rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















largely uneventful
May 31, 2016

The long weekend felt strangely unstructured--on Friday, after work, I unsnarled some confusion with the doctor's office over my thyroid prescription (they sent in a refill auth, but I had to promise to come in for my bloodwork), then I treated myself by poking around a second-hand store for a while (didn't buy anything), then going for a long- overdue manicure. Went home, took a nap, and then got cleaned up to go out to Ashling on the Lough for dinner (I had a half of Magner's and the cottage pie--YUM.), then we went out to Meijer and did the grocery shopping. Came home and opened the package that had arrived--my two skirts and two tops from Woman Within. I love them! Fit great, super-cute, and super-comfy.


On Saturday, we ran the dog to the vet for his last flu booster, and a flea & tick treatment (Bravecto). Now he should be all caught up with everything he's required to have for boarding.

Once we were done with that, we took him home and went to Costco, where I ran into trouble using my HSA debit card, because they required a pin, which I never set up on my card. (Ended up paying for it, and going online to set up a check reimbursement.) *

After that, we stopped and got all the stuff we forgot at the grocery store the night before, and then went home. I was planning on getting the laundry done, but the washer drain had other ideas, and backed up on me on my first load. So we both decided to just be lazy and relax all afternoon. Spouse made Korean-style BBQ short ribs and vegetables over basmati rice for dinner, and it was delicious--and enough left over to freeze for another dinner.


*Turns out, Costco is the only pharmacy that makes you use a pin with the card. And since that stupid, greedy-assed bank my company uses for the health savings accounts wants a two-buck fee every time you punch in a PIN, I said fluck it--I'll just keep submitting the charges online and getting my money back via check.
On Sunday, I made Spouse a plate of scrambled eggs and toast at his request, and for myself I made an omelet with sauteed veggies, ham, and sharp cheddar. Then I cleaned up and puttered around doing chores until he mowed the lawn.

When he finished with the grass, we went to the pool store for some stuff we needed, and then to Menards, for drain cleaner and birdseed--and some plants. I bought 3 hanging baskets (zinnias) and a couple of planters with a mixed planting. When we got home, we worked on getting the pool set up--lots of extra work this year, as we had to install a new filter. And by the time we got done with everything, in the midday sun and heat, we had both made ourselves sick. So we spent the rest of the afternoon taking turns in the bathroom, and decided that the dinner we'd planned could wait till Monday. I ended up having a bowl of cornflakes and bananas, and he heated up a pot pie. And we kept after the washer drain, because boy, was it a stubborn clog.
Monday morning, we dropped off the Buick for a complete detailing, then grabbed breakfast at McDonalds, and kicked around at home until it was finished--took about three hours. I had to kick into gear on the laundry, becauseI still had thee loads, minimum, I had to get done for the work week. Thank goodness, the drain was finally cleared. And when we picked up the car, Spouse noticed I had a headlight out, so he ran to Autozone and got a bulb, then came home and put it in--for approximately $183.00 LESS than the dealership would have charged for it. The official GM line is that you have to drop the bumper to change the headlights in a 2005 LaCrosse. And the truth is--if your hands aren't perfectly enormous, and you have a bit of dexterity--you can do it in 5 minutes, WITHOUT dropping the bumper. Not to mention the fact that the exact same Sylvania bulb it came out of the factory with is $15.00 at Autozone--and the dealer will beat you up to the tune of $54.95 for it.

So once he'd fixed it, and I put all my gear back in the Buick, I finished the laundry and everyone had a nap before it was time to make dinner--strip steaks over cowboy charcoal, baked potatoes, and steamed corn-on-the-cob. And once the dishes were done up, it was time to go do all my prep for morning, and get ready to start the work week.
Other stuff:
Spouse is going after a work opportunity; they have a position open in the egineering department with a job description that reads like a combination of his current job, his resume, and his performance review. After talking to his supervisor and the facility manage, he's going to go after it. It would be more money, and a position within engineering, but still be very much like what he does now--which he loves. He applied for it, so he can learn more about it. It could possibly mean he would have to work at HQ, in the Chicago suburbs, so we'll see how it goes. Management in his current job are very much behind him, so if he decided he didn't want it, he'd still have his same job, no problem.

I couldn't figure out why I hadn't heard anything from my dad--he was supposed to be coming back to the midwest on the 25th. Well, a call to my cousin clued me in: he left his phone in Arizona. So cousin was shipping it for him--but of course, it has to go by UPS ground because of the battery, and with the holiday weekend, he probably won't get it until tomorrow at the earliest. Leave it to Dad. (I did see pictures on Fb of him with his great-grandkids, so I know he got back okay!)

The new rose is blooming! The rosebush we planted on Mother's Day went nuts this weekend and popped five blooms in 24 hours. It smells heavenly.





Reading: The Man Who Drove the Car (1910), by Max Pemberton, and "Firm of Nan & Sue, Stenographers" (1904), by Harriet C. Cullaton. Both pretty humdrum; actually--but sometimes that's just what I want. The first one is presented as a chauffeur- for-hire recounting miscellaneous adventures with employers and clients, the second is of a similar structure--a series of anecdotal episodes concerning two friends who open a stenographic service agency.

Listening: The Record Company, Bruce Springsteen, Wallflowers, Tedeschi- Trucks Band

Inked Up: Keeping it pretty tight; planning on using what I have inked until they're dry.
Pilot Metro/R&K Solferina, Conklin Duragraph/Pelikan Brilliant Brown, Lamy Safari/Waterman Tender Purple, and Sheaffer Javelin/Sheaffer Skrip Blue-Black.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com