LAST! I haven't made a non-Christmas music purchase, for me, with my own money, since at LEAST 2009. Seriously--buying gifts, adding to my Christmas music collection, and using up gift cards aside, the last music I bought for myself was "Stop Drop and Roll" (Foxboro Hot Tubs).

After I made my purchases, I tackled a project--pulling everything off my music thumb drive. I'd originally set it up to keep in the car, but I made the mistake of downloading the JVC formatting software, and trying to use it to set up my collection. And since it is absolute garbage, it ended up making it impossible to access the music properly. So I deleted the software, unfoldered all my songs, and added the new purchases plus some other stuff I wanted on there, and I'm just going for a straight, song-by-song, alphabetical-by-title format.

And when I got done, it was nearly midnight--so I went to bed.
Sunday--Spouse made breakfast (Spam, eggs, toast, and hash browns) and cleaned up after, I finished the laundry and--because I'd mentioned over breakfast what I'd done to straighten out my USB--he handed me his and asked me to do the same for him. Once I was done with that, I made him a pan of Rice Krispie Treats, cleaned up the mess, and then I went out for a swim. And quikly decided I wanted to vacuum the pool. I came in when my back started to turn red, and got cleaned up and dressed. We went filled and washed the car, went to Costco for a new vacuum cleaner, and ran up to the new Festival for a couple things, before heading back home.

The $80 Eureka vacuum we bought just a little over a year ago died on us right before the Boy came to stay wuth us. We had been getting along with the old Bissell out of the basement, but we needed a new one. Costco had a very nice little Hoover on sale for $79.95--the difference being, this wasn't an $80.00 vac--it was a $129.00 vac, on sale for $80.00. The new one has lots of useful features, and it is a good size for our itsy-bitsy house.

So when we got home, we put it together and vacuumed all the floors. It did a nice job. I think it's a good buy, but you never know, these days.

We relaxed in the afternoon; I read for a while, and went out swimming a second time. It started to get seriously cloudy, so I covered the pool. But we didn't get any rain, so I watered again. The grass really didn't need mowing this week, so we let it slide.

Spouse and I made pressure-cooker pot roast for dinner; I peeled the potatoes and carrots, and he did the rest. It was delicious, but I'm afraid it didn't sit well with any of us, all three of us were icky-sicky last night and this morning.

I did my Monday morning prep, worked on tumblr content, and hit the hay--another weekend gone.





Reading: "The Rosie World" (1914), by Parker Fillmore and "The Siege of the Seven Suitors" (1910), by Meredith Nicholson

Listening: Houndmouth, Hozier, Fitz and the Tantrums, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes

Inked Up: As I mentioned above, I have J. Herbin Orange Indien in the Delta Serena broad nib, R&K Solferino in the JinHao X750 shimmering sands, medium nib, plus I have the Javelin, the Duragraph, and the Ohto Tasche still inked up.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com