rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















(F)easter
March28, 2016

On Friday, Spouse and I took Niece to lunch and then we all went to Meijer to do our shopping; Spouse took care of ours while I helped Niece get everything together for an Easter Dinner--her family was going out to brunch, but she was doing the cooking for her boyfriend's family, because his grandma is getting to be to frail to do it. Spouse did his best, but I didn't get any of the things I was planning on picking up, because if you go with the babygirl, you focus your attention on her. But it was a real treat to get to spend some time with her; it isn't easy to get the chance these days.

We got her on her way, then put away our shopping, and after that--everyone took a nap. And since we had a big lunch, Spouse and I really didn't feel much like dinner, so we just grazed a bit.


Saturday was a low-key kind of a day; we did housework, laundry, errands, some minor fix-it type chores, and ran out to Costco and to the hardware store for some items. Stopped at the besties, and dropped off some of the gorgeous tomatoes we scored at Costco, since there were too many in the box for just us. (Definitely going to have BLTs this week!) I had a talk with my dad, and wished him a happy Easter. We had a tossed salad for lunch, and relaxed in the afternoon (no naps, though) and I finished the laundry. For dinner, Spouse grilled rib-eye steaks over cherry wood, and I did baked potatoes and some oven-roasted sweet corn in shallot and herb butter. I made a pitcher of peach iced tea to go with, and it was all just delicious. Simple, but very tasty. After dinner, we just kicked back and played around with our various things we like to geek out on, in peace.
On Sunday, we got up and took care of the dog, then had a light breakfast of coffee and rolls again. Then we got ready to go out for brunch. I went with dress slacks and a floaty blouse, and was trying to find the necklace I wanted to wear, but I have no idea what I did with that thing. So I went downstairs and pulled out the big box o' momstuff and started rummaging for a string of pearls or something I could use. Then something weird happened. Entirely at random, completely out of context--and, I swear, despite having been throught that particular jewel case at least twice box, previously unknown to me--out popped a little Easter Bunny tack pin. So I obeyed my mom, and wore the little pin on the lapel of my blouse. And I just went with my usual opals. Thanks, Mom. Happy Easter to you, too.

As a non-religious person, Easter is mostly just a fun, food-related thing. Dying hardboiled eggs, biting the ears off chocolate bunnies, scarfing jelly beans, and, of course--a swanky brunch at the Pfister. Sent out a few cards, too...besties, Auntie, and Dad. Made a trip out to the Veteran's Cemetery on the way home from Milwaukee, and decorated Papa's niche. I did a nice spring arrangement in yellow and orange, and was pretty pleased with how it turned out. There weren't many decorations there, so I was glad we went out to brighten it a bit. I really miss my father-in-law, and it's a nice way to remember him and keep close in our hearts.

But honestly--it just came too darned early this year. I wasn't up for it at all. I tried, but I just could not get into it.

So once we got home from brunch, and out of our dressy clothes, we both crashed for a nap. Again, nobody felt like dinner, so I made the B his Easter dinner--a ham and cheese omelet--in lieu of his wet food, and we were just kind of in a post-feast stupor all evening. It was about all we could manage to try and prepare ourselves, both physically and mentally, for Monday.





Reading: "The Tragic Bride" (1920), by Francis Brett Young. Meh. Not really gripping me. But then. I'm not really in a reading mood lately; I guess. Nothing in my (considerably large) "slush pile" is catching my fancy.

Listening: Feeling like some 90s alt-rock: Semisonic, Collective Soul, Incubus, Eve 6, Del Amitri.

Inked Up: Honestly, I'm too restless and unmoored to use my pens right now.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com