rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















change of pace
March 14, 2016

Well, for once, it wasn't exactly the same old weekend. Not on Saturday, anyway.

Friday was pretty uneventful; the usual afternoon stuff. Lunch and a nap. Spouse stopped and picked up spaghetti & meatballs at DeRango's, so dinner & cleanup was super-easy. And since we ate early, we ran out for a while to gas up the car and get some ice cream. Bed at a reasonable hour, because Spouse had decided he really needed some authentic Polish food, so we had to have a road trip on Saturday.


Went to the city--well, the 'burbs. Niles and Mt. Prospect. We went to our usual Polish Deli on Milwaukee Ave. in Niles, and they were absolutely empty, so that went quick. Then we headed to Mt. Prospect, to a Polish grocery store Spouse had heard about, which was pretty great, actually. I always find amazing goodies at those places, and of course, they have a fabulous selection of teas. I scored a couple of boxes of my favorite Twinings Mixed Berry Premium Blend, and was lucky enough to find a peach-flavored BLACK tea, which is rare. It's really good, too--even rarer! (Hyson Midsummer Peach).

And Spouse found his kielbasa (plus some kiszka for a co-worker), rye bread, and chrusciki, so he was pretty pleased. No one had any decent-looking kolaczki, though, so he skipped that.

Since we were ahead on time, we got gutsy and decided to go looking for the Costco--back over to Niles, and following the somewhat convoluted route provided by Google Maps, we found it. Had we realized it was just behind the Target on West Touhy, over by the Leaning Tower, it would have been a no- brainer, but they always have weird side-street addresses that makes them hard to figure out.

It's a very busy Costco, but a nice one. We picked up a few things we needed, then treated ourselves to an early lunch at Al's Number 1 Italian beef. Mmm...best beef sandwich and fries you can get. Then we headed back home by the scenic route, and were back in the front door by 12:30.

Which was good, because there was a memorial open house on Saturday afternoon for my friend who died, and very much wanted to go to that.

It was gratifyingly crowded--she was a thorny old shrubbery, and difficult to be friends with, but somehow she still managed to endear herself to a whole lot of people over the years. My besties were there, and I ran into a few familiar faces from our Wal-Mart days. I didn't stay a really long time, but I wanted to drop by and pay my respects to the family.

I was there long enough to score an invitation for the evening, though. The besties were having a friend over, and invited me to join them. Since the friend in question is also my best friend from high school, I was delighted to come over after supper and visit for a while. And we had a nice couple of hours, but I was pretty beat from my very active day, and went home at 8:30.

Of course, there I was up for a while after I got home, because I was that frustrating combination of worn out and wound up that requires a decompression period before I can sleep. Not to mention being afraid to go to bed on a stomach full of kielbasa, fried potatoes, and buttered rye bread! And there were clocks to change, because it was DMFT weekend. But I was asleep before 11:00.
The combination of too many Saturday things and being robbed of an hour meant that I was effing worthless on Sunday. Spouse surprised me by making breakfast after we'd discussed it and decided that it was going to be "breakfast-jump-up". I probably should have been more appreciative, but I'd already planned to make my favorite breakfast omelet, and wasn't really in the mood for fried eggs and sausage.

But I tried to be gracefully accepting, and ate it up. When people make me breakfast, I've found it's best to just appreciate the intentions and eat it like a good sport.

After breakfast, I cleaned up the kitchen and Spouse jumped in the shower, then I showered and we ran out for a few errands. he had a 10:00 hair appointment, so i sat in th ecar and read while he took care of that, then we stopped at Meijer for milk and a couple of other items we needed.

As I mentioned, I was pretty worthless on Sunday. When we got home, Spouse did his weekly maintenance on the cars and I folded a load of whites, re-stocked some of the items we needed upstairs, and cleaned a pen. After that, we both just kicked back. I curled up with my book and a cup of my peach tea, and he stretched out with his book and the dog. It was chilly, rainy and miserable, so it was a perfect day for such things. We both ended up taking a snooze, but not a long one.

Spouse made his "chop suey" for dinner; he has taken to doing it in the pressure cooker and it comes out quite delicious. And he tried a new method of prepping his rice, which made it come out perfect. A very rich and tasty meal, and with enough left over for today.

The usual quiet Sunday evening, and then bed. I didn't have a great night, but it wasn't the fault of the dinner. I couldn't fall asleep because of the time change, I couldn't stay asleep because I had a nasty smell stuck in my nose that was so bad it kept waking me up! (This is a weird thing that happens to me pretty often, and I've never been able to get a good answer for why. Very unpleasant.) And then, I had to get up an hour earlier because of the time change, as well. So just shite sleep all- around.

But I did pull it together enough to do a couple of thinks I've been putting off: making a hair appointment for Friday--and getting myself a dentist. I ended up calling 1-800-DENTIST. And I'm quite glad I did, for it turns out my husband's dentist IS in-network, after all! I got set up with an initial appointment on April 28th. I'd have liked something sooner, but I'll take what I can get!





Reading: "The Debtor" (1905), by Mary E. Wilkins Freeman, and "Bright Ideas: A Record of Invention and Misinvention" (1920), by Herbert Strang, Illustrated by C. E. Brock

Listening: The Knack, The Vapors, The Clash, Joe Jackson. I guess I really needed a punky/new-wavy slice of 1979.

Inked Up: I am actually pretty happy with the current line-up--I cleaned out the Claria, and put it away. But I'm keeping on with the Metro/Solferino, Artista/Tsutsuji, and Levenger Splendor Encore/Blu Mare (And, of course, the Duragraph/Brilliant Brown) because they are all awesome pairings and I'm not sick of them yet. :)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com