rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















wax-ident
March 21, 2016

I love my hairdresser, but she nearly ripped my eyebrow mole out by the roots when she did my brow wax on Friday. She skinned it pretty good, anyway. Sucker is still sore.

I took Friday off, just for a mental health day. I don't get dinged, because I requested it in advance. I didn't do anything exciting--I scoured the kitchen sink, cleaned my grungy bathroom, did a bunch of laundry, made a quick trip to the bank, the afore-mentioned salon appointment for a cut and wax, a stop at the grocery store on the way home.

I also made a nice dinner for my hubby. He had texted me that he was really feeling beat, so I suggested staying in for dinner, and made one of his comfort food faves--Salisbury steaks, mashed potatoes & gravy, and (canned) peas & carrots.

Pretty much the rest of my day, I spent falling down a time-hole called Cross Stitch World. T alerted me to this facebook game that is virtual cross-stitch, and it didn't take long for me to get hooked. I have no idea why it is so satisfying, but DAMN. Is it ever satisfying! (Oh--and I remembered to clean out the Levenger and put it away.)


On Saturday, I slept in a bit while Spouse and B went out and picked up poos, then I got up and popped some Costco cherry Danish in the oven to perk them up (I'd frozen them a week earlier), and at Spouse's request, I topped them with a light drizzle of icing glaze. We had those and coffee for breakfast, and then proceeded to get started on our day.

He had his menus planned out for the weekend and his shopping list made out, so we stopped at Costco to gas up and pick up dry dog food and a few other staples (plus a new broom--they had a pack with two Libman brooms and a dustpan for $9.99!), then went to Meijer to get the rest of the stuff on the list--plus a few new tops and a sundress for me. I've been looking for one to throw on over my swimsuit for running to and from hotel pools, and just happened to find a really cute pink and white knit one. I got a couple more tee shirts and two more of the cute swing tops like I got for my trip to Phoenix, as well.

One more quick stop at the $ store to pick up cheap foil pans, and we were done with the shopping for the day. Went home, put it all away, had a snack (hummus and pita chips), and did some more laundry. About 2:30, I stretched out on my bed and read my way into a good, solid nap.

Woke up about 5:00, to find that dinner was nearly ready. Spouse made ribs in the pressure cooker, with a delicious Hawaiian-style BBQ glaze. To go with, he threw together a nice little pan of baked beans, and we had deli coleslaw and King's Hawaiian rolls. Quite a success, I think. I told him that BBQ sauce is a keeper!

After dinner, he read and I played my cross-stitch game some more--I stayed up pretty late. Apparently my nap sucked up all my sleepiness.
Sunday morning, he made pancakes and sausage, and I cleaned up the mess & gave my kitchen its usual Sunday clean, then popped into the shower because I knew Spouse wanted to go out to the hardware store to look for something he could use to repair the awning out front.

We didn't find what he was looking for, but we did remember to pick up some silicone caulk so I could plug the hole along the edge of the kitchen sink, and keep water out of the cupboard below. And I made another stop at the $ store, to pick up craft supplies. We will be stopping at the veteran's cemetery on the way home from Easter Brunch, and I wanted to do a nice floral arrangement. Can't beat Dollar Tree for having all the supplies, and at the right price.

Once we got home, Spouse sat down to have a chinwag with Auntie on the phone, and I started working on my flowers. Got nearly done, but the ribbon was giving me fits, so I gave up for the time-being and went and stripped the beds so I could get the sheets in the wash. Remade my bed right away, too. Since Spouse doesn't have an extra mattress pad, I didn't re-make his till the wash wash done, but I had them both made up fresh by 2:30. By then, Spouse was already starting on the beef stew he had planned for dinner. It was quite lovely--he did it in the pressure cooker, and after it was out of pressure, he thickened it, and added pearl onions and frozen peas so they were just right and not cooked to oblivion. For my part, I chucked a half-dozen Pillsbury southern-style biscuits in the oven for 20 minutes, and called it good.

We ate pretty early, so the mess was out of the way by six, and we watched some episodes of Wheeler-Dealers on the DVR till he got sleepy and went to lie down. I was back at the games--cross-stitch and some word games--till time for me to prep for morning. Since the sink was dry, I did my caulking job before bed so it could cure overnight. At the last minute, I remembered I needed to fill a pen for work, so I got that out of the way as well.

And that's it--another weekend flies by. I bought myself a Mandalas coloring book and new colored pencils--but I haven't got round to using them yet--shame on me!





Reading: "The Little Ottleys"--A trilogy by Ada Leverson, comprised of “Love’s Shadow” (1908), "Tenterhooks" (1912), and “Love at Second Sight” (1916). Leverson was a contemporary and great friend of Oscar Wilde, and the drawing room "comedy of manners" style of these books reminds me a bit of his plays.

Listening: The Lumineers, Peter Gabriel, Garbage, Jesus Jones

Inked Up: Skilcraft Burgundy/Monteverde Burgundy, Metro/Solferino, Artista/Tsutsuji, and Duragraph/Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com