rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I didn't go anywhere
April 28, 2016

I didn't go anywhere It's been a little crazy lately. And the journal has taken a hit. First it was writng my entries, but never getting around to posting them (I just did, if anyone is interested. Hit recede to view.) And pretty soon, even the writng went by the wayside.

In recent news: My dear, sweet, highly fragile friend T was back on the ward for a while. She just sank too low to be safe. She's doing much better, though, and may have a breakthrough, because she finally got an ER doctor who gave a shit and ran tests on her vitamin D and iron levels, and and some of the other PHYSICAL stuff that impacts her mental state. Turns out her levels are pretty much non- existent.

Spouse and I made a run down to Niles a couple of Saturdays ago, to get Kosher Coke and go to Super H-Mart, the Asian Super-store. And then I went over to visit W & the newly-sprung T for CAH and giggles. A delightful time. But all that in one day whipped my heinie.

I had such a lovely, sunny, beautiful weather, good times, good friends, good food weekend, that I felt the best I had in ages.

Then I went to work on Monday and found out that a long-time team member had bailed on us, and taken a position in another department--and work exploded in a massive storm of shit and hell. WHAT a god-awful mess. My increased list of tasks and responsibilities (OF COURSE, they aren't replacing her), the scramble to learn everything I can as quickly as possible, and the actual nature of the work have left me feeling more depressed and hopeless than ever.

I re-booted the UP Move and started wearing it again--the incentive programs are going on at work for health insurance premium reduction. Since the new plan doesn't actually pay for anything, why spend more than I have to on it? Log my steps, drink my water, jump thru all their various hoops--it is all worth cash money, so I will do it.

Another thing that is taking up our time lately is spring yard maintenance: mowing, cleanup, grill- scrubbing, etc. Feels good to get outside and get some air and exercise. We installed a new hose hanger that has a spigot on it--that will allow us to turn the garden hose on in the yard without having to unlock the gate to go turn it on at the faucet on the other side of the fence. We just ran a length of hose under the fence, from the main tap to the new one.

Excel art is my current absorbing interest. And I do so love to be able to get absorbed in something. I can waste hours wielding my mouse and building "castles in the spreadsheet". What started as an exploration of Excel's capabilities while I was bored has turned into a major pastime. I know it's weird, and you know what? Zero F**KS given. I enjoy it. That's all that matters. Creativity will out, and it's my version of art, even if the medium is unusual. And there is something exhilarating in achieving your vision, within the constraints of the application.

I'll shut up now.

I haven't been baking much--I have been experimenting with making puddings from scratch. My chocolate is a big hit, but I need to work on my butterscotch some more It lacks depth--just not butterscotchy enough.. I ordered some LorAnn butterscotch flavoring, just in case I need to cheat a little.

I'll stop writng "butterscotch" now.

Well, NOW.

I had my first trip to my new dentist today, and I fear that I am not going to have the same luck as before on the business office end. The office lady is elderly, and a bit dim.

I have a haircut scheduled for tomorrow--and I even set up the next one, too--don't want to get stuck going on vacay with shaggy hair.

Company coming in July--Cousin's son wants to come for a visit and do some 3-D printing work- shopping with the Spouse and the main 3-D service tech from the shop. Plus we'll probably take a day or two off to take him down to the city and visit the Museum of Science and Industry, and show him the Loop. Give him his first "taste of Chicago". He's such a great young man; I guess I could put up with the inconvenience for a week or so. But it does mean that I'm going to have to get off my ass and tackle some big jobs around the house!





Reading: Re-reading "Cap'n Warren's Wards" (1911), by Joseph C. Lincoln, and taking the occasional dip into some of my favorite comfort reading--"Daddy-Long-Legs".

Listening: For some reason, I'm just kind of burned out on music right now. My days are so hectic and stress-inducing that when I get in the car to go to or from work, all I want is blessed, uninterrupted silence.

Inked Up: Pilot Metro/R&K Solferino, Monteverde Artista/R&K Blu Mare, Conklin Duragraph/Pelikan Brilliant Brown, Skilcraft Executive/Iroshizuku Kon-Peki, and Levenger Splendor Encore/Iroshizuku Yama-Budo. The big news, penwise, is that I'm going to the Chicago Pen Show on Saturday! Spouse was amenable to a trip out to Hoffman Estates, and I've gone to enough model train shows over the years that he has to suck it up a little when it comes to my hobby. So I get to nerd out like crazy!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com