rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















that was exhausting
July 11, 2016

Kind of a wearying weekend. I pounded through the laundry and shopping on Saturday so I could get it out of the way and focus on my housecleaning--and then, about 3:30 on Saturday afternoon, I got a call from the besties.

They had been in a car wreck--somebody had blown through a stop sign and they t-boned 'em.  They had gone to the hospital by ambulance, the car was towed, and they were stuck at the hospital with no way home. Well, of course I jumped in the car and ran out there to pick them up.

They were okay, although pretty bruised and battered from the airbags, seatbelts and the impact itself, and--WTF--does no one treat anybody for shock anymore?! They were barely coherent--I can't believe the hospital just dismissed them without waiting for somebody to pick them up! I found them standing in the sun, on the curb outside  emergency, like a couple of forlorn orphans. Jeez.

So I got them home, helped them call the towing company, talked them through filing their claim, made sure they had everything they needed, made them take their medicine, and assured W that she would have a ride to work on Monday, which she was kind of panicky about--no big deal, if she didn't mind getting there an hour early. I'd just pick her up about 5:00 and run her up there before I went to work. Since they had their accident on Saturday afternoon, there was no way they were getting a rental till after 8:00 on Monday, so she was freaking. At least her insurance arranged for Hertz to deliver a rental to their house, so T could pick her up. They were calmer and more clear-headed when I went home.

Once I got home, it was high time for dinner, so I made a nice salad, and Spouse threw some chicken burgers on the grill. Made a nice, light summer meal. SPouse had his on a bun, with BBQ sauce, but I just cut mine up and put it in my salad, with a little Asian Sesame dressing.

After dinner, I did my nails--couldn't decide on one color, so I did five. Seriously. One finger each hand, in pink, blue, green, orange and lilac. I think it came out really awesome, and lots of fun. I gotta be a little weird, once in a while.


On Sunday morning, I did the final round of cleaning out and cleaning up my room--it's  looking pretty decent at this point, if a little shabby. I washed the throw rugs, brushed down the ceiling and walls, cleaned the floorboards and baseboards, washed the wall around the light switch, dusted the furniture, and fixed the headboard on the bed, plus I got rid of the last of the junk, and took a bunch of other stuff to the basement. I really need to get some kind of art for the walls, though. With all the clutter gone, they look especially bare. Maybe I'll stop at Meijer or Wally's this week and see what I can find. (it seems so spacious in there, though!) I will wash up all the bedding and and make the bed up fresh on Saturday morning, so it is ready for the kid.

Amazingly, there is NOTHING hanging on my door! I couldn't get it all into my tiny closet, though--I had to hang some of the winter stuff in the basement for now, but that is no big  deal. 

There is still so much to be done, though--for some inexplicable reason, Spouse decided that we had to have the air off and the windows opened yesterday, and if you think I have energy issues normally--try me when I've got rivers of sweat rolling off me! And when you are sweeping and dusting, you can't even have the fan running.  It wiped me out, and I wasn't able to get nearly as much done as I wanted.  

And Spouse punked out on cleaning HIS room altogether. On Saturday, while I was helping out W&T, he could have been cleaning--but he decided it was more important to install a new stereo in his car.  And on Sunday--well, trimming, weeding, and hedge-clipping that he'd been putting off all summer just HAD to get done THAT VERY MINUTE--so naturally, he was hot and tired and too worn out to clean, too. So I guess it is up to me to deal with the heavy cleaning of his room, the dining room, the living room, and the basement--along with the regular cleaning of the bathroom and the kitchen. And vacuuming the pool, mowing the back yard...

So what else is new. It never fails. HE invites company, I have to bust MY ass to get ready for it--all while working full days at the office. 

Anyway, once we got our morning's work done, we took a dip in the pool, and ran a few errands. I checked to see if the besties needed anything, and so we dropped off a few necessities on the way home. Once we got home, I did a bit more work in the house, and Spouse wrapped up some weed-killing out front.  After that, it was clear that Spouse was all used up, and wasn't going to be cleaning anything. I was too tired to fight for the right to make myself more tired, so I let it slide, and took a nap in front of the fan. 

Got up in time to feed the dog at 4:15, and by five, Spouse was throwing burgers on the grill for dinner. We had those with some deli salads, and after we ate, I went out and covered the grill, mixed up some plant food & watered the plants, and brought my stuff in off the clothesline. While I was doing that, Spouse took a shower, and once I came in, I did as well, to cool off and freshen up. Then it was just a quiet evening and early bed.
Oh, yeah. He started his new job today. It went well, I think--he got there way early, since he wasn't sure how long it would take him. It isn't like they are going to kill you with work on your first day, anyway. We'll see how it goes once he's thoroughly sick of commuting.



 

Reading: "Agatha's Aunt" (1920), by Harriet Lummis Smith (free on Googlebooks). Fiery red-headed beauty Agatha is 19, poor, orphaned, and saddled with a decrepit house, a poor relation spinster chaperone, and a 16-year-old stepbrother whom she is determined to get educated. To that end, Agatha decides to take in boarders, and when a misunderstanding sends her a temporarily blind bachelor who thinks she is her own (deceased) great-aunt Agatha, she decides he would be the perfect boarder: he's willing to pay a lot because a blind man would be more bother, he can hire the services of the stepbrother as an assistant, and best of all, he can't see the decayed state of the house!  So she pretends to be her elderly aunt, and takes the blind guy in. In more ways than one. And, of course, it all goes hilariously sideways.

Listening:Death Cab for Cutie, Everlast, Cold War Kids

Inked Up: the regulars--Duragraph and Javelin,  plus the newest newbies--Ohto  Tasche fine nib in pale pink, with Pelikan 4001 Pink, and Jetpens Chibi 2 clear demonstrator  fine nib, with J. Herbin Orange Indien. These are both little pens, but (barely) qualify as full-sized when posted.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com