rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















wedding--and the rest of the weekend
February 08, 2016

Okay, having put up the preceding entry, let me just say that for all of its normalcy, it was still a unique wedding. Two transgender attendees (including the priest), the attendants carried the brides' three Chihuahuas in lieu of flowers, said Chihuahuas were dressed in custom-made formalwear, while the brides wore off-the-rack, sparkly knit cocktail dresses--and tiaras. The brides danced each other down the aisle. But again--fun, light-hearted-yet-solemnly-earnest, and unquestionably THEIR wedding.

Nice reception, too. The food was really good, and the DJ was pretty decent. It seemed like everyone was having fun, and when W asked me "did I look happy?" I was able to tell her that she had surpassed "happy", and looked sublimely contented. (I also told her that it she couldn't wipe the smug off of her face if she tried...best friend things!)

Personally, I had what was, for me, a great time. I got to have a nice visit with my best friend from high school, which was a delight. And some old friends from Wally's which was nice. One awkward moment, when my ex-chiro (who I kinda fired) came over, sat down, and proceeded to chat with me.

All in all, I managed to keep my introvert tendencies at bay, and stayed till after 9:00. I even danced a couple of dances!

I can tell you one thing, though--I am too old and broken down to haul this fat ass around a dance floor anymore. Augh, do I hurt.


Weekend-wise, I had a haircut on Friday after work, and had leftover chili for lunch, along with a good nap. We went out to dinner (Pete's) and did some of our errands on Friday night--Wal-Mart & Costco for dog food, and filled up the Buick.
On Saturday, Spouse got up early and went all the way to Beach park for Donuts while I slept in. Once I got up (and had a couple of cups of coffee and a coconut donut from CJs), I managed to do most of the laundry, and we finished the shopping: Picked up my bra order at JCP, groceries at Festival, a car wash, and a trip to the hardware store for yet another drain cleaner, in the hope that we could eventually get the bathroom sink draining properly.

Then home, to put things away, do more laundry, and take time for a solid nap before I had to get ready for the wedding. After I got home, Spouse put the second half of the latest bottle of drain cleaner in the sink, and just as he was heaving a big sigh that nothing was ever going to free up that drain, we heard something break loose and go whooshing down the pipes, as the drain gave a big, burpy gurgle and all the cleaner ran down it in a rush. Free at last, free at last. The drain is running perfectly. Better than it has since we did the remodelling! I no longer have to brush my teeth in the kitchen or the shower--I can use the bathroom sink!!!
Sunday, we slept in, had a cup of coffee, then we made berry pancakes and sausage for breakfast. Cleaned up the mess, threw in the last load, and dug around in my storage tubs of craft supplies (in vain) looking for a particular jewelry finding. I need a phone-charm loop so I can rig my Walkman to hang on a lanyard around my neck. Thought I had some, but no luck.

Talked to Dad for a while, and then I lay back down for a few minutes, but Spouse decided he wanted to go to Meijer, so I had to get up, shower, and dress. They were having a sale on a lot of things he classifies as "Bachelor Chow", and he wanted to stock up for next week when I'm out of town.

He went to bed when we got home, because he has decided he's coming down with my cold. I stayed up long enough to eat a PB&J sandwich, then napped myself. When I woke up, he had dinner going (pressure cooker pot roast), and all I had to do was serve myself once it was ready. He even did a lot of the cleanup, bless his heart. I finished up the odds&ends, and prepped some fresh strawberries for dessert.

He went back to bed after dinner, dosed up with night-time cold meds. I did my prep, watched a panel show, and played word games before turning in for the night.
Today, I hauled my sorry, broken butt to work, but Spouse stayed home nursing his cold. We were supposed to go sign our tax papers at 7:30, but had to reschedule. He, of course, is pretty worthless because he's sick, but bless him, he is trying. I was in the same boat last week, so I feel inclined to give him some slack. Poor baby.





Reading: "Tomorrow's Tangle" (1903), by Geraldine Bonner, and "The Amazing Interlude" (1918), by Mary Roberts Rinehart.

Listening: Leonard Cohen, More Best of Leonard Cohen

Inked Up: Monteverde Artista/Noodler's Apache Sunset, Delta Serena/Monteverde Burgundy, Pilot Metro/R&K Solferino, and Conklin Duragraph/Pelikan Brilliant Brown.

(If those books, pens, and inks sound kind of familiar, please keep in mind that I didn't have much time to spend on hobbies this weekend.)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com